Flagg Family Foundation
The Flagg Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Boston, Massachusetts. Its 2025 filing lists grants to charitable organizations in Massachusetts, Florida, New York, and Texas, including schools, an animal rescue organization, a hospice foundation, and cultural and educational organizations.
Key facts about Flagg Family Foundation
In short: Flagg Family Foundation gave $119K across 15 grants in 2025 (avg $8K), top state Massachusetts. 27% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 81-0722847
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $119,250
- Grants made (2025)
- 15
- Average grant
- $7,950
- Median grant
- $9,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 27% first-time grantees (4 of 15, 2025)
- Total assets
- $1,454,941
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (46% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.5M
-3.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$119K
-3.4% YoY
Grant Count
15
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$8K
-3.4% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Flagg Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $85K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Flagg Family Foundation open to new grantees?
27%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 15 grantees (27%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $9K. How we count
Medians: $2K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 60% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+5%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 141% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. The 2025 grants show support for organizations with varied activities. Saratoga Performing Arts Center describes its work as presenting performing arts and serving as a steward of its place in the natural world. Frontiers of Flight Museum says it preserves aviation history, expands its collections and exhibits, and provides educational programming about aviation and spaceflight. WMHT Educational Telecommunications describes its mission as advancing education, culture, and civic engagement through content, connection, and conversation.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation awarded 15 grants totaling $119,250. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $15,000, with a median of $9,000. Notable grants included $15,000 each to Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens, Notre Dame Academy, Southborough Organization for Schools, and Why Me & Sherry’s House; $11,000 to Rosarian Academy; and $10,000 each to the John C. Calhoun Sailing Scholarship Fund and Saratoga Performing Arts Center.
Ready to take the next step with Flagg Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 46% of grant dollars went to recipients in Massachusetts, 36% to Florida, 14% to New York, and 4% to Texas.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 15 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $97K (2023) to $199K (2021). In 2025 it made 15 grants totaling $119K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Naples Zoo Ai Caribbean Gardens ($15K). Together the top 10 received $110K.
Grant Size Distribution
87 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 87 grants of 87 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Naples Zoo Ai Caribbean Gardens Naples, FL | Unrestricted | $15,000 |
| Notre Dame Academy Worcester, MA | Scholarship Fund | $15,000 |
| Southborough Organization for Schools Southborough, MA | Unrestricted | $15,000 |
| Why Me & Sherry's House Worcester, MA | Unrestricted | $15,000 |
| Rosarian Academy West Palm Beach, FL | Unrestricted | $11,000 |
| John C Calhoun Sailing Scholarship Fund Plymouth, MA | In Memory of Mary Jane Calhoun | $10,000 |
| Saratoga Performing Arts Center Saratoga Springs, NY | Unrestricted | $10,000 |
| Peggy Adams Animal Rescue League West Palm Beach, FL | Unrestricted | $9,000 |
| Palm Beach Island Hospice Foundation Palm Beach, FL | Unrestricted | $7,500 |
| Be an Angel Foundation Houston, TX | Unrestricted | $2,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,454,941 | $84,938 | $129,343 | $119,250 |
| 2024 | $1,499,346 | $98,027 | $144,289 | $123,507 |
| 2023 | $1,545,608 | $360,850 | $107,062 | $97,250 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,454,941 | $1,499,346 | $1,545,608 |
| Revenue | $84,938 | $98,027 | $360,850 |
| Expenses | $129,343 | $144,289 | $107,062 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $119,250 | $123,507 | $97,250 |
| Net Investment Income | $75,077 | $77,345 | $351,038 |
| Distributable Amount | $84,541 | $81,477 | $71,975 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 13, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Maribeth Prunier, Nancy F. Mullen, Cynthia A. Granger, and John E. Flagg III as trustees.
Flagg Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Cynthia A. Granger
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
John E. Flagg III
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Maribeth Prunier
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Nancy F. Mullen
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: One Liberty Sq 13Fl, Boston, MA 02109
Phone: (617) 488-2700
Frequently asked questions about Flagg Family Foundation
How much does Flagg Family Foundation give each year?
Flagg Family Foundation gave $119K across 15 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $124K across 15 grants.
What is Flagg Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Flagg Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $9,000, and its average grant was $7,950, across 15 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Flagg Family Foundation that year got $5K on average.
Where does Flagg Family Foundation give grants?
Flagg Family Foundation's top state is Massachusetts, with 46% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Florida (36%) and New York (14%). The most frequent recipient cities were Worcester, MA (2 grants), West Palm Beach, FL (2 grants) and Saratoga Springs, NY (2 grants).
Does Flagg Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 80% of Flagg Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (12 of 15) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Flagg Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Flagg Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Naples Zoo Ai Caribbean Gardens ($15,000), Notre Dame Academy ($15,000) and Southborough Organization for Schools ($15,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 38% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Flagg Family Foundation?
Flagg Family Foundation reported $1.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $119K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $85K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Flagg Family Foundation fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. The 2025 grants show support for organizations with varied activities. Saratoga Performing Arts Center describes its work as presenting performing arts and serving as a steward of its place in the natural world. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Flagg Family Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Flagg Family Foundation's EIN?
Flagg Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-0722847. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does Flagg Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Flagg Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Flagg Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
$16.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Eastern Bank Foundation
Wakefield, MA
Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.
Assets
$266.7M
Grants
1,786
Total Given
$19.0M
Barr Foundation
Boston, MA
Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and related initiatives, primarily supporting organizations and leaders in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. It welcomes inquiries through program pages and occasionally issues open requests for proposals; most grants go to returning partners.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
903
Total Given
$123.2M
Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.
Assets
$46.1M
Grants
706
Total Given
$50.6M
Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (Fka Oneworld Boston Inc)
Woburn, MA
The foundation supports nonprofits focused on human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and environmental causes, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts, with limited support for Rwanda’s recovery. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal for its local grant program.
Assets
$258.2M
Grants
658
Total Given
$38.2M
American Tower Corporation Foundation
Boston, MA
Assets
$15.4M
Grants
632
Total Given
$1.7M
Good Sports Inc
Braintree, MA
The mission is to increase youth participation in sports, fitness, and recreational progams by targeting one of the major obstacles limiting participation - access to sports equipment. Good Sports distributes sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to community organizations offering programs to children in need helping to lay the foundation for healthy, active lifestyles.
Assets
$13.8M
Grants
619
Total Given
$11.2M
The Stephen Phillips Memorial
Boston, MA
The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$41.6M
Grants
520
Total Given
$5.1M
Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc
Pittsfield, MA
Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.
Assets
$17.1M
Grants
478
Total Given
$2.0M
Highland Street Connection
Newton, MA
Highland Street Foundation funds programs supporting children and families, including education, youth mentoring, housing, health care, the environment, and the arts, primarily in Massachusetts, with some support in California and elsewhere. Its 2024 grants ranged from $400 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations may submit a letter of inquiry after completing its online eligibility quiz.
Assets
$60.4M
Grants
410
Total Given
$4.4M
More Funders in Massachusetts
Flagg Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?