First Credit Union logo

First Credit Union

Public charity · Grantmaker Chandler, AZ EIN: 86-0100904 Website

Non-profit cooperative that provides banking and other financial services to its members.

First Credit Union at a glance

In short: First Credit Union gave $28K across 4 grants in 2024 (avg $7K), mostly in Arizona. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2024)
$27,508
-20.5% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
4
+0.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$6,877
-20.5% vs 2023
Median grant
$6,500
Total assets
$735,111,582
+4.4% vs 2023
Primary geography
Arizona (65% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who First Credit Union funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2024

Children's Miracle Network: $10KChildren's Miracle Network$10KCity of Chandler Ostrich Festival: $7KCity of Chandler OstrichFestival$7KIcan: $6KIcan$6KArizona Food Bank Network: $5KArizona Food Bank Network$5K

The largest 2024 recipient was Children's Miracle Network ($10K). Together the top 4 received $28K.

Grant Size Distribution

12 grants across all recorded years

12<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 12 grants of 12 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

Cities

ChandlerPhoenixSalt Lake CityMadison

How First Credit Union gives

  • Giving grew 206% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K$40K1 grant2020 1 grant2021 2 grants2022 4 grants2023 4 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $9K (2021) to $35K (2023). In 2024 it made 4 grants totaling $28K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Children's Miracle Network Salt Lake City, UTUnrestricted$9,500
City of Chandler Ostrich Festival Chandler, AZUnrestricted$7,000
Ican Chandler, AZUnrestricted$6,000
Arizona Food Bank Network Phoenix, AZUnrestricted$5,008
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with First Credit Union?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$735,111,582$50,404,499$42,745,872$27,5084$18,652,229
2023$703,838,970$39,282,064$35,297,564$34,6034$8,143,503
2022$711,017,037$30,610,743$25,835,411$17,5002$4,615,857
2021$666,315,890$24,353,409$20,366,012$9,0001$2,224,831
2020$590,539,749$24,321,171$23,086,669$10,0001$2,442,850

About First Credit Union

Based on IRS filings

First Credit Union is a public charity, based in Chandler, AZ. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $735.1M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 4 grants totaling $28K. Net investment income was $18.7M.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

First Credit Union is led by Jay Curtis, President, CEO & Board Member on every filing since 2020; 12 of 18 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Jay Curtis

    President, CEO & Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $764K (2020) → $887K (2024)

  • Caryn Horvitz-Strauss

    Board Chair

    Chairperson → Chair, 2021

    Chair → Board Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2021) → $0 (2024)

  • Barry Schlegel

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2021) → $0 (2024)

  • William Jimro

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • Leticia Kaufman

    Director of Credit Management

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $120K (2024)

  • Ben Tan

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2021) → $0 (2024)

  • Benjamin Ricks

    Vice President

    Assistant Vice President → Vice President, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $168K (2020) → $200K (2024)

  • Chantel Campbell

    Vice President & Finance

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $119K (2020) → $150K (2024)

  • Douglas Alldredge

    CFO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $260K (2020) → $458K (2024)

  • Heidi Kim

    Cxo

    Senior Vice President & Operations → Cxo, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $167K (2020) → $410K (2024)

  • Kenneth Mullins

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2021) → $0 (2024)

  • Lisa Peters

    Vice President, Compliance & Risk

    Assistant Vice President & Compliance → Assistant Vice President, Compliance & Risk, 2022

    Assistant Vice President, Compliance & Risk → Vice President, Compliance & Risk, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $122K (2020) → $155K (2024)

  • Lori Gallegos

    Former Executive Vice President

    COO → Executive Vice President, 2023

    Executive Vice President → Former Executive Vice President, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    $464K (2020) → $245K (2024)

  • Russ Puckett

    Vice Chair

    Vice Chairperson → Vice Chair, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2021) → $0 (2024)

  • Scot Gilbreath

    Vice President & Re Lending

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $158K (2020) → $185K (2024)

  • Thomas Gessel

    Cno

    CIO → Cno, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $234K (2020) → $340K (2024)

  • Kristin Parker

    Vice President & Credit Administration

    Assistant Vice President & Lending → Vice President & Credit Administration, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $115K (2021) → $146K (2024)

  • Robert Gage

    It Manager

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $117K (2024)

Former officers (2)
  • Former: Thomas Wasson (2020–2023) — Clo
  • Former: Jonathon McMullin (2020) — It Manager

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Jay Curtis — President/CEO/Board Member: $887KJay CurtisPresident/CEO/Board Member$887KDouglas Alldredge — CFO: $458KDouglas AlldredgeCFO$458KHeidi Kim — CXO: $410KHeidi KimCXO$410KThomas Gessel — CNO: $340KThomas GesselCNO$340KLori Gallegos — Former EVP (Thru 3/31/2023): $245KLori GallegosFormer EVP (Thru 3/31/2023)$245KBenjamin Ricks — VP/It: $200KBenjamin RicksVP/It$200KScot Gilbreath — VP/Re Lending: $185KScot GilbreathVP/Re Lending$185KLisa Peters — VP/Compliance & Risk: $155KLisa PetersVP/Compliance & Risk$155KChantel Campbell — VP/Finance: $150KChantel CampbellVP/Finance$150KKristin Parker — VP/Credit Administration: $146KKristin ParkerVP/Credit Administration$146KLeticia Kaufman — Director of Credit Management: $120KLeticia KaufmanDirector of Credit Management$120KRobert Gage — It Manager: $117KRobert GageIt Manager$117K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $887K, to Jay Curtis (President/CEO/Board Member). 12 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about First Credit Union

How much does First Credit Union give each year?

First Credit Union gave $28K across 4 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $35K across 4 grants.

What is First Credit Union's typical grant size?

First Credit Union's median grant in 2024 was $6,500, and its average grant was $6,877, across 4 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990.

Where does First Credit Union give grants?

First Credit Union gives mostly in Arizona: 65% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The next largest state was Utah (35%). The most frequent recipient cities were Chandler, AZ (2 grants).

Does First Credit Union give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of First Credit Union's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990.

How large is First Credit Union?

First Credit Union reported $735.1M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $50.4M.

What is First Credit Union's EIN?

First Credit Union's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 86-0100904. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 9, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 8, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 6, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 6, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 10, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in First Credit Union's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Arizona

Virginia G Piper Charitable Trust

Phoenix, AZ

Virginia G Piper Charitable Trust funds nonprofits and community partners serving Maricopa County, Arizona, in arts and culture, children, education, healthcare, older adults, religion, and nonprofit capacity. In 2025, grants ranged from $25 to $1 million, with a median of $7,500. It uses a competitive application process that begins with a Letter of Inquiry; unsolicited requests are not explicitly addressed.

Assets

$429.9M

Grants

483

Total Given

$24.5M

Arizona Community Foundation

Phoenix, AZ

Arizona Community Foundation funds nonprofits, schools, tribal entities, government agencies, and most religious organizations in areas including arts and culture, community development, the environment, health, and education. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,760; most funding goes to Arizona, though it also awards grants nationally. Competitive grants require an online application during an open cycle; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,174

Total Given

$92.9M

The Foundation for Community and Health

Phoenix, AZ

The Foundation for Community and Health funds Arizona health programs and applied research focused on chronic conditions, health equity, mental health, and substance use disorder, as well as select charitable events. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $228,003, with a median of $5,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.5M

Grants

175

Total Given

$3.3M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Synchrony Foundation

Stamford, CT

In 2024, Synchrony Foundation supported charitable organizations across workforce development, education, financial assistance, and giving, with grants ranging from $150 to $2.6 million and a median of $10,000. Its largest shares of grant funding went to Connecticut, New York, and South Carolina, followed by the District of Columbia and New Jersey; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$72.3M

Grants

394

Total Given

$20.5M

Fiesta Events Inc

Scottsdale, AZ

FIESTA EVENTS INC supports Arizona community events and charitable organizations focused on youth, sports, and education, including programs in health, inclusive recreation, and services for children and families. Its 2025 grants ranged from $15,000 to $50,000, with a median of $25,000; its sponsorship information describes requests from Arizona nonprofits, but does not state whether unsolicited grant requests are accepted.

Recreation & Sports

Assets

$986K

Grants

22

Total Given

$475K

More similar funders

More Funders in Arizona

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from First Credit Union's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

First Credit Union down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?