Ep Binney Charitable Fnd

Private foundation · Grantmaker Dallas, TX EIN: 04-6020266

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd is a private foundation based in Dallas, Texas. In its 2026 filing, it reported 17 grants totaling $1,334,731, including support for organizations in Oregon, Connecticut, Nebraska, and Virginia.

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd at a glance

In short: Ep Binney Charitable Fnd gave $1.3M across 17 grants in 2026 (avg $79K), mostly in Oregon. 0% of 2026 grantees were new. Source: 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2026)
$1,334,731
+22.5% vs 2025
Grants made (2026)
17
+0.0% vs 2025
Average grant
$78,514
+22.5% vs 2025
Median grant
$53,389
Total assets
$22,501,108
+11.5% vs 2025
New grantees (estimate)
0% first-time grantees (0 of 12, 2026; small sample)
Primary geography
Oregon (76% of itemized 2026 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2026 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2026; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Ep Binney Charitable Fnd

How to Apply

Contact Bank of America N.A.; the filing directs applicants to the grantmaking page for application forms and materials, deadlines, and restrictions.

Contact

Application contact: Bank Of America N A
Mailing address: 225 Franklin Street, Boston, MA 02110
Phone: (888) 866-3275

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Ep Binney Charitable Fnd funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2026

First Church of Christ Scientist: $320K across 6 grantsFirst Church of ChristScientist$320K · 6 grantsCedars Home for Children Foundation: $133KCedars Home for ChildrenFoundation$133KThe Boys & Girls Aid Society of Oregon: $133KThe Boys & Girls Aid Societyof Oregon$133KTrillium Family Services: $133KTrillium Family Services$133KLewis & Clark College Law School: $107KLewis & Clark College LawSchool$107KPacific University: $107KPacific University$107KWestern Oregon University: $107KWestern Oregon University$107KEastern Oregon University: $107KEastern Oregon University$107KThe Parish of St Mark: $53KThe Parish of St Mark$53KSt Paul's Episcopal Church: $53KSt Paul's Episcopal Church$53K

The largest 2026 recipient was First Church of Christ Scientist ($320K across 6 grants). Together the top 10 received $1.3M.

Grant Size Distribution

86 grants across all recorded years

42<$50K31$50–100K13$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 42 grants of 86 (49%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2026, 76% of grant dollars went to recipients in Oregon, 12% to Connecticut, 10% to Nebraska, and 2% to Virginia.

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2026 grant dollars across all 17 itemized grants.

Cities

PortlandThe DallesAstoriaCorvallisEugeneForest GroveGreenwichLa GrandeLincolnMonmouthNew HavenRestonWestportStamford

Is Ep Binney Charitable Fnd open to new grantees?

0%

first-time grantees, 2026

In 2026, 0 of 12 grantees (0%) were first-time recipients. With only 12 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 8 points. How we count

  • 100% of 2026 grantees were also funded in 2025. Method
  • Giving grew 42% from 2023 to 2026. Method
  • In 2026 it paid out 114% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2026). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M18 grants2021 18 grants2022 17 grants2023 17 grants2024 17 grants2025 17 grants2026

From 2021 to 2026, annual grant giving ranged from $898K (2021) to $1.3M (2026). In 2026 it made 17 grants totaling $1.3M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Cedars Home for Children Foundation Lincoln, NEUnrestricted General$133,473
The Boys & Girls Aid Society of Oregon Portland, ORUnrestricted General$133,473
Trillium Family Services Portland, ORUnrestricted General$133,473
Lewis & Clark College Law School Portland, ORUnrestricted General$106,779
Pacific University Forest Grove, ORUnrestricted General$106,779
Western Oregon University Monmouth, ORUnrestricted General$106,779
Eastern Oregon University La Grande, ORUnrestricted General$106,779
First Church of Christ Scientist Eugene, ORUnrestricted General$53,389
First Church of Christ Scientist Corvallis, ORUnrestricted General$53,389
First Church of Christ Scientist New Haven, CTUnrestricted General$53,389
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Ep Binney Charitable Fnd?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2026$22,501,108$3,089,444$1,592,262$1,334,73117$1,408,535$2,945,697$1,238,673
2025$20,175,659$1,837,811$1,332,267$1,089,51617$1,161,607$1,679,072$1,151,992
2024$19,838,007$715,295$1,133,256$937,18117$1,002,785$564,521$1,068,997
2023$19,979,570$-465,922$1,117,952$938,74517$1,000,169$303,342$1,005,988
2022$21,492,817$4,944,187$1,460,939$1,186,45018$1,254,256$4,041,277$1,125,892
2021$20,191,969$1,246,469$1,090,957$898,25718—$1,132,684$1,078,662

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ep Binney Charitable Fnd reported a distributable amount of $1.2M for 2026 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2026 grantees included organizations serving children and families, educational institutions, and churches. The Boys & Girls Aid Society of Oregon describes its mission as “to impact the well being of children in need,” and Trillium Family Services describes its mission as “building brighter futures with children and families.” Pacific University describes itself as a diverse and sustainable learning community dedicated to discovery and excellence in teaching, scholarship, and practice.

Grantmaking

In 2026, the foundation reported 17 grants totaling $1,334,731. Grant amounts ranged from $26,695 to $133,473, with a median of $53,389. The largest listed grants included $133,473 each to Cedars Home for Children Foundation, The Boys & Girls Aid Society of Oregon, and Trillium Family Services. Lewis & Clark College Law School, Pacific University, Western Oregon University, and Eastern Oregon University each received $106,779.

The foundation’s 2025 filing states that it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. It lists Bank of America N.A. as the contact for application inquiries and directs applicants to its grantmaking page for forms and materials, deadlines, and award restrictions.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2026 filing lists Bank of America as trustee.

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's only listed officer is Bank Of America, Trustee on every filing since 2022 (compensated).

Officers on the 2026 filing

  • Bank Of America

    Trustee

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    $168K (2022) → $183K (2026)

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Bank Of America N A (2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2026. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2026 IRS filing

Bank of America — Trustee: $183KBank of AmericaTrustee$183K

The highest reported compensation on the 2026 filing was $183K, to Bank of America (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Ep Binney Charitable Fnd

How much does Ep Binney Charitable Fnd give each year?

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd gave $1.3M across 17 grants in 2026, according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2025 it gave $1.1M across 17 grants.

What is Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's typical grant size?

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's median grant in 2026 was $53,389, and its average grant was $78,514, across 17 grants on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Ep Binney Charitable Fnd give grants?

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd gives mostly in Oregon: 76% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Connecticut (12%) and Nebraska (10%). The most frequent recipient cities were Portland, OR (4 grants) and The Dalles, OR (2 grants).

Does Ep Binney Charitable Fnd give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's 2026 grants with a stated purpose (17 of 17) were for general or operating support, per its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's largest grantees?

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's largest 2026 grantees include First Church of Christ Scientist ($320,334 across 6 grants), Cedars Home for Children Foundation ($133,473) and The Boys & Girls Aid Society of Oregon ($133,473), according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 44% of its itemized 2026 grant dollars.

How large is Ep Binney Charitable Fnd?

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd reported $22.5M in total assets on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.4M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.2M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Ep Binney Charitable Fnd fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2026 grantees included organizations serving children and families, educational institutions, and churches. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Ep Binney Charitable Fnd?

Contact Bank of America N.A.; the filing directs applicants to the grantmaking page for application forms and materials, deadlines, and restrictions. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's EIN?

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-6020266. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2026.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2026 (received by the IRS July 29, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

M J Murdock Charitable Trust

Vancouver, WA

The M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust funds nonprofit capacity-building and projects in arts and culture, civic and community services, education, health and environmental stewardship, and scientific research across Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. Its 2024 median grant was $87,000, with awards ranging from $4,000 to about $1.55 million. Eligible organizations can submit a Letter of Inquiry; full applications are by invitation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

797

Total Given

$116.6M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Greater Horizons

Kansas City, MO

Greater Horizons distributes donor-advised fund grants to eligible U.S. charities and institutions across a wide range of causes; international organizations may also be supported after additional due diligence. In 2024, its grants had a median of $15,000, though amounts varied widely. Grants are requested by fund holders, and no general application process for organizations seeking funding is described.

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

3,282

Total Given

$212.2M

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

Communities Foundation of Texas Inc

Dallas, TX

Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

2,209

Total Given

$209.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Texas

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Ep Binney Charitable Fnd funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 21, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/ep-binney-charitable-fnd-morg_b08eae3dcc2041ac85a6f7c4c9370e95

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_046020266_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Ep Binney Charitable Fnd funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/ep-binney-charitable-fnd-morg_b08eae3dcc2041ac85a6f7c4c9370e95},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-21. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Ep Binney Charitable Fnd's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Ep Binney Charitable Fnd down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?