David and Linda Swain Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker S Padre Isle, TX EIN: 82-2431304

The David and Linda Swain Foundation is a private foundation based in South Padre Isle, Texas. Its 2025 grants supported organizations in areas including education, public service, religious activity, and medical care.

Key facts about David and Linda Swain Foundation

In short: David and Linda Swain Foundation gave $152K across 52 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), top state Texas. 31% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
82-2431304
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$151,860
Grants made (2025)
52
Average grant
$2,920
Median grant
$2,000
New grantees (estimate)
31% first-time grantees (16 of 52, 2025)
Total assets
$3,059,028
Primary geography
Texas (36% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$3.1M

+3.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$152K

+13.3% YoY

Grant Count

52

-3.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3K

+17.7% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, David and Linda Swain Foundation reported a distributable amount of $651 for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is David and Linda Swain Foundation open to new grantees?

31%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 16 of 52 grantees (31%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $3K; repeat grants $3K. How we count

Medians: $2K first-time, $2K repeat.

  • 52% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+10%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement is provided. The foundation’s 2025 grants included education, public service, religious, and medical purposes. Among its grantees, Willows Way describes providing residential and day services to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, while Habitat for Humanity describes building homes in partnership with low-income families. Sea Turtle Inc. says it rescues and rehabilitates injured sea turtles, educates the public, and supports marine turtle conservation.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation made 52 grants totaling $151,860. Awards ranged from $500 to $15,000, with a median grant of $2,000. Notable grants included $15,000 to Chapei by the Sea; $7,500 each to the American Red Cross and Willows Way; and $5,000 each to several universities, Port Isabel High School, the American Cancer Society, Friends of Rescued Animals, and Habitat for Humanity.

The foundation also reported 54 grants totaling $134,000 in 2024 and 51 grants totaling $131,500 in 2023.

How to Apply

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with David and Linda Swain Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, Texas received 36% of grant dollars and Missouri received 35%. Other leading recipient states were Washington, DC (7%), Illinois (4%), and Georgia (4%).

Grant Distribution by State

18states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 52 itemized grants.

Cities

South Padre IslandHarlingenSt. LouisNew YorkPort IsabelWashingtonSt CharlesBooneChicagoAtlantaColumbiaInnsbrookWarrentonAmericusGlenviewHoustonKirksvilleLaguna VistaMemphisRolla

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K$200K49 grants2020 52 grants2021 52 grants2022 51 grants2023 54 grants2024 52 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $123K (2020) to $152K (2025). In 2025 it made 52 grants totaling $152K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Chapei by the Sea: $15KChapei by the Sea$15KAmerican Red Cross: $8KAmerican Red Cross$8KWillows Way: $8KWillows Way$8KUniversity Missouri St Louis: $5KUniversity Missouri St Louis$5KUniversity of Missouri Col: $5KUniversity of Missouri Col$5KUniversity of Missouri of Sceince: $5KUniversity of Missouri ofSceince$5KTruman State University: $5KTruman State University$5KSt Louis Community College: $5KSt Louis Community College$5KPort Isabel High School: $5KPort Isabel High School$5KAmerican Cancer Society: $5KAmerican Cancer Society$5K

The largest 2025 recipient was Chapei by the Sea ($15K). Together the top 10 received $65K.

Grant Size Distribution

261 grants across all recorded years

261<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 261 grants of 261 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Chapei by the Sea City of South Padre Is, TXReligious$15,000
American Red Cross Washington, DCPublic Service$7,500
Willows Way St Charles, MOPublic Service$7,500
University Missouri St Louis St. Louis, MOEducation$5,000
University of Missouri Col Columbia, MOEducation$5,000
University of Missouri of Sceince Rolla, MOEducation$5,000
Truman State University Kirksville, MOEducation$5,000
St Louis Community College St. Louis, MOEducation$5,000
Port Isabel High School Port Isabel, TXEducation$5,000
American Cancer Society Hagerstown, MDMedical$5,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Grants Total grant dollars
2025 52 $151,860
2024 54 $134,000
2023 51 $131,500
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$200K$400K$600K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$3,059,028$2,947,525$2,781,401
Revenue$423,005$309,889$170,479
Expenses$198,994$181,878$173,650
Qualifying Distributions$151,860$134,000$131,500
Net Investment Income$1$309,889$128,329
Distributable Amount$651——

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS April 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 25, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 25, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 13, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 4, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 24, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists David Swain as President and Linda Swain as Vice President. Directors listed are Elizabeth Zwiebelman, Susan OLeary, Douglas Swain, and John Swain.

David and Linda Swain Foundation is led by David O Swain, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • David O Swain

    President

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas A Swain

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elizabeth Zwiebelman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John D Swain

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan L OLeary

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Linda I Swain

    Vice President

    Vise President → Vice President, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: PO Box 40027, S Padre Isle, TX 78597-4027

Frequently asked questions about David and Linda Swain Foundation

How much does David and Linda Swain Foundation give each year?

David and Linda Swain Foundation gave $152K across 52 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $134K across 54 grants.

What is David and Linda Swain Foundation's typical grant size?

David and Linda Swain Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $2,000, and its average grant was $2,920, across 52 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from David and Linda Swain Foundation that year got $3K on average.

Where does David and Linda Swain Foundation give grants?

David and Linda Swain Foundation's top state is Texas, with 36% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Missouri (35%) and District of Columbia (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were St. Louis, MO (5 grants), City of South Padre Is, TX (4 grants), Harlingen, TX (4 grants) and St Charles, MO (3 grants).

Does David and Linda Swain Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 52 grants with a stated purpose on David and Linda Swain Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Public Service" (22 grants), "Medical" (17 grants) and "Education" (10 grants).

Who are David and Linda Swain Foundation's largest grantees?

David and Linda Swain Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Chapei by the Sea ($15,000), American Red Cross ($7,500) and Willows Way ($7,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 20% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is David and Linda Swain Foundation?

David and Linda Swain Foundation reported $3.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $152K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $651 (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does David and Linda Swain Foundation fund?

No mission statement is provided. The foundation’s 2025 grants included education, public service, religious, and medical purposes. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from David and Linda Swain Foundation?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is David and Linda Swain Foundation's EIN?

David and Linda Swain Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-2431304. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does David and Linda Swain Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching David and Linda Swain Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in David and Linda Swain Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Texas

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Communities Foundation of Texas Inc

Dallas, TX

Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

2,209

Total Given

$209.2M

Greater Houston Community Foundation

Houston, TX

The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,724

Total Given

$232.3M

BNSF Railway Foundation

Fort Worth, TX

The BNSF Railway Foundation funds civic, cultural, education, health and human services, environmental, and youth programs, including operating costs and specific projects. Its 2025 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged from $100 to $500,000; it supports eligible organizations serving communities near BNSF rail lines across its 28 operating states. The foundation provides an online application process, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$23.0M

Grants

993

Total Given

$7.0M

Baker Hughes Foundation

Houston, TX

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.2M

Grants

990

Total Given

$3.2M

Community Foundation of North Texas (Tax

Fort Worth, TX

The foundation supports nonprofits and community projects in areas including animal welfare, nonprofit capacity building, first responders, land conservation, neighborhood development, opportunity and access, and scholarships. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1.5 million, with a median of $14,250; its service area covers 11 North Texas counties. It accepts applications for some competitive grant programs through its online portal, but donor-advised grants are not open to nonprofit applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$544.9M

Grants

872

Total Given

$41.3M

Michael & Susan Dell Foundation

Austin, TX

The Michael & Susan Dell Foundation funds education, health, jobs and livelihoods, and family economic stability, with its deepest U.S. focus in Texas and additional work across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024 it awarded 835 grants totaling about $164.6 million; grants ranged from $75 to $50 million, with a median of $19,324. It accepts unsolicited requests through its online application process.

Assets

$7.8B

Grants

835

Total Given

$164.6M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

Laura and John Arnold Foundation

Houston, TX

Arnold Ventures funds evidence-based research, policy analysis, and reforms in areas including criminal justice, health care, education, higher education, public finance, and infrastructure, with a focus on improving outcomes for Americans. Its 2024 grants ranged from $685 to $12.5 million, with a median of $122,776. It does not accept unsolicited requests; most proposals come through direct outreach, with periodic RFPs.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.8B

Grants

789

Total Given

$193.3M

The Dallas Foundation

Dallas, TX

The Dallas Foundation funds nonprofit work in Greater Dallas, with a current emphasis on early childhood and family well-being and other areas including economic mobility, homelessness, and youth mental health. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,020 to $7.85 million, with a median of $25,000; applicants generally must serve Dallas County residents. It accepts applications through its online portal when a grant cycle is open, but reports no open opportunities at this time.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$491.5M

Grants

788

Total Given

$87.3M

More Funders in Texas

David and Linda Swain Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?