Daniels Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Boulder, CO EIN: 84-1554541

Daniels Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Boulder, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $288K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $5K. Net investment income was $5K.

Daniels Family Foundation at a glance

In short: Daniels Family Foundation gave $5K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $832.167), top state Colorado. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$4,993
-30.0% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
6
-40.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$832
+16.6% vs 2024
Median grant
$758
Total assets
$287,829
-0.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Colorado (40% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Daniels Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 6 recipients in 2025

JCC: $2KJCC$2KCCFA: $1KCCFA$1KUniversity of Miami Chrons Colitis: $1KUniversity of Miami ChronsColitis$1KHarriet Buhai Center for Law: $515Harriet Buhai Center for Law$515Lefty Classic: $500Lefty Classic$500One Colorado Education: $178One Colorado Education$178

The largest 2025 recipient was JCC ($2K). Together the top 6 received $5K.

Grant Size Distribution

53 grants across all recorded years

53<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 53 grants of 53 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

11states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.

Cities

BoulderLos AngelesNew YorkWellingtonCoral GablesDelray BeachNW WashingtonWashingtonDenverEastlakeSanta RosaAtlantaChicagoEnglewoodGlendaleGreenwood VillageHoustonHuntingtonLongmontLouisville

How Daniels Family Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−9%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 949% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K23 grants2020 12 grants2021 18 grants2022 7 grants2023 10 grants2024 6 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2025) to $11K (2020). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $5K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
JCC Boulder, COTo Meet Organizations Primary Exempt Purpose.$1,800
CCFA New York, NYTo Meet Organizations Primary Exempt Purpose.$1,000
University of Miami Chrons Colitis Coral Gables, FLTo Meet Organizations Primary Exempt Purpose.$1,000
Harriet Buhai Center for Law Los Angeles, CATo Meet Organizations Primary Exempt Purpose.$515
Lefty Classic Wellington, FLTo Meet Organizations Primary Exempt Purpose.$500
One Colorado Education Denver, COTo Meet Organizations Primary Exempt Purpose.$178
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Daniels Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$287,829$4,699$4,993$4,9936$4,993$4,699$526
2024$288,123$7,578$7,137$7,13710$7,137$7,578$486
2023$287,682$101,175$6,989$6,8817$6,881$1,175$574
2022$193,496$59$5,543$5,48518$5,485$59$396
2021$198,980$70$6,131$6,13112$6,131$70$407
2020$205,041$2,311$10,845$10,82423—$2,311$389

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Daniels Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $526 for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Daniels Family Foundation is led by Marc Daniels, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Marc Daniels

    President

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicole Daniels

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Stephanie Daniels

    Secretary & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Daniels Family Foundation

How much does Daniels Family Foundation give each year?

Daniels Family Foundation gave $5K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $7K across 10 grants.

What is Daniels Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Daniels Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $758, and its average grant was $832, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Daniels Family Foundation give grants?

Daniels Family Foundation's top state is Colorado, with 40% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Florida (30%) and New York (20%).

Who are Daniels Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Daniels Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include JCC ($1,800), CCFA ($1,000) and University of Miami Chrons Colitis ($1,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 76% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Daniels Family Foundation?

Daniels Family Foundation reported $288K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $5K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $526 (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Daniels Family Foundation's EIN?

Daniels Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-1554541. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 12, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 7, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Daniels Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Colorado

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Colorado Gives Foundation

Arvada, CO

Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County in areas including food security, early care and education, workforce development, housing, health and convenient neighborhoods; it also offers statewide nonprofit capacity-building support. Typical giving varies widely: its 2024 median grant was $17,814, while Thriving Jeffco Responsive Grant awards ranged from $2,500 to $100,000. It accepts applications through listed grant opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$527.1M

Grants

2,211

Total Given

$91.0M

Christian Community Foundation Inc

Colorado Springs, CO

WaterStone supports domestic and international nonprofits, including Christian ministries and charitable and educational organizations, through donor-directed grants; eligible organizations must be IRS-recognized 501(c)(3)s whose mission aligns with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, with awards ranging from $5,028 to $11 million, and were concentrated in Texas and Colorado. Grant recommendations come from donor-advised fund holders; the profile does not state that it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$746.4M

Grants

1,651

Total Given

$161.8M

Daniels Fund

Denver, CO

The Daniels Fund supports nonprofits working in aging, amateur sports, disabilities, addiction, early childhood and K–12 education, homelessness, and youth development. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $14,000, primarily for organizations in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming; select national-impact programs are also eligible, by invitation only.

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

1,593

Total Given

$69.7M

The Denver Foundation

Denver, CO

The Denver Foundation supports nonprofits working in economic opportunity, environment and climate, housing, and youth well-being, with an emphasis on racial equity and historically underserved communities in the seven-county Metro Denver region. Its Community Grants typically range from $20,000 to $50,000; the 2024 median across reported grants was $26,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.3B

Grants

1,184

Total Given

$131.7M

More similar funders

More Funders in Colorado

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Daniels Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Daniels Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?