Curing Kids Cancer Inc logo

Curing Kids Cancer Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Irving, TX EIN: 20-3388093 Website

Curing Kids Cancer Inc is an Irving, Texas-based public charity that funds pediatric cancer research and the development of treatments. The organization was formed in 2005 and says its funding is primarily raised through direct donor contributions and fundraising events.

Key facts about Curing Kids Cancer Inc

In short: Curing Kids Cancer Inc gave $1.8M across 16 grants in 2024 (avg $113K), top state Georgia. 73% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
20-3388093
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$1,805,720
Grants made (2024)
16
Average grant
$112,858
Median grant
$90,000
New grantees (estimate)
73% first-time grantees (11 of 15, 2024)
Total assets
$676,478
Primary geography
Georgia (41% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$676K

-16.4% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.8M

-7.8% YoY

Grant Count

16

+23.1% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$113K

-25.1% YoY

Is Curing Kids Cancer Inc open to new grantees?

73%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 11 of 15 grantees (73%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $104K; repeat grants $165K. How we count

Medians: $80K first-time, $155K repeat.

  • 20% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+10%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2019–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

In its 2024 filing, the organization says it aims to raise awareness of childhood cancer and fund the development of treatments—primarily in the United States—that are more effective and less toxic than traditional therapies. Its website says its grant program is intended to help promising research advance toward clinical application.

The organization’s current grant guidelines identify cancer immunotherapy or targeted therapy; high-grade brain tumors and other difficult-to-treat pediatric cancers; epigenetic-modifying therapy or gene therapy; and correlative study endpoints on funded clinical trials as priority areas. Novel technologies applied in these areas are also welcome.

Grantees include hospitals, universities, cancer institutes, and research organizations. For example, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta describes its mission as making kids better today and healthier tomorrow. Emory University says its mission is to create, preserve, teach, and apply knowledge in the service of humanity. The Children’s Oncology Group Foundation says it helps support the research of the Children’s Oncology Group, which is devoted exclusively to childhood and adolescent cancer research.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, Curing Kids Cancer reported 16 grants totaling $1,805,720. Grant amounts ranged from $5,720 to $388,000, with a median of $90,000; the filing describes the funded projects as research.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Curing Kids Cancer Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The application guidelines limit eligible institutions to Children’s Oncology Group members in North America. The 2024 filing says the organization funded projects in the United States and Canada. By share of 2024 grant dollars, the leading recipient states were Georgia (41%), Massachusetts (17%), and Ohio (14%), followed by California and South Carolina (6% each).

Grant Distribution by State

19states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 16 itemized grants.

Cities

AtlantaBostonPhiladelphiaHoustonLos AngelesColumbiaColumbusKansas CityRestonSeattleClevelandDallasMilwaukeeAnn ArborBaltimoreBloomingtonCarbondaleChicagoDuarteMadison

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M21 grants2019 16 grants2020 12 grants2021 14 grants2022 13 grants2023 16 grants2024

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1.6M (2020) to $2.5M (2022). In 2024 it made 16 grants totaling $1.8M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Childrens Healthcare of ATL: $388KChildrens Healthcare of ATL$388KEmory University: $345K across 2 grantsEmory University$345K · 2 grantsDana-Farber Cancer Institute: $300KDana-Farber Cancer Institute$300KNationwide Child Hos Research: $250KNationwide Child Hos Research$250KCity of Hope: $100KCity of Hope$100KPrisma Health Childrens Hosp: $100KPrisma Health Childrens Hosp$100KSloan Kettering Cancer Center: $100KSloan Kettering Cancer Center$100KForbeck Forum: $80KForbeck Forum$80KSeattle Childrens Hospital: $43KSeattle Childrens Hospital$43KTexas Childrens Cancer Cent: $39KTexas Childrens Cancer Cent$39K

The largest 2024 recipient was Childrens Healthcare of ATL ($388K). Together the top 10 received $1.7M.

Grant Size Distribution

71 grants across all recorded years

19<$50K9$50–100K34$100–250K7$250–500K2$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 34 grants of 71 (48%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Childrens Healthcare of ATL Atlanta, GAResearch$388,000
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Boston, MAResearch$300,000
Nationwide Child Hos Research Columbus, OHResearch$250,000
Emory University Atlanta, GAResearch$245,000
City of Hope Duarte, CAResearch$100,000
Emory University Atlanta, GAResearch$100,000
Prisma Health Childrens Hosp Columbia, SCResearch$100,000
Sloan Kettering Cancer Center New York City, NYResearch$100,000
Forbeck Forum Carbondale, COResearch$80,000
Seattle Childrens Hospital Seattle, WAResearch$43,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $676,478 $2,816,885 $2,863,550 $1,805,720
2023 $809,399 $2,871,187 $2,878,092 $1,957,905
2022 $911,689 $3,264,927 $3,253,296 $2,501,680
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M$4M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$676,478$809,399$911,689
Revenue$2,816,885$2,871,187$3,264,927
Expenses$2,863,550$2,878,092$3,253,296
Net Investment Income$42,728$33,973$11,629

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 12, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS July 21, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 10, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 22, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 23, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 8, 2025)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Grainne M. Owen as President; Clayton K. Owen, Stephanie Ellenberg, Brian McCue, Caleb Tucker, Kevin Krueger, Sue Gardner-Frankiewicz, Hillary Lang, Glen Anderson, and Carol Gwin as directors or officers. Caleb Tucker is listed as Chairman, Stephanie Ellenberg as Secretary, and Kevin Krueger as Treasurer.

Curing Kids Cancer Inc is led by Grainne M Owen, President on every filing since 2019; 1 of 17 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Grainne M Owen

    President

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $100K (2019) → $126K (2024)

  • Caleb Tucker

    Chairman

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian McCue

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Clayton Clay K Owen

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sue Gardner-Frankiewicz

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carol Gwin

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Glen Anderson

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    15 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hillary Lang

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teddy Brown

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter Licari

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wayne Herring

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amanda Grover

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brandon Gettleman

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Caitlin Brodie

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pierce Owen

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kevin Krueger

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephanie H. Ellenberg

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (7)
  • Former: Susan Licari (2023) — Director
  • Former: Art Volpe (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: John Clark (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Perley McBride (2019–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Marty Robertson (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Wendy Wax (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: John Adler (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Grainne M Owen — President: $126KGrainne M OwenPresident$126K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $126K, to Grainne M Owen (President).

Contact

Mailing address: 3341 Regent Blvd Ste 130-184, Irving, TX 75063
Phone: (214) 519-9964
Website: https://curingkidscancer.org

Frequently asked questions about Curing Kids Cancer Inc

How much does Curing Kids Cancer Inc give each year?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc gave $1.8M across 16 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $2.0M across 13 grants.

What is Curing Kids Cancer Inc's typical grant size?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc's median grant in 2024 was $90,000, and its average grant was $112,858, across 16 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Curing Kids Cancer Inc that year got $104K on average.

Where does Curing Kids Cancer Inc give grants?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc's top state is Georgia, with 41% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Massachusetts (17%) and Ohio (14%). The most frequent recipient cities were Atlanta, GA (3 grants).

Does Curing Kids Cancer Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 16 grants with a stated purpose on Curing Kids Cancer Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Research" (16 grants).

Who are Curing Kids Cancer Inc's largest grantees?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Childrens Healthcare of ATL ($388,000), Emory University ($345,000 across 2 grants) and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute ($300,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 57% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Curing Kids Cancer Inc?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc reported $676K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $2.8M.

What does Curing Kids Cancer Inc fund?

In its 2024 filing, the organization says it aims to raise awareness of childhood cancer and fund the development of treatments—primarily in the United States—that are more effective and less toxic than traditional therapies. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Curing Kids Cancer Inc?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check curingkidscancer.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Curing Kids Cancer Inc's EIN?

Curing Kids Cancer Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-3388093. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Curing Kids Cancer Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Curing Kids Cancer Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Emory University

Atlanta, GA

Emory University funds research, health care, and medical research, including university research awards and subcontract grants to organizations. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $87,500, though awards ranged from about $5,300 to $35.5 million; recipients were concentrated in Georgia, which received 46% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Emory accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$24.9B

Grants

362

Total Given

$183.7M

Mayo Clinic

Rochester, MN

Mayo Clinic funds local nonprofits for health-related and community programs aligned with needs identified in its service areas; priorities vary by location and include access to care, mental health, food security and other local needs. Giving varies widely: 2024 grants ranged from $5,005 to $120,250,322, with a median of $59,957, though those totals include large institutional awards. It accepts unsolicited requests through location-specific programs in Rochester, Florida and Arizona, with eligibility and application rules set locally.

Assets

$26.7B

Grants

256

Total Given

$572.1M

University of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh, PA

The University of Pittsburgh funds research, education, academic support, and community service, with many reported grants supporting research subcontracts at universities and research organizations. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,363 to $7.9 million, with a median of about $85,800, and went to recipients in multiple states, led by Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$10.9B

Grants

397

Total Given

$149.1M

Synchrony Foundation

Stamford, CT

In 2024, Synchrony Foundation supported charitable organizations across workforce development, education, financial assistance, and giving, with grants ranging from $150 to $2.6 million and a median of $10,000. Its largest shares of grant funding went to Connecticut, New York, and South Carolina, followed by the District of Columbia and New Jersey; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$72.3M

Grants

394

Total Given

$20.5M

Yale University

New Haven, CT

Yale supports education, research, scholarship, preservation, public service, and community organizations, including through sponsored research and fellowships. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $14.3 million, with a median of about $136,000; recipients were based mainly in Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, New York, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether Yale accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$58.9B

Grants

364

Total Given

$168.2M

Communities Foundation of Texas Inc

Dallas, TX

Communities Foundation of Texas funds charitable work in health, wealth, living, and learning, with much of its grantmaking supporting North Texas nonprofits; its 2025 grants had a median of $18,779, though award sizes varied widely. Nearly all opportunities are by invitation, and its Nonprofit Gateway profile is not a grant application.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

2,209

Total Given

$209.2M

Greater Houston Community Foundation

Houston, TX

The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,724

Total Given

$232.3M

The Houston Food Bank

Houston, TX

The Houston Food Bank supports food distribution and related hunger-relief programs, including school, children’s, and senior food initiatives, through community organizations in 18 Southeast Texas counties. Its 2025 grants had a median of $33,402, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$164.4M

Grants

1,128

Total Given

$210.7M

BNSF Railway Foundation

Fort Worth, TX

The BNSF Railway Foundation supports civic, cultural, educational, health and human services, environmental, and youth programs, as well as general operating costs, in communities served by BNSF across its 28-state network. Its 2025 median grant was $2,500; its current grants program lists awards of $1,000–$10,000.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$23.0M

Grants

993

Total Given

$7.0M

Baker Hughes Foundation

Houston, TX

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.2M

Grants

990

Total Given

$3.2M

More Funders in Texas

Curing Kids Cancer Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?