Cranston High Schools Athletic
Cranston High Schools Athletic is a private foundation, based in Cranston, RI. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $71K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $6K. Net investment income was $7K.
Cranston High Schools Athletic at a glance
In short: Cranston High Schools Athletic gave $6K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $644.444), mostly in Rhode Island. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $5,800
- +16.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 9
- -18.2% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $644
- +41.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $800
- Total assets
- $70,677
- +1.8% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Rhode Island (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Cranston High Schools Athletic funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
54 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 54 grants of 54 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Cranston High Schools Athletic gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+0%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 48% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2020) to $6K (2023). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $6K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 9 individual scholarships Recipients not named | — | $5,800 |
Ready to take the next step with Cranston High Schools Athletic?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $70,677 | $7,203 | $5,872 | $5,800 | 9 | $5,800 | $7,203 | $12,092 |
| 2024 | $69,424 | $11,410 | $5,134 | $5,000 | 11 | $5,000 | $5,590 | — |
| 2023 | $63,148 | $4,473 | $6,072 | $6,000 | 11 | $6,000 | $4,473 | $5,131 |
| 2022 | $62,389 | $2,504 | $5,872 | $5,800 | 11 | $5,800 | $2,504 | $5,516 |
| 2021 | $65,781 | $3,384 | $5,272 | $5,200 | 12 | $5,200 | $3,384 | $5,899 |
| 2020 | $67,707 | $16,072 | $5,610 | $5,000 | 12 | — | $2,769 | $5,489 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Cranston High Schools Athletic reported a distributable amount of $12K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Cranston High Schools Athletic's 2025 filing lists 9 officers; none of the 9 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Allison Picozzi
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Craig W. Carpenter
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Ed Rondeau
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
James Creamer
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Justin Erickson
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sean Kelly
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas A. Barbieri
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Thomas Centore
Director
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Davia Sr.
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
7 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Cranston High Schools Athletic
How much does Cranston High Schools Athletic give each year?
Cranston High Schools Athletic gave $6K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $5K across 11 grants.
What is Cranston High Schools Athletic's typical grant size?
Cranston High Schools Athletic's median grant in 2025 was $800, and its average grant was $644, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Cranston High Schools Athletic give grants?
Cranston High Schools Athletic gives mostly in Rhode Island: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.
Does Cranston High Schools Athletic give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on Cranston High Schools Athletic's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (9 grants).
How large is Cranston High Schools Athletic?
Cranston High Schools Athletic reported $71K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $6K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $12K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Cranston High Schools Athletic's EIN?
Cranston High Schools Athletic's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-2982274. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Rhode Island
Rhode Island Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Cranston High Schools Athletic's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Rhode Island
The Rhode Island Community Foundation
Providence, RI
The Rhode Island Community Foundation funds nonprofits and community efforts in areas including education, arts and culture, housing, health, climate action, and economic mobility. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $23,940, with giving concentrated in Rhode Island; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
977
Total Given
$72.0M
CVS Foundation
Woonsocket, RI
CVS Foundation funds health care access and outcomes, preventive and community health, health-related needs such as food and housing, education and workforce development, and disaster response across the United States. In 2024, it made 778 grants totaling about $21.4 million; awards ranged from $250 to $2.46 million, with a median of $1,500. It does not accept unsolicited requests; support is by invitation or RFP only, and no RFPs are currently open.
Assets
$194.3M
Grants
778
Total Given
$21.4M
United Way of Rhode Island Inc
Providence, RI
United Way of Rhode Island funds Rhode Island nonprofits working on economic security, children’s learning, housing, food access, safety, and related community needs. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,008 to $547,033, with a median of $15,000; its emergency grants offer up to $50,000, with average awards of $25,000–$30,000. It accepts applications for emergency grants on a rolling basis.
Assets
$30.1M
Grants
282
Total Given
$8.0M
Ralph R Papitto & Barbara a Papitto
Providence, RI
Papitto Opportunity Connection funds Rhode Island 501(c)(3) organizations working in education, job skills training, housing, healthcare, and entrepreneurship, with a focus on communities most in need. It gives about $6 million annually; small grants are generally $5,000–$20,000, though awards vary widely. It accepts unsolicited applications during set periods, but its application page says proposals are not currently being accepted.
Assets
$6.8M
Grants
270
Total Given
$24.3M
Brown University
Providence, RI
Brown University’s reported grants support education, student aid, and research, with listed awards primarily identified as subcontracts. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,325 to $3.36 million, with a median of about $98,700; recipients were concentrated in Rhode Island, Massachusetts, California, New York, and Washington, DC. The profile does not state that Brown accepts unsolicited requests; its website describes proposal support for Brown researchers.
Assets
$11.3B
Grants
235
Total Given
$47.0M
The Beacon Foundation
Warwick, RI
The Beacon Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and municipalities working in health, wellness, education, disability services, and other charitable or civic areas, with priority for Rhode Island and nearby communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $20 to $20,100, with a median of $1,000. It accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.5M
Grants
151
Total Given
$205K
More similar funders
More Funders in Rhode Island
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Cranston High Schools Athletic's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Cranston High Schools Athletic down — hundreds of funders to go?