Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons
CHARLESTON CITY UNION OF KINGS DAUG was a private foundation based in Charleston, South Carolina. It made charitable contributions to International Order of the King’s Daughters and Sons (IOKDS) departments and other organizations.
Key facts about Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons
In short: Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons gave $152K across 18 grants in 2021 (avg $8K), mostly in South Carolina. Source: 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 57-0357957
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2021
- Annual giving (2021)
- $152,400
- Grants made (2021)
- 18
- Average grant
- $8,467
- Median grant
- $10,000
- Primary geography
- South Carolina (51% of itemized 2021 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The final filing lists “4” under form and materials. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- None listed in the filing.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2021; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2021 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
—
Annual Giving
$152K
+219.8% YoY
Grant Count
18
-25.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$8K
+326.3% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons reported a distributable amount of $2K for 2021 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons gives
- 78% of 2021 grantees were also funded in 2020. Method
- In 2021 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The filing describes contributions to IOKDS departments for charitable purposes and contributions to organizations exempt under section 501(c)(3). It does not state a separate mission for the foundation.
Among its 2021 grantees, James Island Outreach says its mission is to uplift and unite its community by helping neighbors with basic and emergency services. My Sister’s House says it provides services, programs, and resources to empower victims of domestic violence and their children to be free from abuse. Ronald McDonald House Charities Columbia says it creates, funds, and supports programs that directly improve the health and well-being of children and their families. Roper St. Francis Foundation says its mission is to advance the Roper St. Francis Healthcare mission of healing all people with compassion, faith, and excellence through philanthropy.
Grantmaking
In 2021, the foundation made 18 grants totaling $152,400. Grant amounts ranged from $400 to $25,000, with a median grant of $10,000.
Notable 2021 grants included $25,000 to Building Fund and $10,000 each to Around the World, Health Careers, Native American Indian Dept, Student Ministry, and Learn & Discern Internship, all in Chautauqua, New York, for “IOKDS Department” purposes. In South Carolina, it gave $10,000 each to One80 Place, My Sister’s House, Lowcountry Community Chaplaincy, James Island Outreach, and Ronald McDonald House, and $5,000 to Water Missions, for “local charity” purposes. Other reported 2021 grants include $10,000 to James Island Outreach, $10,000 to Ronald McDonald House, $10,000 to My Sister’s House, and $5,000 to Roper St. Francis Foundation.
Review Cycle
None listed in the filing.
How to Apply
The final filing lists “4” under form and materials. It restricts scholarship or grant recipients to college students, the International Union of King’s Daughters, or other local 501(c)(3) organizations. These filing instructions are not current application guidance because the foundation’s 2021 filing is marked final.
Ready to take the next step with Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2021, 51% of grant dollars went to recipients in South Carolina and 49% to recipients in New York. The filing’s listed grants include South Carolina local charities and IOKDS departments in Chautauqua, New York.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2021 grant dollars across all 18 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2021, annual grant giving ranged from $48K (2020) to $152K (2021). In 2021 it made 18 grants totaling $152K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2021
The largest 2021 recipient was Building Fund ($25K). Together the top 10 received $115K.
Grant Size Distribution
42 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 42 grants of 42 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Building Fund Chautauqua, NY | Iokds Department | $25,000 |
| Around the World Chautauqua, NY | Iokds Department | $10,000 |
| Health Careers Chautauqua, NY | Iokds Department | $10,000 |
| Native American Indian Dept Chautauqua, NY | Iokds Department | $10,000 |
| Student Ministry Chautauqua, NY | Iokds Department | $10,000 |
| Learn & Discern Internship Chautauqua, NY | Iokds Department | $10,000 |
| One 80 Place Charleston, SC | Local Charity | $10,000 |
| My Sisters House Inc North Charleston, SC | Local Charity | $10,000 |
| Lowcountry Community Chaplaincy Charleston, SC | Local Charity | $10,000 |
| James Island Outreach Charleston, SC | Local Charity | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Revenue | Expenses | Grant total | Grant count | Assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | $33,852 | $160,054 | $152,400 | 18 | — |
| 2020 | $10,556 | $53,649 | $47,661 | 24 | $126,202 |
| Metric | 2021 | 2020 |
|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | — | $126,202 |
| Revenue | $33,852 | $10,556 |
| Expenses | $160,054 | $53,649 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $156,486 | — |
| Net Investment Income | — | $2,593 |
| Distributable Amount | $2,097 | $8,368 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 15, 2021)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2021
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2021 filing listed Edith Dixon as president, Kathy LaFleur as vice president, Marie Sims as secretary, and Joyce Morris as treasurer.
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons is led by Edith Dixon, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2021 report compensation.
Officers on the 2021 filing
Edith Dixon
President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Joyce Morris
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Kathy Lafleur
Vice President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Marie Sims
Secretary
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2021. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Application contact: Joyce Morris
Mailing address: 1042 Winward Road, Charleston, SC 29412
Phone: (843) 795-6744
Frequently asked questions about Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons
How much does Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons give each year?
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons gave $152K across 18 grants in 2021, according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2020 it gave $48K across 24 grants.
What is Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's typical grant size?
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's median grant in 2021 was $10,000, and its average grant was $8,467, across 18 grants on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons give grants?
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons gives mostly in South Carolina: 51% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was New York (49%). The most frequent recipient cities were Charleston, SC (8 grants), Chautauqua, NY (6 grants) and North Charleston, SC (3 grants).
Does Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons give general operating support?
Not in 2021: none of the 18 grants with a stated purpose on Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's 2021 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Local Charity" (12 grants) and "Iokds Department" (6 grants).
Who are Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's largest grantees?
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's largest 2021 grantees include Building Fund ($25,000), Around the World ($10,000) and Health Careers ($10,000), according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 30% of its itemized 2021 grant dollars.
What does Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons fund?
The filing describes contributions to IOKDS departments for charitable purposes and contributions to organizations exempt under section 501(c)(3). It does not state a separate mission for the foundation. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons?
The final filing lists “4” under form and materials. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
How much is Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons required to give away each year?
Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2021, Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons reported a distributable amount of $2K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
What is Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's EIN?
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 57-0357957. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2021.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Kuznik Charitable Foundation
Charleston, SC
The foundation funds 501(c)(3) nonprofits addressing hunger, health, homelessness, and poverty, including education-related work, in Charleston, Berkeley, and Dorchester counties, South Carolina. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $25,000, with a median of $25,000. Its website offers an application for eligible organizations, indicating it accepts applications.
Assets
$57.1M
Grants
52
Total Given
$1.0M
Henry & Sylvia Yaschik Foundation Inc
Charleston, SC
The foundation supports specific projects and programs of qualified 501(c)(3) charities serving the greater Charleston, South Carolina, area, across secular and Jewish, health, education, conservation, and other charitable work. Grants typically range from $1,000 to $50,500, with a 2024 median of $5,000. It accepts applications; the 2026 application period ended April 30, and the foundation says to check back in February 2027 for the next period.
Assets
$10.7M
Grants
97
Total Given
$845K
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.
Assets
$2.3M
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina Inc
N Charleston, SC
Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina supports nonprofits and community initiatives in education, health, human services, the environment, arts, social justice, and community development across nine coastal South Carolina counties. Its 2024 itemized grants ranged from $5,057 to $2.3 million, with a median of $16,500; competitive programs accept applications through its online portal.
Assets
$435.6M
Grants
459
Total Given
$26.0M
Rowland Family Foundation
Mt Pleasant, SC
Assets
$182K
Grants
4
Total Given
$67K
Post and Courier Foundation
Charleston, SC
The Post and Courier Foundation supports qualified 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in civic, conservation and preservation, arts and culture, education, or health and welfare, primarily in the Lowcountry and certain South Carolina communities. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $99,378, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online General Fund requests from April 1 through the last Friday in July, allowing one request per organization per annual cycle.
Assets
$5.0M
Grants
60
Total Given
$784K
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Central Carolina Community Foundation
Columbia, SC
Central Carolina Community Foundation funds education, human services, health, arts and culture, community development, disaster relief, and related community initiatives through specific grant programs. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, and it primarily serves 11 Midlands counties while also funding statewide and nationally. It accepts applications through its online portal during published grant periods for specific opportunities; some programs are invitation-only.
Assets
$264.3M
Grants
488
Total Given
$26.5M
Community Foundation of Greenville Inc
Greenville, SC
Community Foundation of Greenville funds nonprofits and projects in arts, education, environment, health, and human services, with a focus on Greenville County, South Carolina. Its 2026 Capacity Building Grants award $5,000–$12,500; 2024 grants had a median of $23,900. It accepts unsolicited requests through its Capacity Building Grants program.
Assets
$118.8M
Grants
346
Total Given
$26.4M
South Carolina Christian Foundation
Spartanburg, SC
The foundation funds Christian ministries, churches, and quality-of-life organizations, with particular attention through its Community Trust Grants to Christian nonprofits in five South Carolina counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, though awards varied widely; most grant dollars went to South Carolina, with additional funding in other states. Community Trust applicants must submit a Ministry Introduction Form and be invited to apply; the profile does not state whether other requests are unsolicited.
Assets
$45.4M
Grants
285
Total Given
$11.6M
United Community Bank Foundation
Greenville, SC
United Community Bank Foundation funds economic empowerment, arts, housing and youth development in communities served across Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $16,000, with a median of $2,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; grants go to preselected organizations.
Assets
$12.6M
Grants
235
Total Given
$505K
Spartanburg County Foundation
Spartanburg, SC
The Spartanburg County Foundation funds nonprofits and community groups serving Spartanburg County residents, with priorities including quality of life, education, economic mobility, and organizational capacity. Its itemized 2025 grants had a median of $15,500; listed programs offer awards of up to $10,000–$35,000.
Assets
$280.4M
Grants
227
Total Given
$19.0M
More Funders in South Carolina
Charleston City Union of Kings Daug Daughters and Sons down — hundreds of funders to go?