Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Frankfort, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $16.6M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $2.4M. Net investment income was $1.6M.
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc at a glance
In short: Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc gave $2.4M across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $2.4M), mostly in Arkansas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $2,420,000
- -6.7% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,420,000
- -6.7% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $2,420,000
- Total assets
- $16,567,229
- -5.5% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Arkansas (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
29 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 12 grants of 29 (41%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
Cities
How Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+3%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 216% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.1M (2020) to $2.6M (2024). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $2.4M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| See Attached STMT See Attached STMT, AR | See Attached STMT | $2,420,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $16,567,229 | $1,641,011 | $2,601,318 | $2,420,000 | 1 | $2,496,175 | $1,557,368 | $1,155,151 |
| 2024 | $17,527,446 | $1,405,383 | $2,769,191 | $2,595,000 | 1 | $2,668,535 | $1,319,927 | $1,184,725 |
| 2023 | $18,890,872 | $1,263,460 | $2,593,792 | $2,460,000 | 1 | $2,493,961 | $957,129 | $1,131,761 |
| 2022 | $20,221,251 | $1,028,555 | $2,517,296 | $2,360,000 | 1 | $2,407,517 | $938,776 | $1,216,353 |
| 2021 | $21,709,998 | $1,843,578 | $2,170,503 | $2,005,000 | 25 | $2,052,581 | $1,739,656 | $1,431,683 |
| 2020 | $22,036,370 | $1,526,914 | $1,297,767 | $1,145,000 | 10 | — | $1,434,201 | $1,271,784 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $1.2M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc is led by Julia J. Taylor, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; none of the 7 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Julia J. Taylor
President & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Hanna Goss
Director
Secretary → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nancy Campbell
Director
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Dabney Brown
Vice President
Director → Vice President, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sarah B. Hopkins
Vice President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mary-Alice Michaels
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Deborah Whitney
Vice President
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Alfred Shands (2020) — Vice President
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc
How much does Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc give each year?
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc gave $2.4M across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $2.6M across 1 grant.
How large is Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc?
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc reported $16.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.5M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.2M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
Where does Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc operate?
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc has awarded grants in Arkansas, California, Florida, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Pennsylvania.
What is Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc's EIN?
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 71-0799820. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 25, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Charlevoix County Community Foundation
East Jordan, MI
The Charlevoix County Community Foundation funds nonprofits, schools, and municipalities serving Charlevoix County, Michigan, across areas including arts, environment, health, youth, education, housing, and urgent needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,600 to $506,280, with a median award of $16,694. Applicants must speak with staff before submitting an application; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$64.5M
Grants
88
Total Given
$3.4M
Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation
Petoskey, MI
The Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation funds nonprofit and community work in Emmet County, including housing, education, health and human services, the environment, arts and culture, and youth programs. Its 2026 grants had a median of $15,000 and ranged from $5,113 to $312,750; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$70.2M
Grants
98
Total Given
$3.7M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
McKesson Foundation Inc
Dallas, TX
The McKesson Foundation funds cancer support and care, healthcare workforce pathways, and emergency response, with grants mainly supporting organizations in the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts ranged from $10,000 to about $2.47 million. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its application page describes an online application process with stated submission windows.
Assets
$1.6M
Grants
76
Total Given
$16.6M
Oleson Foundation
Traverse City, MI
The Oleson Foundation funds sustainable, collaborative nonprofit projects in the arts, community development, education, environment, and health and human services, primarily in six Northwest Michigan counties. Its 2025 grants ranged from $850 to $77,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts applications through its online portal; the annual application period opens February 15 and closes April 1.
Assets
$22.8M
Grants
88
Total Given
$1.6M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Charles M and Joan R Taylor Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?