Canton Jewish Community Federation
To advance the quality of Jewish life through planning, coordinating, and allocating financial and human resources.
Canton Jewish Community Federation at a glance
In short: Canton Jewish Community Federation gave $1.1M across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $1.1M), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $1,087,021
- +912.4% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- +0.0% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $1,087,021
- +912.4% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $1,087,021
- Total assets
- $2,205,043
- -33.0% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
How to apply to Canton Jewish Community Federation
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from Canton Jewish Community Federation
Who Canton Jewish Community Federation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Jewish Community of Canton LLC ($1.1M).
Grant Size Distribution
5 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 2 grants of 5 (40%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
How Canton Jewish Community Federation gives
- Giving grew 1080% from 2021 to 2024. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $92K (2021) to $1.1M (2024). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $1.1M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Jewish Community of Canton LLC Canton, OH | To provide for operation and management of Shaaray Torah Synagogue, Temple Israel and Canton Jewish Community Foundation | $1,087,021 |
Ready to take the next step with Canton Jewish Community Federation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $2,205,043 | $342,743 | $1,514,690 | $1,087,021 | 1 | $19,477 |
| 2023 | $3,290,257 | $575,802 | $603,836 | $107,370 | 1 | $17,401 |
| 2022 | $3,126,280 | $545,138 | $1,584,901 | $145,200 | 1 | $15,001 |
| 2021 | $4,427,777 | $570,672 | $519,395 | $92,138 | 1 | $13,894 |
| 2020 | $4,276,470 | $515,859 | $471,582 | $94,180 | 1 | $13,198 |
About Canton Jewish Community Federation
Based on IRS filings
Canton Jewish Community Federation is a public charity, based in Canton, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $2.2M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $1.1M. Net investment income was $19K.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Canton Jewish Community Federation is led by Ori Akrish, Executive Director on every filing since 2023; 1 of 25 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Ori Akrish
Executive Director
On filings since 2023
24 hrs/week
$55K (2023) → $55K (2024)
John Strauss
President
Vice President → President, 2023
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Barb Ferne
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Bruce White
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Fran Wells
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Hazzan Bruce Braun
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeff Sklar
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Lanny Knell
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Laura Solomon
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Alperin
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Zoldan
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mike Magill
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Paul Hervey
Trustee
Vice President → President, 2021
President → Trustee, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rabbi AJ Kushner
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rabbi David Komerofsky
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Richard Altman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Spera
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Andrew Spera
Trustee
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Leslie Nelson
Trustee
Treasurer → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rita Schaner
Trustee
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tom Porter
Trustee
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Toni Olenick
Trustee
Treasurer → Trustee, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Laura Goldman
Vice President
Trustee → Secretary, 2021
Secretary → Vice President, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alex Fridman
Treasurer
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jen Adler
Secretary
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (11)
- Former: Bonnie Manello (2020–2022) — Executive Director
- Former: Dan Charlick (2020–2022) — Past President
- Former: Jack Bouer (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Jonathan Wilkof (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Susan Wilkof (2020–2022) — Trustee
- Former: Alla Haut (2020) — Treasurer
- Former: Daniel Silverman (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Eileen Saltarelli (2020) — Secretary
- Former: Meade Perlman (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Shelley Schweitzer (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Tyler Wilkof (2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $55K, to Ori Akrish (Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about Canton Jewish Community Federation
How much does Canton Jewish Community Federation give each year?
Canton Jewish Community Federation gave $1.1M across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $107K across 1 grant.
How large is Canton Jewish Community Federation?
Canton Jewish Community Federation reported $2.2M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $343K.
Where does Canton Jewish Community Federation operate?
Canton Jewish Community Federation has awarded grants in Ohio.
What is Canton Jewish Community Federation's EIN?
Canton Jewish Community Federation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7084946. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Ohio
Ohio Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Canton Jewish Community Federation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Ohio
Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association
Columbus, OH
OCCRRA funds Ohio organizations serving child care, early learning, and youth development, including through program-specific stabilization and access grants. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,960 to $50,970, with a median of $30,060. Organizations apply for assistance and are reviewed against program criteria; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.
Assets
$6.3M
Grants
4
Total Given
$118K
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
Nisource Charitable Foundation
Columbus, OH
The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$43.0M
Grants
683
Total Given
$7.5M
More similar funders
More Funders in Ohio
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Canton Jewish Community Federation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Canton Jewish Community Federation down — hundreds of funders to go?