Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc logo

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Doylestown, PA EIN: 23-2449485 Website

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission, Inc. (BCDAC) is based in Doylestown, Pennsylvania, and serves as Bucks County’s Single County Authority for alcohol, tobacco, and other drug prevention, intervention, treatment, and recovery support services. It subcontracts with community-based licensed agencies to provide services to Bucks County residents.

Key facts about Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc

In short: Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc gave $12.6M across 38 grants in 2025 (avg $332K), mostly in Pennsylvania. 11% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
23-2449485
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$12,624,630
Grants made (2025)
38
Average grant
$332,227
Median grant
$84,656
New grantees (estimate)
11% first-time grantees (4 of 38, 2025)
Total assets
$3,762,390
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$3.8M

-4.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$12.6M

+27.0% YoY

Grant Count

38

-2.6% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$332K

+30.4% YoY

Is Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc open to new grantees?

11%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 4 of 38 grantees (11%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $61K; repeat grants $364K. How we count

Medians: $65K first-time, $86K repeat.

  • 87% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 107% from 2022 to 2025. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

BCDAC’s mission is to promote healthy individuals, families, and communities; eliminate the misuse, abuse, and addiction to alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs; and support people in recovery. Its stated role is to ensure a comprehensive continuum of prevention, intervention, treatment, and recovery services for Bucks County.

Its grants support organizations providing services across those areas. For example, Gaudenzia describes its mission as promoting long-term recovery through comprehensive treatment and support for people with substance use disorder and related conditions. Aldie Foundation describes providing therapeutic and educational interventions, screening, assessment, referral, and treatment for substance abuse and co-occurring health problems. YWCA of Bucks County describes its broader mission as working for racial equality and the empowerment and dignity of women and all people. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not BCDAC’s.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, BCDAC reported 38 grants totaling $12,624,630. Grant amounts ranged from $7,500 to $5,068,072, with a median of $84,656. The largest grants included:

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

BCDAC’s stated service role is for Bucks County residents. All grant dollars reported for 2025 went to recipients in Pennsylvania.

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 38 itemized grants.

Cities

DoylestownPhiladelphiaBristolBensalemNorristownLanghorneAllenwoodChesterEaglevilleKennett SquareMorrisvilleSellersvilleTrevoseLevittownQuakertownNewtownPenndelAudobonBala CynwydCroydon

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5M$10M$15M29 grants2019 29 grants2020 26 grants2021 35 grants2022 33 grants2023 39 grants2024 38 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5.2M (2021) to $12.6M (2025). In 2025 it made 38 grants totaling $12.6M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Lenape Valley: $5.1MLenape Valley$5.1MSt Luke's Penn Foundation: $1.7MSt Luke's Penn Foundation$1.7MCouncil of Southeast PA: $1.2MCouncil of Southeast PA$1.2MGaudenzia: $871KGaudenzia$871KPyramid Inc: $682KPyramid Inc$682KMalvern Treatment: $331KMalvern Treatment$331KAldie Foundation: $260KAldie Foundation$260KYWCA of Bucks County: $209KYWCA of Bucks County$209KFamily Services: $199KFamily Services$199KEagleville Hospital: $188KEagleville Hospital$188K

The largest 2025 recipient was Lenape Valley ($5.1M). Together the top 10 received $10.7M.

Grant Size Distribution

171 grants across all recorded years

77<$50K33$50–100K29$100–250K12$250–500K7$500K–1M12$1–5M1$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 77 grants of 171 (45%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Lenape Valley Doylestown, PAIntervention$5,068,072
St Luke's Penn Foundation Sellersville, PATreatment, Housing$1,739,004
Council of Southeast PA Doylestown, PAPrevention, Interven$1,188,793
Gaudenzia Norristown, PATreatment$870,837
Pyramid Inc Bristol, PATreatment$681,931
Malvern Treatment Malvern, PATreatment$330,567
Aldie Foundation Doylestown, PATreatment$260,271
YWCA of Bucks County Trevose, PAPrevention$209,213
Family Services Quakertown, PATreatment, Housing$199,056
Eagleville Hospital Eagleville, PATreatment$187,924

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants reported
2025 $3,762,390 $16,705,529 $16,452,557 $12,624,630 (38 grants)
2024 $3,938,219 $13,306,899 $12,984,145 $9,938,333 (39 grants)
2023 $2,687,360 $8,444,063 $8,428,918 $5,791,588 (33 grants)
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$5M$10M$15M$20M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$3,762,390$3,938,219$2,687,360
Revenue$16,705,529$13,306,899$8,444,063
Expenses$16,452,557$12,984,145$8,428,918
Net Investment Income$23,204$16,465$11,372

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS January 30, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 11, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS December 10, 2021)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS December 8, 2022)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS December 14, 2023)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS February 20, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS December 17, 2025)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Diane Rosati as executive officer, W. Josh Buchanan as chair, Fred Harran as vice chair, Megan Cohen as secretary, and Kay McBride as treasurer. It also lists Lindsay Gladysz, Dale Keddie, Matt McGahran, Gary Tosti, and Marlin Williams as board members.

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc is led by W. Josh Buchanan, Chair since 2023 (on filings since 2019); 1 of 12 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • W. Josh Buchanan

    Chair

    Chairman → Vice Chair, 2022

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • David C. Damsker

    Director

    Executive Officio → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Diane Rosati

    Executive Di

    Executive Director → Executive Di, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $101K (2019) → $116K (2025)

  • Fred Harran

    Vice Chair

    Board Member → Secretary, 2022

    Secretary → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dale Keddie

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kay McBride

    Treasurer

    Board Member → Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matt McGahran

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Megan Cohen

    Secretary

    Board Member → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Tosti

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lindsay Gladysz Pharmd Bcp

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marlin Williams

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gwen Schwartz

    Board Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (15)
  • Former: Joseph Bartorilla (2022–2024) — Board Member
  • Former: Brenda Foley (2019–2022) — Treasurer
  • Former: Annemarie Murphy (2020–2022) — Chair
  • Former: Jan King (2019–2021) — Vice Chair
  • Former: Linda O'Neill (2019–2021) — Secretary
  • Former: Maureen Hampshire (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Michael Demaio (2019–2021) — Chairman
  • Former: Paul Clymer (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Samantha Barrios (2019–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Jim Worthington (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Josh Buchanan (2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Gregg Shore (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Dan Rattigan (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Matthew Weintraub (2019) — Board Member
  • Former: Michelle Kaisinger (2019) — Vice Chair

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Diane Rosati — Executive Di: $116KDiane RosatiExecutive Di$116K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $116K, to Diane Rosati (Executive Di).

Contact

Mailing address: 55 East Court Street 4Th Floor, Doylestown, PA 18901-4318
Phone: (215) 444-2700
Website: https://bcdac.org

Frequently asked questions about Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc

How much does Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc give each year?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc gave $12.6M across 38 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $9.9M across 39 grants.

What is Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's typical grant size?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's median grant in 2025 was $84,656, and its average grant was $332,227, across 38 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc that year got $61K on average.

Where does Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc give grants?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Doylestown, PA (5 grants), Bristol, PA (5 grants), Norristown, PA (2 grants) and Bensalem, PA (2 grants).

Does Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 38 grants with a stated purpose on Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Treatment" (18 grants), "Housing" (7 grants) and "Prevention" (7 grants).

Who are Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's largest grantees?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Lenape Valley ($5,068,072), St Luke's Penn Foundation ($1,739,004) and Council of Southeast PA ($1,188,793), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 63% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc reported $3.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $16.7M.

What does Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc fund?

BCDAC’s mission is to promote healthy individuals, families, and communities; eliminate the misuse, abuse, and addiction to alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs; and support people in recovery. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check bcdac.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's EIN?

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-2449485. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Foundations Community Partnership

Doylestown, PA

Foundations Community Partnership funds qualifying nonprofits serving children, young adults, and families in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, with a focus on behavioral health and human services. Its 2025 grants ranged from $600 to $32,500, with a median award of $5,000. The profile describes online applications and, for most programs, a Letter of Inquiry before a full application, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Mental Health & Crisis Intervention

Assets

$22.0M

Grants

73

Total Given

$548K

Global Links

Pittsburgh, PA

Global Links supports health and basic-needs work through medical supplies and other in-kind materials, with projects in Pennsylvania and international partnerships primarily in Latin America and the Caribbean. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,607 to $94,638, with a median of $11,395. Eligible U.S.-based organizations with established healthcare partnerships may submit requests for supplies; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant applications.

Assets

$5.9M

Grants

20

Total Given

$464K

William Penn Bank Community Foundation

Bristol, PA

The William Penn Bank Community Foundation funds community and economic development, education, and health care and human services for low-income people in Lower Bucks County, Philadelphia, and southern New Jersey. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,000 to $10,000, with a median of $2,500. It says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations; applications are accepted by mail on quarterly deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$94K

Grants

40

Total Given

$147K

Council on Chemical Abuse Inc

Reading, PA

Council on Chemical Abuse funds substance-use prevention, intervention, treatment, transitional housing, and recovery services, primarily in Berks County, Pennsylvania. Its 2025 grants ranged from $7,098 to $2,239,388, with a median of about $41,000. It accepts requests for Berks Opioid Settlement Funds through an RFP process, but reports that all current settlement funds have been allocated.

Mental Health & Crisis Intervention

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

40

Total Given

$10.1M

Albert W Bader Foundation Inc

Philadelphia, PA

The Albert W Bader Foundation supports a range of charitable causes, including youth sports, education, arts, history, community services, and health. Its 2025 grants were typically $1,000–$8,000, with a median of $2,000, and went mainly to Pennsylvania organizations, with some funding in New Jersey and Florida. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected organizations.

Assets

$1.5M

Grants

44

Total Given

$111K

Quest for the Best

Wayne, PA

QUEST FOR THE BEST funds project-based charitable work, including education, health and human services, humanitarian efforts, and community programs; it generally does not fund operating expenses. Its 2025 grants ranged from $25 to $70,998, with a median of $5,000, and 96% of grant dollars went to Pennsylvania recipients. It accepts a letter of intent for review when the request fits its interests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.0M

Grants

68

Total Given

$710K

Vital Strategies Inc

New York, NY

Vital Strategies funds public health programs, including overdose prevention, tobacco and food policy, road safety, cancer registries, and public health data systems, often with government, community, and civil-society partners. Its 2024 grants ranged from $9,000 to $516,060, with a median of $77,500; it supports work in the U.S. and countries across Africa, Asia, Europe, and Latin America. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

International, Foreign Affairs & National Security

Assets

$114.3M

Grants

79

Total Given

$8.8M

Norman Raab Foundation

Seattle, WA

The Norman Raab Foundation funds education, health and research sciences, and human services, with 2025 grants reaching organizations in multiple states, especially California and Pennsylvania. Grants ranged from $500 to $75,000, with a median of $2,500. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests; applications are by invitation.

Assets

$34.4M

Grants

89

Total Given

$1.1M

Samuel Rosenblum Foundation

Bala Cynwyd, PA

Assets

$349K

Grants

6

Total Given

$11K

Foglia Family Foundation

Chicago, IL

The Foglia Family Foundation funds education, healthcare and community programs, with a stated focus on six Illinois counties and Collier County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to about $2.49 million, with a median of $50,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; proposals are by invitation only.

Assets

$26.4M

Grants

116

Total Given

$14.9M

Bunker Hill Charities

Crystal Lake, IL

Bunker Hill Charities supported program services in areas including disability and behavioral health services, youth development, education, cancer support, and community services, primarily in Northwestern Illinois and nearby areas. Its 2025 grants ranged from $11,250 to $40,100, with a median of $26,075; 95% of grant dollars went to Illinois and 5% to Florida. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and its 2025 filing is marked as its final return.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

—

Grants

11

Total Given

$281K

More Funders in Pennsylvania

Bucks County Drug & Alcohol Commission Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?