Bryan Fred a College Students Fund

Private foundation · Grantmaker Saint Louis, MO EIN: 35-6012911

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund is a private foundation, based in Saint Louis, MO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $213K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 4 grants totaling $7K. Net investment income was $13K.

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund at a glance

In short: Bryan Fred a College Students Fund gave $7K across 4 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Indiana. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$7,000
-30.0% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
4
+33.3% vs 2024
Average grant
$1,750
-47.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,000
Total assets
$213,488
+1.3% vs 2024
Primary geography
Indiana (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Bryan Fred a College Students Fund funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 4 recipients in 2025

Indiana University: $2KIndiana University$2KTrine University: $2KTrine University$2KPurdue University: $2KPurdue University$2KIndiana Wesleyan University: $1KIndiana Wesleyan University$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was Indiana University ($2K). Together the top 4 received $7K.

Grant Size Distribution

17 grants across all recorded years

17<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 17 grants of 17 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.

Cities

BloomingtonWest LafayetteDaytona BeachAngolaFort WayneIndianapolisMarionTerre HauteMuncieNew YorkNotre Dame

How Bryan Fred a College Students Fund gives

  • Giving fell 42% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 80% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K5 grants2019 5 grants2020 5 grants2021 1 grant2022 4 grants2023 3 grants2024 4 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $7K (2025) to $23K (2023). In 2025 it made 4 grants totaling $7K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Indiana University Bloomington, INScholarship$2,000
Trine University Angola, INScholarship$2,000
Purdue University West Lafayette, INScholarship$2,000
Indiana Wesleyan University Marion, INScholarship$1,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bryan Fred a College Students Fund?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$213,488$16,626$13,652$7,0004$10,087$13,201$12,593
2024$210,682$10,294$16,369$10,0003$13,218$6,979$12,133
2023$216,536$6,363$30,069$23,0004$27,097$3,963$23,494
2022$228,502$9,050$18,516$12,0001$14,876$5,837$14,244
2021$236,044$28,018$16,364$10,0005$12,820$24,504$15,431
2020$222,356$18,243$16,260$10,0005—$15,232$13,043
2019$219,060$21,494$15,763$10,0005—$18,472$11,343

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Bryan Fred a College Students Fund reported a distributable amount of $13K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's only listed officer is Wells Fargo Bank N A, Trustee on every filing since 2019 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Wells Fargo Bank N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2019) → $4K (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Wells Fargo Bank N a — Trustee: $4KWells Fargo Bank N aTrustee$4K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $4K, to Wells Fargo Bank N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Bryan Fred a College Students Fund

How much does Bryan Fred a College Students Fund give each year?

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund gave $7K across 4 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $10K across 3 grants.

What is Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's typical grant size?

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's median grant in 2025 was $2,000, and its average grant was $1,750, across 4 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Bryan Fred a College Students Fund give grants?

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund gives mostly in Indiana: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.

Does Bryan Fred a College Students Fund give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 4 grants with a stated purpose on Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (4 grants).

How large is Bryan Fred a College Students Fund?

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund reported $213K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $10K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $13K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's EIN?

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-6012911. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 3, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 4, 2026)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 5, 2021)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 11, 2022)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 9, 2023)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 19, 2024)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 6, 2025)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Missouri

Edward E Meyer Trust

Cincinnati, OH

Education

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

1

Total Given

$104K

The Robert D and Patricia E Kern Family Foundation Inc

Waukesha, WI

The Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Foundation supports initiatives that help young Americans flourish through character development, quality education, and an entrepreneurial mindset, with a focus on long-term, systemic impact. In 2024, grants ranged from $3,000 to $14.4 million, with a median of $46,250; recipients were based across the U.S., with the largest shares going to Colorado, Arizona, Wisconsin, Kansas, and Virginia. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$837.0M

Grants

108

Total Given

$66.5M

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges

Westerville, OH

The Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges primarily funds scholarships, financial aid, and campus programs at independent colleges and universities, including diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,083 to $185,371, with a median of $10,798, and most funding went to Ohio recipients. It offers an application route for campus grants; the profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other funding.

Education

Assets

$8.8M

Grants

90

Total Given

$2.8M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

The New York Community Trust

New York, NY

The New York Community Trust funds nonprofit programs in areas such as arts, education, health, the environment, workforce development, and youth development, including projects that improve services, build organizational capacity, or advance policy and systems change. Its competitive grants mainly serve New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some national and international environmental funding; the 2024 median grant was $20,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.5B

Grants

2,748

Total Given

$193.8M

Forum Credit Union Foundation Inc

Fishers, IN

The Forum Credit Union Foundation funds collegiate scholarships for eligible FORUM members and classroom-expense grants for eligible K–12 educators. Recent grants ranged from $450 to $30,000, with a median of $3,750; educator grants are capped at $3,000, and scholarships are typically $5,000 annually. Its educator grants serve six Indiana counties, while scholarships have broader reach; applications are accepted online through scheduled program windows.

Assets

$654K

Grants

26

Total Given

$162K

More similar funders

More Funders in Missouri

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Bryan Fred a College Students Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Bryan Fred a College Students Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?