Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Philadelphia, PA EIN: 85-1210071

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Philadelphia, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $307K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $18K. Net investment income was $13K.

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation at a glance

In short: Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation gave $18K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$18,000
+9.1% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
9
+125.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$2,000
-51.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,000
Total assets
$306,590
-4.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (67% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2025

Susan G Komen: $2KSusan G Komen$2KCure Alzheimer's Fund: $2KCure Alzheimer's Fund$2KUnited Way of Bucks County: $2KUnited Way of Bucks County$2KEastern Seals of Southeastern PA: $2KEastern Seals of SoutheasternPA$2KThe Ehlers Danlos Society: $2KThe Ehlers Danlos Society$2KPhilabundance: $2KPhilabundance$2KSettlement Music School of Philadel: $2KSettlement Music School ofPhiladel$2KPhiladelphia Boys and Girls Choirs: $2KPhiladelphia Boys and GirlsChoirs$2KCurtis Institute of Music: $2KCurtis Institute of Music$2K

The largest 2025 recipient was Susan G Komen ($2K). Together the top 9 received $18K.

Grant Size Distribution

19 grants across all recorded years

19<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 19 grants of 19 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

8states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

PhiladelphiaNew YorkAtlantaDallasFairless HillsGreencastleMemphisStudio CityWashingtonWellesleyWellesley HillsWynnewood

How Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 20% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 103% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K$20K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 2 grants2022 4 grants2023 4 grants2024 9 grants2025

From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $14K (2023) to $18K (2025). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $18K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Susan G Komen Dallas, TXgeneral support$2,000
Cure Alzheimer's Fund Wellesley, MAgeneral support$2,000
United Way of Bucks County Fairless Hills, PAgeneral support$2,000
Eastern Seals of Southeastern PA Philadelphia, PAgeneral support$2,000
The Ehlers Danlos Society New York, NYgeneral support$2,000
Philabundance Philadelphia, PAgeneral support$2,000
Settlement Music School of Philadel Philadelphia, PAgeneral support$2,000
Philadelphia Boys and Girls Choirs Philadelphia, PAgeneral support$2,000
Curtis Institute of Music Philadelphia, PAgeneral support$2,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$306,590$15,912$21,124$18,0009$18,000$12,788$17,515
2024$319,852$12,799$22,852$16,5004$19,900$11,568$16,499
2023$307,351$4,525$26,999$13,5004$20,249$865$15,195
2022$329,825$75,540$17,293$15,0002$16,147$5,006$12,576
2021$271,709$265,346$1,989———$396—

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $18K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Bruce R Hofmann Jr.

    Co-Trustee

    Trustee → Co-Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert L Hofmann

    Co-Trustee

    Trustee → Co-Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • William C Hofmann

    Co-Trustee

    Trustee → Co-Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation

How much does Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation give each year?

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation gave $18K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $17K across 4 grants.

What is Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $2,000, and its average grant was $2,000, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation give grants?

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 67% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Texas (11%) and Massachusetts (11%). The most frequent recipient cities were Philadelphia, PA (5 grants).

Does Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (9 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Susan G Komen ($2,000), Cure Alzheimer's Fund ($2,000) and United Way of Bucks County ($2,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 33% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation?

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation reported $307K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $18K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $18K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's EIN?

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 85-1210071. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 14, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 13, 2024)
  4. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 7, 2026)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

Lindback CR & MF Foundation TW Main

Saint Louis, MO

The foundation funds education and assistance for distressed individuals through charitable organizations, with discretionary grants focused on Greater Philadelphia, including South Jersey. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $360,500, with a median of $2,500. It makes contributions only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$24.6M

Grants

174

Total Given

$946K

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

The Philadelphia Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The Philadelphia Foundation supports economic mobility and other community needs through grants to nonprofits, including workforce development, direct services, and initiatives addressing urgent regional challenges. In 2024, its median grant was $25,500, and its primary service area is Greater Philadelphia; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$704.6M

Grants

715

Total Given

$39.1M

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds nonprofits working in basic needs, equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, with most opportunities for organizations in Allegheny County or primarily serving its residents. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of about $18,600, though awards varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Bruce R Hofmann Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?