Black Dog Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Cincinnati, OH EIN: 46-4361491

Black Dog Foundation Inc is a private foundation, based in Cincinnati, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $35K in total assets.

Black Dog Foundation Inc at a glance

Total assets
$34,789
-0.2% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$72
-93.4% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Black Dog Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

7 grants across all recorded years

7<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 7 grants of 7 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

10states
+2 more states

Cities

DenverWashingtonBlue AshNewtonSilverthorneAmericusArvadaBethesdaBloomfieldBreckenridgeBurlingtonCochrantonHamiltonLakewoodPlymouthSan Francisco

How Black Dog Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 330% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2023 it paid out 3% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K15 grants2019 6 grants2020 1 grant2021 2 grants2022 1 grant2023 3 grants2024 0 grants2025

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $50 (2023) to $10K (2019). In 2024 it made 3 grants totaling $1K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Friends of the Lower Blue River Silverthorne, COGeneral$500
Mile High Lab Mission Bloomfield, COCharitable$500
Sierra Club Foundation San Francisco, CAGeneral$75
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Black Dog Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsDistributable Amount
2025$34,789—$72————
2024$34,861$110$1,099$1,0753$1,075—
2023$35,850$612$72$501$50$1,752
2022$35,310—$1,500$1,5002$1,500$1,776
2021$36,810—$250$2501$250$1,813
2020$37,060—$1,359$1,3596—$1,860
2019$38,419—$10,055$10,05515—$1,970

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Black Dog Foundation Inc's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Ellen M. Yeiser

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James H. Brun

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Black Dog Foundation Inc

How large is Black Dog Foundation Inc?

Black Dog Foundation Inc reported $35K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Black Dog Foundation Inc operate?

Black Dog Foundation Inc has awarded grants in California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Indiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Vermont.

What is Black Dog Foundation Inc's EIN?

Black Dog Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-4361491. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 30, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 30, 2026)
  3. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 12, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 10, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 8, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 6, 2024)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Black Dog Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Ohio

Colorado Gives Foundation

Arvada, CO

Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County in areas including food security, early care and education, workforce development, housing, health and convenient neighborhoods; it also offers statewide nonprofit capacity-building support. Typical giving varies widely: its 2024 median grant was $17,814, while Thriving Jeffco Responsive Grant awards ranged from $2,500 to $100,000. It accepts applications through listed grant opportunities, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$527.1M

Grants

2,211

Total Given

$91.0M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Black Dog Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Black Dog Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?