Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation
The Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation is a private foundation based in Charleston, South Carolina. Its 2024 filing reports 16 grants totaling $349,985, primarily to organizations in South Carolina, with additional grants to recipients in Georgia, Washington, DC, California, and Alabama.
Key facts about Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation
In short: Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation gave $350K across 16 grants in 2024 (avg $22K), mostly in South Carolina. 6% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-6069721
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $349,985
- Grants made (2024)
- 16
- Average grant
- $21,874
- Median grant
- $6,500
- New grantees (estimate)
- 6% first-time grantees (1 of 16, 2024)
- Total assets
- $1,741,883
- Primary geography
- South Carolina (87% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.7M
-5.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$350K
+6.2% YoY
Grant Count
16
+77.8% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$22K
-40.2% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation reported a distributable amount of $392K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation open to new grantees?
6%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 1 of 16 grantees (6%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $30K; repeat grants $21K. How we count
Medians: $30K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 50% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−17%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out 89% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants included organizations whose stated missions address legal services for people with low incomes, affordable housing for older adults and people with disabilities, Jewish community life, girls’ social-emotional development, and social justice.
For example, Pro Bono Legal Services Inc says it works with local attorneys to provide legal services to poor and indigent people in the Charleston area. JCC Housing says it provides decent, safe, and affordable housing for older adults and people with disabilities. The Charleston Jewish Federation says its mission is to build, secure, and sustain Jewish life in Charleston, Israel, and around the world. Girls on the Run Georgia says it empowers girls with social-emotional skills, while The Charis Circle says it fosters sustainable feminist communities and works for social justice and the expression of diverse and marginalized voices.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 16 grants totaling $349,985. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $196,485, with a median of $6,500.
Ready to take the next step with Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, 87% of grant dollars went to recipients in South Carolina, 9% to Georgia, 3% to Washington, DC, 1% to California, and 1% to Alabama.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 16 itemized 2024 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $271K (2020) to $421K (2021). In 2024 it made 16 grants totaling $350K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Pro Bono Leagal Services Inc ($196K). Together the top 10 received $336K.
Grant Size Distribution
90 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 84 grants of 90 (93%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Pro Bono Leagal Services Inc Charleston, SC | Unrestricted | $196,485 |
| JCC Housing Corp Charleston, SC | Unrestricted | $35,000 |
| Jewish Endowment Foundation North Charleston, SC | Unrestricted | $30,000 |
| Girls on the Run Inc Atlanta, GA | Unrestricted | $15,000 |
| The Charis Circle Inc Atlanta, GA | Unrestricted | $15,000 |
| Charleston Jewish Federation Charleston, SC | Unrestricted | $15,000 |
| Bsbi Synagogue Charleston, SC | Unrestricted | $12,000 |
| Jewish Family Services of Greater Charle Charleston, SC | Unrestricted | $8,000 |
| US Holocaust Memorial Museum Washington, DC | Unrestricted | $5,000 |
| Simon Wiesenthal Center Los Angeles, CA | Unrestricted | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $1,741,883 | $295,337 | $388,439 | $349,985 |
| 2023 | $1,839,393 | $301,318 | $354,716 | $329,400 |
| 2022 | $1,769,975 | $339,881 | $422,704 | $387,000 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,741,883 | $1,839,393 | $1,769,975 |
| Revenue | $295,337 | $301,318 | $339,881 |
| Expenses | $388,439 | $354,716 | $422,704 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $349,985 | $329,400 | $387,000 |
| Net Investment Income | $92,146 | $71,283 | $19,082 |
| Distributable Amount | $392,194 | — | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The foundation’s 2024 filing lists Gerald A. Kaynard and Mary Williams as trustees.
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's 2024 filing lists 2 officers; all 2 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Gerald A. Kaynard
Trustee
On filings since 2020
3 hrs/week
$13K (2020) → $26K (2024)
Mary Williams
Trustee
On filings since 2020
3 hrs/week
$20K (2020) → $10K (2024)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $26K, to Gerald a Kaynard (Trustee). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 122 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone: (843) 810-8017
Frequently asked questions about Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation
How much does Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation give each year?
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation gave $350K across 16 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $329K across 9 grants.
What is Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's typical grant size?
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $6,500, and its average grant was $21,874, across 16 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation that year got $30K on average.
Where does Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation give grants?
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation gives mostly in South Carolina: 87% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Georgia (9%). The most frequent recipient cities were Charleston, SC (8 grants), Washington, DC (3 grants) and Atlanta, GA (2 grants).
Does Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (16 of 16) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's largest grantees?
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Pro Bono Leagal Services Inc ($196,485), JCC Housing Corp ($35,000) and Jewish Endowment Foundation ($30,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 75% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation?
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation reported $1.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $350K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $392K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's EIN?
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-6069721. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Coastal Community Foundation of South
N Charleston, SC
The Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina funds nonprofits through competitive grants for areas including education, health, community development, arts, and human needs. Its 2024 grants had a median of $16,500, with awards ranging from $5,057 to $2.3 million, across nine coastal South Carolina counties. It accepts applications only for listed competitive programs, through its online portal.
Assets
$435.6M
Grants
459
Total Given
$26.0M
Henry & Sylvia Yaschik Foundation Inc
Charleston, SC
The foundation supports specific projects and programs of qualified 501(c)(3) charities serving the greater Charleston, South Carolina, area, across secular and Jewish, health, education, conservation, and other charitable work. Grants typically range from $1,000 to $50,500, with a 2024 median of $5,000. It accepts applications; the 2026 application period ended April 30, and the foundation says to check back in February 2027 for the next period.
Assets
$10.7M
Grants
97
Total Given
$845K
Duke Energy Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.
Assets
$1.9M
Grants
41
Total Given
$25.6M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Central Carolina Community
Columbia, SC
Central Carolina Community funds education, human services, health, arts and culture, community development, disaster relief, and nonprofit capacity-building, primarily in the 11-county Midlands region of South Carolina, with some statewide and national grantmaking. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000; eligible nonprofits may apply through the online portal during published grant periods, though some opportunities are invitation-only.
Assets
$264.3M
Grants
488
Total Given
$26.5M
Community Foundation
Greenville, SC
Community Foundation of Greenville funds nonprofits and projects in arts, education, environment, health, and human services, with a focus on Greenville County, South Carolina. Its 2026 Capacity Building Grants award $5,000–$12,500; 2024 grants had a median of $23,900. It accepts unsolicited requests through its Capacity Building Grants program.
Assets
$118.8M
Grants
346
Total Given
$26.4M
South Carolina Christian Foundation
Spartanburg, SC
The foundation funds Christian ministries, churches, and quality-of-life organizations, with particular attention through its Community Trust Grants to Christian nonprofits in five South Carolina counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, though awards varied widely; most grant dollars went to South Carolina, with additional funding in other states. Community Trust applicants must submit a Ministry Introduction Form and be invited to apply; the profile does not state whether other requests are unsolicited.
Assets
$45.4M
Grants
285
Total Given
$11.6M
United Community Bank Foundation
Greenville, SC
United Community Bank Foundation funds economic empowerment, arts, housing and youth development in communities served across Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $16,000, with a median of $2,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; grants go to preselected organizations.
Assets
$12.6M
Grants
235
Total Given
$505K
Spartanburg County Foundation
Spartanburg, SC
The Spartanburg County Foundation funds nonprofits serving Spartanburg County residents, especially work advancing quality of life, education, economic mobility, and nonprofit capacity. Itemized grants had a median award of $15,500, though amounts varied widely; the information provided does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$280.4M
Grants
227
Total Given
$19.0M
Community Foundation of the Lowcountry
Hilton Head Island, SC
The Community Foundation of the Lowcountry funds nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, human services, arts, environment, animal welfare, and community development in Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper Counties, South Carolina; its Impact Grants have a narrower service area. Grants vary widely: the 2025 median was $15,000, with awards from $5,000 to over $1.2 million. It accepts requests through grant programs that begin with a Grant Inquiry Form.
Assets
$99.7M
Grants
193
Total Given
$9.4M
Comporium Foundation Inc
Rock Hill, SC
Comporium Foundation supports education, community welfare, civic activity, health, economic development, trails, and religious organizations, primarily in South Carolina and North Carolina. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $70,000, with a median of $3,625. It does not accept unsolicited requests and contributes only to preselected charitable organizations.
Assets
$20.6M
Grants
122
Total Given
$1.1M
Gods Goods Mt Pleasant
Mt Pleasant, SC
GODS GOODS MT PLEASANT supports preselected charities working in areas such as Christian education and ministry, community development, and services for people facing poverty or abuse. Its 2025 grants ranged from $750 to $10,000, with a median of $5,000; most funding went to South Carolina, with smaller amounts awarded in several other states. It does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$201K
Grants
105
Total Given
$467K
More Funders in South Carolina
Bill Jennie & Harry Ackerman Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?