Arizona Food Bank Network

Public charity · Grantmaker Phoenix, AZ EIN: 86-0507679

Arizona Food Bank Network (AzFBN) is a Phoenix-based public charity and coalition that supports food banks and hunger-relief partners across Arizona. It describes itself as not a food bank itself, but as an organization that coordinates food donations and transportation, provides resources and education, and works with food banks, agencies, schools, government, and community partners.

Arizona Food Bank Network at a glance

In short: Arizona Food Bank Network gave $40K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $13K), mostly in Arizona. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$39,750
-95.3% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
3
-95.7% vs 2024
Average grant
$13,250
+8.0% vs 2024
Median grant
$15,750
Total assets
$9,084,748
-6.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Arizona (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to Arizona Food Bank Network

How to Apply

The website’s COVID Recovery Grant is closed and does not provide a current application process.

Review Cycle
The Fall 2022 application period was September 1–30, 2022, and is past. That cycle required proof of nonprofit status, a recent W-9, and an operating budget if applicable. For equipment or capital assets costing $5,000 or more, the grant-quotes page requests three estimates from separate vendors.
Deadline
The Fall 2022 application period was September 1–30, 2022, and is past.
Contact

Mailing address: 340 E Coronado Rd Ste 400, Phoenix, AZ 85004-1524
Phone: (602) 528-3434

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Arizona Food Bank Network funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2025

Community Food Bank of Southern Ari: $16KCommunity Food Bank ofSouthern Ari$16KSt Mary's Food Bank Alliance: $16KSt Mary's Food Bank Alliance$16KYuma Community Food Bank: $8KYuma Community Food Bank$8K

The largest 2025 recipient was Community Food Bank of Southern Ari ($16K). Together the top 3 received $40K.

Grant Size Distribution

468 grants across all recorded years

418<$50K24$50–100K24$100–250K2$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 418 grants of 468 (89%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

AzFBN’s website describes its member network as serving all 15 Arizona counties. Its 2026 legislative playbook names Yuma Community Food Bank, St. Mary’s Food Bank, Community Food Bank of Southern Arizona, United Food Bank, and Desert Mission Food Bank as members. The 2020 recipient examples are Arizona organizations in Phoenix, Douglas, Chandler, Flagstaff, Sahuarita, and Tucson.

Grant Distribution by State

5states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

Cities

PhoenixTucsonMesaChandlerCottonwoodTempeFlagstaffYumaBisbeeApache JunctionGilbertGlendaleScottsdaleBuckeyeCave CreekCASA GrandeSierra VistaWittmannGlobeMaricopa

How Arizona Food Bank Network gives

  • Giving fell 99% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M71 grants2019 95 grants2020 133 grants2021 174 grants2022 89 grants2023 69 grants2024 3 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $40K (2025) to $4.5M (2022). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $40K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Community Food Bank of Southern Ari Tucson, AZFeeding America Wast$15,750
St Mary's Food Bank Alliance Phoenix, AZFeeding America Wast$15,750
Yuma Community Food Bank Yuma, AZFeeding America Wast$8,250
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Arizona Food Bank Network?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$9,084,748$93,032,982$94,014,622$39,7503$89,986
2024$9,731,099$78,092,603$78,717,852$846,19669$148,651
2023$8,377,857$68,647,797$68,236,825$908,10989$65,492
2022$7,535,434$12,101,730$11,363,577$4,519,613174$36,820
2021$6,149,327$10,515,481$8,629,259$4,516,612133$3,937
2020$4,012,975$4,496,364$3,366,023$885,11695$64,245
2019$2,680,769$2,489,562$3,147,768$817,57871$1,405

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

AzFBN’s stated mission is to “develop solutions to end hunger through food banking, public policy and innovation.” Its programs include transporting and sourcing food for member food banks; produce rescue; support for access to school meals, rural summer food, and college campus pantries; work with tribally led committees on food sovereignty and traditional food systems; and advocacy related to nutrition and emergency food programs. The organization also describes a job-training program in Rio Rico that prepares local residents for work in the produce industry.

Past recipients listed include Douglas Area Food Bank, whose stated mission is to distribute food to people less fortunate; Flagstaff Family Food Center, which describes its mission as “neighbors feeding neighbors, every day”; and Sahuarita Food Bank, whose mission includes feeding people in its community through education, advocacy, and food acquisition, storage, and distribution. Other listed recipients include Neighborhood Ministries, AZCEND, Black Family and Child Services, Foundation for Senior Living, and Interfaith Community Services. Their stated missions include serving distressed urban Phoenix families, nourishing neighbors in need, supporting children and families, helping people age independently, and providing pathways to greater stability and self-sufficiency.

Grantmaking

The available recipient examples are from 2020: Neighborhood Ministries received $12,500; Douglas Area Food Bank received $10,000; AZCEND received $10,000; Black Family and Child Services received $10,000; Flagstaff Family Food Center received $10,000; Foundation for Senior Living received $10,000; Sahuarita Food Bank received $10,000; and Interfaith Community Services received $10,000.

IRS filing data lists a grant count of zero for 2023, 2024, and 2025. Separately, the organization’s 2024 filing states that it awarded unrestricted funds to other agencies in FY 2024–2025 and did not monitor how those agencies used the funds.

AzFBN’s website says its COVID Recovery Grant is closed. The Fall 2022 cycle was open to 501(c)(3) nonprofits and schools with an existing partnership with one of the named food bank partners. The website described eligible uses including operating expenses, food, equipment, vehicles, facility repairs, and capital assets; awarded funds could not reimburse expenses already incurred or be paid to a government entity or public utility.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists April Bradham as president; Terri Shoemaker as executive vice president; David Detmer as vice president of supply; Sewit Ghermay as controller; and Don Adams as secretary/treasurer. It also lists Mark Casey, Mike Dashiell, Christina Groth, Patrick Howley, and Chris Janick as directors.

Arizona Food Bank Network is led by April Bradham, President on every filing since 2023; 4 of 19 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • April Bradham

    President

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $123K (2023) → $170K (2025)

  • Edgar Lopez

    Board Chair

    Secretary → Board Vice C, 2023

    Board Vice C → Board Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Casey

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick Howley

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Chris Janick

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christina Groth

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jason Reed

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mike Suriano

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Haeli Miceli

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kendall Taylor

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Milton Liu

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Paul Miller

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cecilia Nieto

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mike Dashiell

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terri Shoemaker

    Executive Vice President

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $122K (2023) → $139K (2025)

  • David Detmer

    Vice President of Supply

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $121K (2025)

  • Sewit Ghermay

    Controller

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $53K (2025)

  • Don Adams

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shara Whitehead

    Board Vice C

    Director → Board Vice C, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (12)
  • Former: Malea Chavez (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Angela Rodgers (2019–2023) — Past President
  • Former: Sue Sadecki (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Tom Kertis (2019–2023) — Board Chair
  • Former: Brian Winston (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Dave Richins (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: David J. Armstrong (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Kim Larkin (2019–2022) — Board Chair
  • Former: Michael McDonald (2019–2022) — Immediate Pa
  • Former: Isabel Garcia (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Karina Gray (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Shara Merten (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

April Bradham — President /: $170KApril BradhamPresident /$170KTerri Shoemaker — Executive VP: $139KTerri ShoemakerExecutive VP$139KDavid Detmer — VP of Supply: $121KDavid DetmerVP of Supply$121KSewit Ghermay — Controller: $53KSewit GhermayController$53K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $170K, to April Bradham (President /). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Arizona Food Bank Network

How much does Arizona Food Bank Network give each year?

Arizona Food Bank Network gave $40K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $846K across 69 grants.

What is Arizona Food Bank Network's typical grant size?

Arizona Food Bank Network's median grant in 2025 was $15,750, and its average grant was $13,250, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Arizona Food Bank Network give grants?

Arizona Food Bank Network gives mostly in Arizona: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there.

Does Arizona Food Bank Network give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Arizona Food Bank Network's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Feeding America Wast" (3 grants).

How large is Arizona Food Bank Network?

Arizona Food Bank Network reported $9.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $93.0M.

What does Arizona Food Bank Network fund?

AzFBN’s stated mission is to “develop solutions to end hunger through food banking, public policy and innovation.” See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Arizona Food Bank Network?

The website’s COVID Recovery Grant is closed and does not provide a current application process. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Arizona Food Bank Network's EIN?

Arizona Food Bank Network's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 86-0507679. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 7, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 12, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS March 14, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS December 14, 2022)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 18, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS December 9, 2024)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS October 24, 2025)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Live grants for the work Arizona Food Bank Network funds

Food, Agriculture & Nutrition Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Arizona Food Bank Network's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

United Way of Yavapai County Inc

Prescott, AZ

Unite people, organizations and resources to improve lives and build strong communities throughout Yavapai county.

Assets

$3.9M

Grants

4

Total Given

$42K

The Diane and Bruce Halle Foundation

Scottsdale, AZ

The Diane and Bruce Halle Foundation funds human services, health and medical care, education, arts and culture, and spirituality, primarily in Arizona; applicants generally must be Arizona-based and direct most services and requested funding to the state. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $2.7 million, with a median award of $100,000. The profile describes an eligibility quiz and LOI process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$16K

Grants

138

Total Given

$47.7M

Arizona Community Foundation

Phoenix, AZ

Arizona Community Foundation funds nonprofits, schools, tribal entities, government agencies, and most religious organizations in areas including arts and culture, community development, the environment, health, and education. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,760; most funding goes to Arizona, though it also awards grants nationally. Competitive grants require an online application during an open cycle; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,174

Total Given

$92.9M

William & Ruth Pendleton Memorial Fund

Milwaukee, WI

The fund supports qualified organizations formed and operated in Arizona, especially those serving children and older adults, including programs in arts, literacy, foster care, and aging services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $25,000, with a median of $3,000. Applications should be obtained from the trustee; the fund does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$2.8M

Grants

43

Total Given

$166K

Del E Webb Foundation

Prescott, AZ

The Del E. Webb Foundation funds sustainable, results-focused community projects in healthcare, youth, and broader social needs, supporting nonprofits based in Arizona, California, or Nevada whose services and grant-funded work are in those states. Awards generally range from $5,000 to $3 million; its 2025 median grant was $54,000. It accepts letters of intent without a deadline, and applicants may submit a full application only if invited.

Assets

$98.1M

Grants

51

Total Given

$3.9M

Burton Family Foundation

Phoenix, AZ

The Burton Family Foundation funds Arizona nonprofits working in youth, education, human services, and nonprofit capacity-building, with priority for high-need and underserved groups; most of its giving goes to Arizona. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,500 to $1.06 million, with a median of $25,000. It reviews Letters of Intent and invites selected applicants to continue; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$132.9M

Grants

148

Total Given

$10.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Arizona

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Arizona Food Bank Network's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Arizona Food Bank Network down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?