The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation based in Owings Mills, Maryland. In filing year 2025, it reported 39 grants totaling $1,133,687, with 94% of grant dollars going to recipients in Maryland.
Key facts about The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc
In short: The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc gave $1.1M across 39 grants in 2025 (avg $29K), mostly in Maryland. 21% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 26-1313395
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $1,133,687
- Grants made (2025)
- 39
- Average grant
- $29,069
- Median grant
- $18,737
- New grantees (estimate)
- 21% first-time grantees (8 of 39, 2025)
- Total assets
- $21,180,764
- Primary geography
- Maryland (94% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The 2024 filing names Thomas F O'Neil Jr as the contact. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- None stated.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$21.2M
+5.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$1.1M
+0.5% YoY
Grant Count
39
-11.4% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$29K
+13.3% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $1.4M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc open to new grantees?
21%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 8 of 39 grantees (21%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $11K; repeat grants $34K. How we count
Medians: $8K first-time, $20K repeat.
- 69% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+12%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 79% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. The organizations it supports describe a range of charitable work. For example, Next One Up Foundation says it supports young men in Baltimore City in their academic, athletic, and social development; The Family Tree says it works to prevent child abuse and strengthen families; and Women’s Education Alliance says it provides scholarships and school support services for economically disadvantaged students attending Catholic community schools in Baltimore City.
Other 2025 recipients include organizations whose stated work includes ending the intergenerational cycle of child abuse, neglect, and trauma (NW Children’s Foundation); improving independence and quality of life for people with disabilities (The League for People with Disabilities); and providing emotional and financial support to local cancer patients and their families (Bringing Hope Home).
Grantmaking
In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 39 grants totaling $1,133,687. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $100,000, with a median of $18,737. Recent large grants included $100,000 each to Mercy High School, Next One Up Foundation, and The First Tee of Baltimore; $92,500 to The Loyola School; and $75,000 each to Jemicy School, Loyola Blakefield, and Saint Ignatius Loyola Academy.
Review Cycle
None stated.
Ready to take the next step with The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In filing year 2025, 94% of grant dollars went to recipients in Maryland, 3% to Washington, and 1% each to Pennsylvania, the District of Columbia, and Massachusetts.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 39 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.0M (2022) to $1.3M (2023). In 2025 it made 39 grants totaling $1.1M.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Mercy High School ($100K). Together the top 10 received $748K.
Grant Size Distribution
187 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 145 grants of 187 (78%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mercy High School Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $100,000 |
| Next One up Foundation Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $100,000 |
| The First Tee of Baltimore Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $100,000 |
| The Loyola School Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $92,500 |
| Jemicy School Owing Mills, MD | Charitable | $75,000 |
| Loyola Blakefield Towson, MD | Charitable | $75,000 |
| Saint Ignatius Loyola Academy Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $75,000 |
| Archdiocese of Baltimore Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $50,000 |
| The Family Tree Baltimore, MD | Charitable | $50,000 |
| Church of the Nativity Lutherville, MD | Charitable | $30,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grant sum | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $21,180,764 | $2,211,517 | $1,166,270 | $1,133,687 | 39 |
| 2024 | $20,135,517 | $2,510,972 | $1,141,655 | $1,128,597 | 44 |
| 2023 | $18,544,540 | $676,085 | $1,369,104 | $1,331,523 | 35 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $21,180,764 | $20,135,517 | $18,544,540 |
| Revenue | $2,211,517 | $2,510,972 | $676,085 |
| Expenses | $1,166,270 | $1,141,655 | $1,369,104 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $1,137,049 | $1,131,939 | $1,334,850 |
| Net Investment Income | $1,233,936 | $2,201,256 | $170,948 |
| Distributable Amount | $1,442,254 | $1,292,373 | $1,155,661 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists these directors: Thomas F O'Neil Jr, Pamela B O'Neil, Thomas F O'Neil III, Stephen B O'Neil, and Michael N O'Neil.
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Michael N. O'Neil
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Pamela B. O'Neil
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephen B. O'Neil
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas F. O'Neil III
Director
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Thomas F. O'Neil Jr.
Director
On filings since 2021
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Application contact: Thomas F O'Neil Jr
Mailing address: 11325 John Carroll Rd, Owings Mills, MD 21117
Phone: (410) 837-2544
Email: n/a
Frequently asked questions about The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc
How much does The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc give each year?
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc gave $1.1M across 39 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1.1M across 44 grants.
What is The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $18,737, and its average grant was $29,069, across 39 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc that year got $11K on average.
Where does The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc give grants?
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc gives mostly in Maryland: 94% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Baltimore, MD (20 grants), Brooklandville, MD (3 grants), Towson, MD (2 grants) and Lutherville, MD (2 grants).
Does The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 39 grants with a stated purpose on The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (39 grants).
Who are The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's largest grantees?
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Mercy High School ($100,000), Next One up Foundation ($100,000) and The First Tee of Baltimore ($100,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 26% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc?
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc reported $21.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.4M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. The organizations it supports describe a range of charitable work. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc?
The 2024 filing names Thomas F O'Neil Jr as the contact. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's EIN?
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 26-1313395. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Maryland
Baltimore Community Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Community Foundation funds stronger schools and neighborhoods, including kindergarten readiness, student mental health, school climate, neighborhood improvement, and community development, primarily in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. In 2024 it made 604 grants totaling $29.3 million, with a median grant of about $19,800. It accepts applications for certain programs through its online portal.
Assets
$314.3M
Grants
604
Total Given
$29.3M
The United Way of Central Maryland Inc
Baltimore, MD
The United Way of Central Maryland funds nonprofits and community projects focused on basic needs and family stability, including housing, education, health, and economic advancement. Its grants vary widely; the 2025 median was about $15,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $462,000. It serves Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard counties; the provided information does not clearly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$51.1M
Grants
216
Total Given
$10.6M
Brown Advisory Charitable Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The foundation supports program work in higher education, health care, education and job training, human services, the arts, and community-based efforts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $387,250, with a median of $2,500; funding was concentrated in Maryland and South Carolina. It accepts requests from organizations beyond a preselected list, and the filing says awards are geographically restricted but does not specify the boundaries.
Assets
$5.3M
Grants
157
Total Given
$3.3M
T Rowe Price Foundation
Baltimore, MD
The T. Rowe Price Foundation supports financial well-being and thriving communities, including financial education, youth development, arts and culture, and community leaders and institutions. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, with awards ranging from $1,000 to $5.5 million; it focuses on Baltimore, Colorado Springs, San Francisco, and New York, with grants also reported in Delaware. It reviews unsolicited requests through an inquiry process, but most grants are by invitation and there is no open application process.
Assets
$93.3M
Grants
249
Total Given
$11.7M
The Marion I & Henry J Knott
Baltimore, MD
The foundation funds arts and humanities, Catholic activities, education, health care, and human services, with a focus on strengthening communities in the Archdiocese of Baltimore, including Baltimore City and parts of Maryland. General Fund awards have a median of $45,000; rolling discretionary grants are $500–$2,500. It accepts unsolicited requests through its General Fund letter-of-inquiry process during open cycles.
Assets
$85.3M
Grants
100
Total Given
$2.2M
Annie E Casey Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.3B
Grants
1,462
Total Given
$93.1M
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg
Owings Mills, MD
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.8B
Grants
872
Total Given
$127.8M
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, clinical practice, and related programs, with many large awards listed as sub-awards; its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000. Grants went mainly to recipients in California and Maryland, among other states, but no geographic restriction or policy on unsolicited requests is stated.
Assets
$25.3B
Grants
813
Total Given
$594.1M
The Keith Campbell Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Keith Campbell Foundation funds environmental work and more equitable, livable communities, including watershed advocacy, agriculture, drinking water, and water management, with a focus on California and the Chesapeake region and select counties in Maryland and Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests through two grant cycles each year, though prior grantees cannot apply through that process.
Assets
$420.2M
Grants
688
Total Given
$27.9M
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related community and patient-support programs, primarily through opportunities for academic and industry investigators. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,800 to $12.9 million, with a median grant of about $150,000; the profile does not specify a geographic limit or whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.0B
Grants
624
Total Given
$189.6M
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports charitable, educational, religious, health, cultural, humanitarian, and social-service needs of the Jewish community locally, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15,250,570, with a median of $18,750. The information describes grant recommendations by current fundholders but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$446.7M
Grants
515
Total Given
$53.0M
More Funders in Maryland
The O'Neil Family Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?