The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler and Volusia Counties, Inc. (ELCFV) is a public charity based in Daytona Beach, Florida. It administers School Readiness and Voluntary Prekindergarten programs in Flagler and Volusia counties, connecting families with child care, supporting early learning providers, and helping children prepare for school and life.
Key facts about The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler
In short: The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler gave $7K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Florida. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.
- EIN
- 59-3646549
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $6,750
- Grants made (2025)
- 1
- Average grant
- $6,750
- Median grant
- $6,750
- Total assets
- $4,650,085
- Primary geography
- Florida (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing
Total Assets
$4.7M
-12.7% YoY
Annual Giving
$7K
-99.8% YoY
Grant Count
1
-99.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
-75.3% YoY
How The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler gives
- Giving fell 100% from 2022 to 2025. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The organization’s mission, stated in its 2024 filing, is “to create and cultivate learning opportunities that empower children and families to thrive.”
Its School Readiness program aims to prepare children for school, help providers offer high-quality programs, and involve parents in their children’s early education. The 2024 filing reports that the program served 6,048 children ages birth to 13 through 169 contracted providers in Flagler and Volusia counties. The filing also describes VPK as preparing children to learn when they enter kindergarten; that year, 4,082 four-year-olds received free prekindergarten through 192 contracted providers.
Other activities reported in the 2024 filing include child screenings and assessments, provider training, and Child Care Resource & Referral services. The filing reports 6,439 developmental and social-emotional screenings, 43 advanced speech and language screenings, and 282 hours of provider training.
Grantmaking
The 2025 filing reports one grant totaling $6,750, with a median grant of $6,750. The recipient was Learning Beyond Paper of West Palm Beach, Florida; the stated purpose was training materials. For comparison, the 2024 filing reports 142 grants totaling $3,874,702, and the 2023 filing reports 186 grants totaling $28,832,552.
Ready to take the next step with The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The coalition’s programs serve Flagler and Volusia counties in Florida. The 2025 filing’s single reported grant went to a recipient in Florida.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $7K (2025) to $28.8M (2023). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $7K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Learning Beyond Paper ($7K).
Grant Size Distribution
699 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 437 grants of 699 (63%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Learning Beyond Paper West Palm Beach, FL | Training Materials | $6,750 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants reported |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $4,650,085 | $44,996,331 | $45,026,256 | $6,750 (1 grant) |
| 2024 | $5,327,647 | $54,834,328 | $54,877,133 | $3,874,702 (142 grants) |
| 2023 | $4,883,598 | $76,179,421 | $76,140,577 | $28,832,552 (186 grants) |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $4,650,085 | $5,327,647 | $4,883,598 |
| Revenue | $44,996,331 | $54,834,328 | $76,179,421 |
| Expenses | $45,026,256 | $54,877,133 | $76,140,577 |
| Net Investment Income | $47,925 | $51,976 | $29,174 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 27, 2020)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The coalition’s website identifies DJ Lebo as chief executive officer, Heather DiRenzo as chief operating officer, and Allison Miller as chief program officer. Its 2025 filing lists John Birney as interim chair, Jennifer Overley as vice chair, Charles Puckett as treasurer, and Paul Schandel as secretary. The filing also lists Beverly Johnson as quality committee chair and Carol Court, Pat Patterson, John Endara, Valerie Uy, and Jeff Reaves as board members.
The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler is led by Dj Lebo, Chief Executive Officer on every filing since 2019; 7 of 27 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Dj Lebo
Chief Executive Officer
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$97K (2019) → $161K (2025)
John Birney
Interim Chair
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Beverly Johnson
Quality Committee Chair
Board Member → Quality Committee Chair-Start, 2023
Quality Committee Chair-Start → Quality Committee Chair, 2024
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Melanie Barclay
Director of Administrator Services
Director of Finance → Director of Budget & Audit Services, 2023
Director of Budget & Audit Services → Director of Administrator Services, 2025
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$60K (2019) → $84K (2025)
Leonardo Almanza
Director of Financial Services
Director of Business Services → Director of Financial Services, 2025
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
$10K (2023) → $84K (2025)
Heather Direnzo
Chief Operating Officer
On filings since 2019
40 hrs/week
$79K (2019) → $113K (2025)
Sandra Emery
Board Member
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
$2K (2025)
Kassandra Helland
Board Member
Board Member From → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
$2K (2025)
Allison Miller
Chief Program Officer
New on the 2025 filing
40 hrs/week
$99K (2025)
Andy Dance
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
John Endara
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kristen Perry
Board Member
Treasurer → Board Member From, 2024
Board Member From → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Pat Patterson
Board Member
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Carol Court
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Donald Obrien
Board Member
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jennifer Overley
Vice Chair
Vice Chair → Vice Chair From, 2024
Vice Chair From → Vice Chair, 2025
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Paul Schandel
Secretary
Board Member → Secretary, 2021
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Charles Puckett
Treasurer
Board Member → Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Valerie Uy
Board Member
Board Member - Start → Board Member, 2024
On filings since 2023
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeff Reaves
Board Member
Board Member From → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rabecka Collins
Board Member
Board Member From → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Roosevelt Harris
Board Member
Board Member From → Board Member, 2025
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephen Civitelli
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tanya Stanton
Board Member
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ashley Ziemann
Board Member From
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kim Carney
Board Member From
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Pamela Masters
Board Member From
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (30)
- Former: Catherine Twyman (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Dmitriy Shevchenko (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Joel Rosen (2019–2023) — Board Member -
- Former: Piroska Pazaurek (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Robert Snyder (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Roger Thayer (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Sharlene Barhoo (2019–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Shane Carter (2020–2023) — Board Member
- Former: Dona Butler (2022–2023) — Board Member -
- Former: Desiree Rybinski (2023) — Board Member -
- Former: Jessica Duncan (2023) — Board Member - Start
- Former: Alex Szinegh (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Heidi Rand (2019–2022) — Vice Chair
- Former: Jenn Hale (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Patricia Boswell (2019–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Nancy Rizzo (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Wendy Reaves (2022) — Board Member
- Former: Janine Killmer (2020–2021) — Board Member
- Former: Barry Whitaker (2019–2020) — Secretary
- Former: Francesca Dopp (2020) — Board Member
- Former: Barbara Girtman (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Betsy Lewis (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Carol Pompa (2019) — Board Member
- Former: David Batten (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Ed Kelley (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Julie Day (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Leticia Roman (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Michael Slick (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Rachael Gilbert (2019) — Board Member
- Former: Tim King (2019) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $161K, to DJ Lebo (Chief Executive Officer). 7 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 125 Executive Circle, Daytona Beach, FL 32114-1180
Phone: (386) 323-2400
Website: https://elcfv.org
Frequently asked questions about The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler
How much does The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler give each year?
The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler gave $7K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $3.9M across 142 grants.
How large is The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler?
The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler reported $4.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $45.0M.
What does The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler fund?
The organization’s mission, stated in its 2024 filing, is “to create and cultivate learning opportunities that empower children and families to thrive.” See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler?
The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check elcfv.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
Where does The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler make grants?
The coalition’s programs serve Flagler and Volusia counties in Florida. The 2025 filing’s single reported grant went to a recipient in Florida.
What is The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler's EIN?
The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 59-3646549. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Florida
Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association
Columbus, OH
OCCRRA funds Ohio organizations serving child care, early learning, and youth development, including through program-specific stabilization and access grants. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,960 to $50,970, with a median of $30,060. Organizations apply for assistance and are reviewed against program criteria; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.
Assets
$6.3M
Grants
4
Total Given
$118K
The House Next Door Inc
Deland, FL
The House Next Door supports family education, counseling, prevention, and intervention services, and its reported grants primarily assist Florida child-care providers through the Child Care Food Program. In 2025, it made 11 grants ranging from $5,043 to $19,637; its service area is Volusia and Flagler counties, though reported grants went to recipients across Florida. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.2M
Grants
11
Total Given
$125K
Greater Horizons
Kansas City, MO
Greater Horizons is a donor-advised fund provider whose donor-directed grants support eligible U.S. public charities across a broad range of causes; international organizations may also qualify with additional review and fees. In 2024, grants had a median of $15,000, with itemized awards ranging from $5,001 to $10,073,050, and recipients were located across the United States, especially in California, Texas, Nebraska, New York, and Kansas. It describes a grant-request process for donors, not an application process for organizations, so unsolicited requests are not stated as accepted.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
3,282
Total Given
$212.2M
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing
Appleton, WI
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing distributes donor-directed and program donations to a broad range of causes and organizations in local, national, and global communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,520 and ranged from $5,006 to $5 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$939.7M
Grants
2,565
Total Given
$84.6M
Publix Super Markets Charities Inc
Lakeland, FL
Publix Super Markets Charities supports nonprofits addressing hunger, homelessness and housing, youth, education, and community needs in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Kentucky. Its 2024 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged widely; it accepts online requests from eligible organizations, with application periods varying by program.
Assets
$233.8M
Grants
3,269
Total Given
$52.5M
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida Inc
Jacksonville, FL
The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida supports nonprofits and civic work in Duval, St. Johns, Nassau, Baker, Clay, and Putnam counties, with interests including neighborhoods, education, aging adults, arts, women and girls, young children, and early literacy. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though amounts varied widely; most donor-advised grants are not open to applications, but eligible nonprofits can apply through competitive programs when application windows are open.
Assets
$708.7M
Grants
2,470
Total Given
$78.0M
Community Foundation of Tampa Bay Inc
Tampa, FL
The Community Foundation of Tampa Bay funds nonprofits addressing economic opportunity, environmental sustainability, health, education, and community vitality in Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Hernando, and Citrus counties. Its annual competitive grants are typically $10,000–$50,000; it also accepts year-round requests for urgent, unforeseen needs of up to $250,000. Apply through the relevant grant opportunity; the profile does not state whether general unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
698
Total Given
$54.3M
Gulf Coast Community Foundation Inc
Venice, FL
Gulf Coast Community Foundation funds arts and culture, civic and economic development, education, the environment, health and human services, and disaster response, with a focus on its Florida service area. Community grants provide up to $25,000 per organization per fiscal year; larger catalytic grants are available, and 2025 grants had a median of $16,251. It accepts unsolicited requests through scheduled Community Grant cycles; catalytic grants start with a letter of inquiry, and initiative grants are by invitation only.
Assets
$533.7M
Grants
651
Total Given
$45.0M
Early Learning Coalition of Broward County Inc
Fort Lauderdale, FL
The Early Learning Coalition of Broward funds child care reimbursement and early-learning providers, including programs supporting child care and preschool, primarily in Broward County, Florida. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,127 to $3,994,863, with a median of $158,921. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$15.9M
Grants
636
Total Given
$152.2M
Leslie L Alexander Foundation Inc
Delray Beach, FL
The Leslie L Alexander Foundation supports animal rescue, education, children’s services, and other charitable work. In 2024, grants ranged from $600 to $1 million, with a median of $35,000; giving was concentrated in Florida and Texas, with awards also made elsewhere. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$291.4M
Grants
622
Total Given
$28.4M
CSX Foundation Inc
Jacksonville, FL
Assets
$9.7M
Grants
607
Total Given
$13.7M
United Way Miami Inc
Miami, FL
United Way Miami funds education, economic mobility, health and wellbeing, and resilient-community programs, with its community focus in Miami-Dade County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,082 to $1,693,432, with a median of $18,410; published opportunities include selected awards of up to $153,000. It publishes specific grant opportunities and application details; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$157.2M
Grants
562
Total Given
$32.6M
More Funders in Florida
The Early Learning Coalition of Flagler down — hundreds of funders to go?