Sidgmore Family Foundation
The Sidgmore Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Potomac, Maryland. It supports charitable organizations, with stated interests in education and teacher training, entrepreneurial approaches to social problems, and services for people in need in the Washington, DC area.
Key facts about Sidgmore Family Foundation
In short: Sidgmore Family Foundation gave $387K across 85 grants in 2025 (avg $5K), top state District of Columbia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 52-6832168
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $387,200
- Grants made (2025)
- 85
- Average grant
- $4,555
- Median grant
- $3,000
- Total assets
- $7,316,917
- Primary geography
- District of Columbia (33% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$7.3M
+2.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$387K
+4.1% YoY
Grant Count
85
-1.2% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$5K
+5.3% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Sidgmore Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $403K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Sidgmore Family Foundation gives
- 94% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+8%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 97% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation says it is particularly interested in improving education and teacher training; supporting entrepreneurial skills used to develop creative, scalable, and sustainable solutions to critical social problems; and providing support and services to people in need in the Washington, DC area. Its website describes support for organizations with clear, replicable plans, measurable sustainable results, and high ratings from charity evaluators. It also identifies multi-year grants and awards for organizations included in the Greater Washington Catalogue for Philanthropy.
The 2024 grantees illustrate a range of supported work. Room to Read describes its mission as addressing illiteracy and gender inequality so children can read, learn, and grow. A Wider Circle says it advances equity in the Greater Washington region through exchanges of goods, skills, and connections and advocacy on poverty’s root causes. Computer Core says it helps under-resourced adults develop technology and life skills for their career aspirations. These are the grantees’ stated missions, not additional stated foundation priorities.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 86 grants totaling $372,000. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $20,000, with a median of $3,000. Among the largest awards were $20,000 each to American Friends of Magen Deavid Adom, Friends of the IDF, and Holocaust Museum; and $15,000 each to Catalogue for Philanthropy and United Hatzalah - Israel Emergency Services. Other listed awards included $10,000 to Room to Read and $10,000 to the American Jewish Committee.
Ready to take the next step with Sidgmore Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The foundation’s website identifies support and services in the Washington, DC area as an interest. In 2024, the largest shares of grant dollars went to recipients in DC (35%), New York (23%), Maryland (14%), Virginia (11%), and California (7%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 85 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
Grant Size Distribution
211 grants across all recorded years
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| AMERICAN FRIENDS OF MAGEN DEAVID ADOM New York, NY | CHARITABLE | $20,000 |
| FRIENDS OF THE IDF New York, NY | CHARITABLE | $20,000 |
| HOLOCAUST MUSEUM Washington, DC | CHARITABLE | $20,000 |
| CATLOGUE FOR PHILANTHROPY Washington, DC | CHARITABLE | $15,000 |
| UNITED HAZATLAH - ISRAEL EMERGENCY SERVICES New York, NY | CHARITABLE | $15,000 |
| AMERICAN JEWISH COMMITTEE New York, NY | CHARITABLE | $10,000 |
| BOUNDLESS Belmont, MA | CHARITABLE | $10,000 |
| CURE ALZHEIMER'S FUND Wellesley Hills, MA | CHARITABLE | $10,000 |
| HILLEL ORGANIZATION Washington, DC | CHARITABLE | $10,000 |
| JEWISH AGENCY FOR ISRAEL - JAFINA New York, NY | CHARITABLE | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $7,156,539 | $426,091 | $403,788 | $372,000 |
| 2023 | $6,995,937 | $192,388 | $408,996 | $367,000 |
| 2022 | $7,212,545 | $96,869 | $414,901 | $359,000 |
The filing type is Form 990-PF.
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $7,316,917 | $7,156,539 | $6,995,937 |
| Revenue | $585,240 | $426,091 | $192,388 |
| Expenses | $436,960 | $403,788 | $408,996 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $388,850 | $373,383 | $372,101 |
| Net Investment Income | $540,258 | $398,815 | $155,598 |
| Distributable Amount | $402,723 | $391,000 | $368,977 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 1, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 20, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
Randi Lu Sidgmore is listed as a trustee on the 2024 filing.
Sidgmore Family Foundation is led by Randi Lu Sidgmore, Trustee on every filing since 2019 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Randi Lu Sidgmore
Trustee
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Michael J. Sidgmore (2019–2022) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 9505 Persimmon Tree Rd, Potomac, MD 20854
Phone: (301) 221-0004
Website: https://www.sidgmorefoundation.com
Frequently asked questions about Sidgmore Family Foundation
How much does Sidgmore Family Foundation give each year?
Sidgmore Family Foundation gave $387K across 85 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $372K across 86 grants.
What is Sidgmore Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Sidgmore Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $3,000, and its average grant was $4,555, across 85 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Sidgmore Family Foundation give grants?
Sidgmore Family Foundation's top state is District of Columbia, with 33% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were New York (22%) and Maryland (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (34 grants), New York, NY (6 grants), Rockville, MD (6 grants) and Fairfax, VA (3 grants).
Does Sidgmore Family Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 85 grants with a stated purpose on Sidgmore Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (85 grants).
Who are Sidgmore Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Sidgmore Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include American Friends of Magen Deavid Adom ($20,000), Friends of the Idf ($20,000) and Holocaust Museum ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 15% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Sidgmore Family Foundation?
Sidgmore Family Foundation reported $7.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $389K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $403K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Sidgmore Family Foundation fund?
The foundation says it is particularly interested in improving education and teacher training; supporting entrepreneurial skills used to develop creative, scalable, and sustainable solutions to critical social problems; and providing support and services to people in need in the Washington, DC area. Its website describes support for organizations with clear, replicable plans, measurable sustainable results, and high ratings from charity evaluators. It also identifies multi-year grants and award…
How do I apply for a grant from Sidgmore Family Foundation?
In 2024, the foundation reported 86 grants totaling $372,000. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $20,000, with a median of $3,000. Among the largest awards were $20,000 each to American Friends of Magen Deavid Adom, Friends of the IDF, and Holocaust Museum; and $15,000 each to Catalogue for Philanthropy and United Hatzalah - Israel Emergency Services. Other listed awards included $10,000 to Room to Read and $10,000 to the American Jewish Committee. The foundation states that it makes contributions on…
What is Sidgmore Family Foundation's EIN?
Sidgmore Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-6832168. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does Sidgmore Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Sidgmore Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Sidgmore Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Greater Washington Community Foundation
Washington, DC
The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives across areas including education, health, human services, arts, economic development, and workforce development, with a focus on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.1 million, with a median of $20,000; it centers its work on DC, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties, and Northern Virginia. It accepts applications through scheduled competitive grant rounds and some solicited, invite-only opportunities; donor-recommended grants are not open to applicants.
Assets
$518.3M
Grants
1,417
Total Given
$116.9M
The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz
Washington, DC
The Cafritz Foundation funds 501(c)(3) public charities serving the District of Columbia, Prince George’s or Montgomery Counties, Arlington or Fairfax Counties, or Alexandria or Falls Church, in arts and humanities, community services, education, environment, and health. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $1.2 million, with a median of $35,000, and it accepts unsolicited requests for general operating and project support; capital requests require an invitation.
Assets
$636.1M
Grants
451
Total Given
$23.7M
John Edward Fowler Memorial Foundation
Kensington, MD
The foundation funds grassroots, direct-service organizations serving underserved and at-risk people, including programs in childhood education, adult literacy, and homelessness, primarily in the Washington, DC area. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $200,000 in 2025, with a $25,000 median; first-time awards typically do not exceed $10,000. It accepts applications through its website and has no stated deadline.
Assets
$66.1M
Grants
82
Total Given
$2.7M
The Pet Care Trust
Forest Hill, MD
The Pet Care Trust funds educational programs that help teachers use classroom pets and animal-assisted therapy to support student learning, primarily through Pets in the Classroom and Dogs in the Classroom. Its 2024 grants ranged from $9 to $49,500, with a median of $50, and its programs serve teachers in the United States and Canada. The Trust says it does not accept unsolicited funding requests; teachers may apply through the Pets in the Classroom program.
Assets
$1.3M
Grants
2,829
Total Given
$256K
Annie E Casey Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.3B
Grants
1,462
Total Given
$93.1M
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg
Owings Mills, MD
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.8B
Grants
872
Total Given
$127.8M
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
Johns Hopkins University funds education, research, health, and related work, including sub-awards to companies, research institutes, and universities. In 2025 it reported 813 grants totaling about $594 million, with a median award of $100,000; recipients were based across the U.S. and internationally, with the largest share of grant dollars going to California. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$25.3B
Grants
813
Total Given
$594.1M
The Keith Campbell Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Keith Campbell Foundation funds watershed and environmental advocacy, clean water, agriculture, community engagement, water management, and capacity building, with particular interest in racial equity and diverse communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $40 to $1.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and its focus includes the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays and California, with additional priority counties in Maryland and Pennsylvania. It accepts unsolicited requests from eligible organizations through two grant cycles a year; prior grantees cannot apply through that process.
Assets
$420.2M
Grants
688
Total Given
$27.9M
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Bethesda, MD
The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related community and patient-support programs, primarily through opportunities for academic and industry investigators. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,800 to $12.9 million, with a median grant of about $150,000; the profile does not specify a geographic limit or whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.0B
Grants
624
Total Given
$189.6M
Baltimore Community Foundation Inc
Baltimore, MD
Baltimore Community Foundation funds stronger schools and neighborhoods, including kindergarten readiness, student mental health, school climate, neighborhood improvement, and community development, primarily in Baltimore City and Baltimore County. In 2024 it made 604 grants totaling $29.3 million, with a median grant of about $19,800. It accepts applications for certain programs through its online portal.
Assets
$314.3M
Grants
604
Total Given
$29.3M
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD
Associated Jewish Charities of Baltimore supports charitable, educational, religious, health, cultural, humanitarian, and social-service needs of the Jewish community locally, nationally, in Israel, and worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,020 to $15,250,570, with a median of $18,750. The information describes grant recommendations by current fundholders but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$446.7M
Grants
515
Total Given
$53.0M
Jpmorgan Chase Foundation
New York, NY
The foundation supports neighborhood revitalization, underserved small businesses, financial health, and economic mobility and career pathways, with 2024 grants ranging from $4 to $4,635,000 and a median of $550. Its grants reached organizations across multiple U.S. locations, including Washington, DC, New York, California, Illinois, Washington state, and Georgia. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
11,076
Total Given
$193.0M
More Funders in Maryland
Sidgmore Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?