Robertson Foundation For Government Inc
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc is a private foundation based in Washington, DC. It supports public-service leadership and federal workforce development, primarily through academic fellowships and government internships, as well as professional development and educational programming.
Key facts about Robertson Foundation For Government Inc
In short: Robertson Foundation For Government Inc gave $340K across 20 grants in 2024 (avg $17K), top state Maryland. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-4630877
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $339,743
- Grants made (2024)
- 20
- Average grant
- $16,987
- Median grant
- $599
- Total assets
- $22,841,740
- Primary geography
- Maryland (38% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$22.8M
+3.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$340K
-42.6% YoY
Grant Count
20
-25.9% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$17K
-22.5% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Robertson Foundation For Government Inc reported a distributable amount of $1.1M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How Robertson Foundation For Government Inc gives
- Giving fell 91% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 81% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation describes its activities as supporting public-service leadership, federal workforce development, and career development. Its filing identifies academic fellowships, government internships, professional development, educational programming, and networking as ways it pursues those activities.
Among its 2024 grantees, Blacks in Government received $5,000. The organization describes its mission as enabling present and future Black employees in local, state, and federal government to maximize career opportunities and providing a mechanism for inclusion, growth, and advocacy.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 20 grants totaling $339,743. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $128,023, with a median of $599. The largest grants included $128,023 to the University of Maryland School of Public Policy, $94,603 to Texas A&M–Scowcroft Bush, and $85,000 to the Maxwell School; each was designated for Robertson Fellows. UCSD’s GPS program received $13,172 for Robertson Fellows, and APSIA received $7,500 for international relations and graduate-school diversity.
Ready to take the next step with Robertson Foundation For Government Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, grant dollars went to recipients in Maryland (38%), Texas (28%), New York (25%), Washington, DC (6%), and California (4%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 20 itemized 2024 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $340K (2024) to $28.9M (2020). In 2024 it made 20 grants totaling $340K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was U of MarylandSchool of Public Policy ($128K). Together the top 10 received $337K.
Grant Size Distribution
136 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 111 grants of 136 (82%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| U of MarylandSchool of Public Policy College Park, MD | Robertson Fellows | $128,023 |
| Texas A&M - Scowcroftbush College Station, TX | Robertson Fellows | $94,603 |
| Maxwell School Syracuse, NY | Robertson Fellows | $85,000 |
| Ucsd (GPS) La Jolla, CA | Robertson Fellows | $13,172 |
| Apsia Washington, DC | International relations and grad school diversity | $7,500 |
| Blacks in Government Inc Washington, DC | General Support | $5,000 |
| Javier De Leon Washington, DC | Professional Development Fund | $1,500 |
| Intern Award State Department Washington, DC | Professional Development Fund | $750 |
| Kathleen Donovan Washington, DC | Professional Development Fund | $599 |
| Jacob Throwe Washington, DC | Professional Development Fund | $599 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $22,841,740 | $2,494,594 | $1,075,594 |
| 2023 | $21,992,470 | $523,281 | $1,376,037 |
| 2022 | $21,070,400 | −$203,544 | $1,461,017 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $22,841,740 | $21,992,470 | $21,070,400 |
| Revenue | $2,494,594 | $523,281 | $-203,544 |
| Expenses | $1,075,594 | $1,376,037 | $1,461,017 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $902,389 | $1,213,421 | $1,271,464 |
| Net Investment Income | $2,386,592 | $457,153 | $194,220 |
| Distributable Amount | $1,111,255 | $1,048,386 | $1,085,089 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Julia Robertson as president, Olivia Robertson Moe as secretary, and Nils Moe as treasurer.
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's 2024 filing lists 3 officers; 2 of 3 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Julia Robertson
Presient
Secretary → Chairman, 2023
Chairman → Presient, 2024
On filings since 2020
$8K (2020) → $18K (2024)
Olivia Robertson Moe
Secretary
Director → Secretary, 2023
On filings since 2021
$4K (2021) → $8K (2024)
Nils Moe
Treasurer
New on the 2024 filing
No compensation reported
Former officers (4)
- Former: Geoffrey S. Robertson (2020–2023) — President
- Former: Charles R. Meier (2020–2022) — Board Member
- Former: Cynthia Robinson (2020–2022) — President
- Former: April Davis (2020) — Board Member
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $18K, to Julia Robertson (Presient). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 1455 Pennsylvania Ave Nw Suite 400, Washington, DC 20004
Phone: (561) 627-7025
Frequently asked questions about Robertson Foundation For Government Inc
How much does Robertson Foundation For Government Inc give each year?
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc gave $340K across 20 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $591K across 27 grants.
What is Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's typical grant size?
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's median grant in 2024 was $599, and its average grant was $16,987, across 20 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Robertson Foundation For Government Inc give grants?
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's top state is Maryland, with 38% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Texas (28%) and New York (25%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (16 grants).
Does Robertson Foundation For Government Inc give general operating support?
Occasionally: 5% of Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 20) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Professional Development Fund" (13 grants) and "Robertson Fellows" (4 grants).
Who are Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's largest grantees?
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's largest 2024 grantees include U of MarylandSchool of Public Policy ($128,023), Texas A&M - Scowcroftbush ($94,603) and Maxwell School ($85,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 91% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Robertson Foundation For Government Inc?
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc reported $22.8M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $902K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.1M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Robertson Foundation For Government Inc fund?
The foundation describes its activities as supporting public-service leadership, federal workforce development, and career development. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Robertson Foundation For Government Inc?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's EIN?
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-4630877. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does Robertson Foundation For Government Inc accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Robertson Foundation For Government Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Robertson Foundation For Government Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Freedom Together Foundation
New York, NY
The foundation funds work to strengthen multiracial democracy and build community and worker power, racial and gender justice, movement infrastructure, reproductive health, medical research, and community institutions. In 2024, its grants ranged from $5,000 to $14 million, with a median of $500,000; its largest shares went to organizations in Washington, DC, New York, California, Massachusetts, and Illinois. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$3.4B
Grants
595
Total Given
$470.0M
Charina Foundation Inc
New York, NY
Charina Foundation supports 501(c)(3) organizations across varied fields, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in New York and Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $750,000, with a median of $7,500. It funds preselected organizations only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$10.1M
Grants
279
Total Given
$3.8M
The Henry Luce Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Henry Luce Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and international equivalents working in areas including education, research, arts, civic life, Indigenous knowledge, religion, and women in STEM. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, with amounts ranging from $75 to $1.25 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
652
Total Given
$49.3M
The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation
Menlo Park, CA
The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation funds education, climate and conservation, the arts, gender equity, governance, democracy, and philanthropy, with work in the San Francisco Bay Area, the U.S. West, nationally, and internationally. Its 2024 grants had a median of $150,000, though awards ranged from $50 to more than $11 million; it often provides long-term general operating support. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, except through invited open processes.
Assets
$14.2B
Grants
2,001
Total Given
$625.0M
The Rockefeller Foundation
New York, NY
The Rockefeller Foundation funds large-scale efforts to improve human well-being, including work in energy, food, health, finance, and economic opportunity, in the United States and internationally. Its 2024 grants ranged from $400 to $75 million, with a median of about $171,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.4B
Grants
381
Total Given
$233.2M
Carnegie Corporation of New York
New York, NY
The foundation funds education, civic participation and democracy, libraries, scholarly research, and international peace and security, with work in the United States and internationally. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $225,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$4.8B
Grants
591
Total Given
$174.4M
The George Washington University
Ashburn, VA
The George Washington University funds education, scholarly research, medical research, and community-engaged scholarship, with 2025 grants reaching recipients across the U.S. and internationally; Washington, D.C., received the largest share. Its 191 reported grants totaled $54.1 million, with a median of about $131,000, though the grants are described as subawards; its faculty development programs offer awards of $2,000–$5,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.5B
Grants
191
Total Given
$54.1M
NCRC Community Development Fund Inc
Washington, DC
NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$55.6M
Grants
2,666
Total Given
$149.3M
Greater Washington Community Foundation
Washington, DC
The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives across areas including education, health, human services, arts, economic development, and workforce development, with a focus on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.1 million, with a median of $20,000; it centers its work on DC, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties, and Northern Virginia. It accepts applications through scheduled competitive grant rounds and some solicited, invite-only opportunities; donor-recommended grants are not open to applicants.
Assets
$518.3M
Grants
1,417
Total Given
$116.9M
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
Washington, DC
The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation funds competitive projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats, including habitat restoration, species recovery, and coastal and watershed resilience; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. It works across all 50 states and U.S. territories, with a 2024 median grant of $81,584 and awards ranging from $5,169 to $29 million. Applications are made through specific grant programs and their requests for proposals; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.
Assets
$3.6B
Grants
1,286
Total Given
$464.4M
AARP
Washington, DC
AARP funds organizations working on aging-related issues, including technology access, caregiving, legal services, research, and community programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,020 to $7.4 million, with a median of $15,000; reported grant dollars were concentrated in New York, Washington, DC, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether AARP accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.1B
Grants
688
Total Given
$35.8M
Frontstream Global Fund
Washington, DC
FrontStream Global Fund distributes donations raised through workplace giving, corporate philanthropy, and other fundraising activities to donor-designated IRS-recognized 501(c)(3) charities across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $13,714 and ranged from $5,003 to $358,589. It distributes funds according to donor recommendations; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.
Assets
$421K
Grants
556
Total Given
$13.4M
More Funders in District of Columbia
Robertson Foundation For Government Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?