Credit Union of Southern California logo

Credit Union of Southern California

Public charity · Grantmaker Anaheim, CA EIN: 95-1818041 Website

Credit Union of Southern California is a member-owned cooperative financial institution based in Anaheim, California, formed in 1954. Its 2024 filing type is Form 990 (a public charity). The organization’s stated purpose is to promote thrift and savings among members, provide them with credit, and conduct its business for their mutual benefit.

Key facts about Credit Union of Southern California

In short: Credit Union of Southern California gave $427K across 21 grants in 2024 (avg $20K), mostly in California. 26% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

EIN
95-1818041
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$427,434
Grants made (2024)
21
Average grant
$20,354
Median grant
$13,500
New grantees (estimate)
26% first-time grantees (5 of 19, 2024; small sample)
Total assets
$2,894,345,402
Primary geography
California (95% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
How to apply
Requests are assessed monthly by the Community Relations Committee. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$2.9B

-2.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$427K

+45.8% YoY

Grant Count

21

+16.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$20K

+25.0% YoY

Is Credit Union of Southern California open to new grantees?

26%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 5 of 19 grantees (26%) were first-time recipients. With only 19 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 5 points. First grants averaged $10K; repeat grants $27K. How we count

Medians: $10K first-time, $15K repeat.

  • 74% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−7%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The organization’s 2024 filing describes its mission as promoting members’ thrift and savings, creating a source of credit, and enabling members to use and control their money democratically to improve their economic and social conditions. Its website states its mission as “Build better lives through exceptional Member experiences, every time.”

The 2024 grants show support for organizations working in areas including assistance to people in need, food access, youth programs, education and scholarships, women’s empowerment, health care, and services for people with special needs. For example, Interfaith Food Center describes its mission as providing nutritious food to neighbors with dignity and respect; Boys and Girls Club of Whittier says it provides after-school and summer programs for youth; and Rio Hondo College Foundation says it provides financial assistance for scholarships and student programs. These are the grantees’ stated missions.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, CU SoCal reported 21 grants totaling $427,434. Grant amounts ranged from $6,000 to $149,304, with a median grant of $13,500.

The largest reported grant was $149,304 to Southern California Helping Hands to support poor people and families in need. Other notable grants included $28,000 to Whittier Area Community Church; $25,900 to Soroptimist International of Whittier, whose stated mission is to improve the lives of women and girls through social and economic empowerment programs; and $25,700 to Whittier Host Lions Club. Additional grants included $20,200 to Children’s Miracle Network, $15,000 to Interfaith Food Center, $14,330 to Shelter’s Right Hand, $14,000 to Tara’s Chance, $13,500 to Boys and Girls Club of Whittier, and $12,300 to Rio Hondo College Foundation.

How to Apply

Requests are assessed monthly by the Community Relations Committee. The website lists monetary, prize-item, promotional, and volunteer support as donation types considered. Requests should specify a clearly defined need, align with CU SoCal’s mission, vision, or values, and directly benefit people. The organization generally does not donate to groups that are not tax-exempt under Section 501(c)(3), use funds to promote a religious belief, discriminate, are outside its field of membership, seek support for operating or administrative costs, or fall into several excluded categories, including political or divisive causes, sports teams or individual athletes, bands, and school sports team sponsorships. The website does not specify application materials or a deadline.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Credit Union of Southern California?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2024 grant dollars went to recipients in California (95%) and Utah (5%). CU SoCal’s website states that its field of membership includes people who live, work, worship, or attend school in Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, or San Bernardino counties.

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 21 itemized grants.

Cities

WhittierPomonaFullertonBreaSalt Lake CitySanta Fe SpringsMadisonLong BeachOntarioOrangeBuena ParkEl MonteFontanaLa HabraLos AngelesNewport BeachSacramentoTustinSanta Ana

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K$800K23 grants2020 29 grants2021 20 grants2022 18 grants2023 21 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $293K (2023) to $706K (2020). In 2024 it made 21 grants totaling $427K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Southern California Helping Hands: $149KSouthern California HelpingHands$149KWhittier Area Community Church: $28KWhittier Area Community Church$28KSoroptimist International of Whittier: $26KSoroptimist International ofWhittier$26KWhittier Host Lions Club: $26KWhittier Host Lions Club$26KChildren's Miracle Network: $20KChildren's Miracle Network$20KCalifornia Credit Union League: $16KCalifornia Credit Union League$16KInterfaith Food Center: $15KInterfaith Food Center$15KShelter's Right Hand: $14KShelter's Right Hand$14KTara's Chance: $14KTara's Chance$14KBoys and Girls Club of Whittier: $14KBoys and Girls Club ofWhittier$14K

The largest 2024 recipient was Southern California Helping Hands ($149K). Together the top 10 received $322K.

Organizations only. It also paid 3 grants to individuals ($36,800), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

111 grants across all recorded years

105<$50K3$50–100K2$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 105 grants of 111 (95%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Southern California Helping Hands Whittier, CAProvide support to the poor and families in need.$149,304
Whittier Area Community Church Whittier, CAOur mission is to create communities where every person is invited to gather in worship, grow in a small group, and to go serve our world.$28,000
Soroptimist International of Whittier Whittier, CATo improve the lives of women and girls through programs leading to social and economic empowerment.$25,900
Whittier Host Lions Club Whittier, CAThe club's mission is to care for the youth, the hearing impaired, and others in need in the greater whittier area.$25,700
Children's Miracle Network Salt Lake City, UTProvides financial support for children's hospitals across North America.$20,200
California Credit Union League Sacramento, CAProvide credit unions with advocacy, education, information, and leadership.$16,000
Interfaith Food Center Santa Fe Springs, CAThe interfaith food center is a non-faith-based, non-profit 501(c)(3) charity organization dedicated to meeting the needs of our hungry and homeless neighbors in whittier, la mirada and santa fe springs.$15,000
3 grants to individuals Recipients not named —$36,800
Shelter's Right Hand Whittier, CATo provide support as an auxiliary of the women's and children's crisis shelter.$14,330
Tara's Chance Fullerton, CAPromoting the physical, cognitive, and social well-being of at-risk youth and/or those with special needs through equine-assisted activities and therapies.$14,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants reported
2024 $2,894,345,402 $204,857,864 $171,198,095 $427,434 (21 grants)
2023 $2,958,463,252 $179,480,392 $151,267,296 $293,195 (18 grants)
2022 $2,582,085,802 $120,210,205 $94,299,060 $410,675 (20 grants)
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$100M$200M$300M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$2,894,345,402$2,958,463,252$2,582,085,802
Revenue$204,857,864$179,480,392$120,210,205
Expenses$171,198,095$151,267,296$94,299,060
Net Investment Income$63,378,440$49,176,356$19,526,275

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 5, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 31, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 2, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 1, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 4, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Chris George as chairperson; Elizabeth Camp as vice chairperson; John Rosenberger as treasurer; Chris Stone as secretary; and Robyn Bjorklund as former chairperson. Directors listed are Paul Moore, Dawnna Lawrence, Gil Rodriguez, and Connie Zappone. Dona Moseley is listed as a corporate advisory board member.

Credit Union of Southern California is led by Dave Gunderson, President & CEO on every filing since 2020; 22 of 32 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Dave Gunderson

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $877K (2020) → $1.5M (2024)

  • Chris George

    Chairperson

    Vice Chairperson → Chairperson, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2020) → $0 (2024)

  • Bob Toohey

    Supv Cmte Chairperson

    Supv Cmte Member → Supv Cmte Chairperson, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Connie Zappone

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $624 (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • Paul Moore

    Director

    Past Chairperson → Director, 2022

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2022) → $685 (2024)

  • Dawnna Lawrence

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2022) → $2K (2024)

  • Gil Rodriguez

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $904 (2021) → $0 (2024)

  • Aaron Young

    Senior Vice President, Branch Ops & Retail Banking

    Senior Vice President Branch Operations → Senior Vice President, Branch Ops & Retail Banking, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $187K (2020) → $278K (2024)

  • Alissa Guerrero

    CAO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $276K (2020) → $477K (2024)

  • Chris Stone

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $988 (2021) → $3K (2024)

  • Dave Yamashita

    Supv Cmte Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2022) → $743 (2024)

  • Dona Moseley

    Corporate Advisory Board Member

    Director → Corporate Advisory Board Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $959 (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • Elizabeth Camp

    Vice Chairperson

    Treasurer → Vice Chairperson, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2022) → $1K (2024)

  • Greg Kelley

    Supv Cmte Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • John Rosenberger

    Treasurer

    Secretary → Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $3K (2022) → $652 (2024)

  • Judy Miller

    Supv Cmte Member

    Supv Cmte Chairperson → Supv Cmte Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2023) → $0 (2024)

  • Katie Marie Smith

    Senior Vice President & Human Resources

    Senior Vice President Human Resources → Senior Vice President & Human Resources, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $157K (2020) → $282K (2024)

  • Katsu Durst

    CFO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $274K (2020) → $621K (2024)

  • Michelle Hunter

    Ccxo

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $301K (2020) → $375K (2024)

  • Peter Putnam

    Senior Vice President & Treasury

    Senior Vice President Treasury → Senior Vice President & Treasury, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $1.1M (2020) → $396K (2024)

  • Robyn Bjorklund

    Former Chairperson

    Chairperson → Former Chairperson, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • Sevan Yakinian

    CTO

    Senior Vice President Member Svs & Pymt Systems → CTO, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $226K (2020) → $355K (2024)

  • Suzanne Kisslan

    COO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $430K (2020) → $596K (2024)

  • Michael Gennawey

    Producing Program Manager

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $340K (2021) → $432K (2024)

  • Rosie Robinson

    Supv Cmte Member

    Supv Cmte Member → Corporate Advisory Supv Cmte Member, 2023

    Corporate Advisory Supv Cmte Member → Supv Cmte Member, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $1K (2022) → $0 (2024)

  • Ryan Gallo

    Producing Program Manager

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $300K (2021) → $416K (2024)

  • Daren Linhares

    Senior Vice President & Lending

    Senior Vice President Lending → Senior Vice President & Lending, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $201K (2022) → $295K (2024)

  • Eric Day

    Senior Vice President, Board Advocacy & Strategic Initiative

    Senior Vice President Board Advocacy & Strategic Initiative → Senior Vice President, Board Advocacy & Strategic Initiative, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $161K (2022) → $175K (2024)

  • Patricia Holcomb

    Vice President Information Technology

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $228K (2022) → $258K (2024)

  • Paul Jariabek

    Vice President Engineering & Ciso

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $239K (2022) → $336K (2024)

  • Stephanie Cuevas

    Corporate Advisory Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2023) → $0 (2024)

  • Susan Conjurski

    Vice President Strategic Initiatives

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $306K (2023) → $413K (2024)

Former officers (16)
  • Former: Kenneth Downs (2020–2023) — Former CIO
  • Former: Michael Cruz (2022–2023) — Senior Vice President & Risk Management
  • Former: Ed Paul (2020–2022) — Supv Cmte Member
  • Former: Kevin Pendergraft (2020–2022) — Advisory
  • Former: Orlando Cepeida (2021–2022) — Commercial Loan Officer
  • Former: Cory McDaniel (2020–2021) — Senior Vice President Lending
  • Former: John C. Smith (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Patty Dickason Former (2021) — Assistant Vice President Human Resources
  • Former: Ramon Davalos Former (2021) — Senior Vice President Risk Management
  • Former: Benjamin Corrales Jr. (2020) — Re Lending Consultant
  • Former: Deborah Childs Former (2020) — Executive Vice President & Administration
  • Former: Elham Ghotbi Former (2020) — Senior Vice President Human Resources
  • Former: Fernando Lopez (2020) — Re Lending Consultant
  • Former: Jennifer Collaso (2020) — Re Lending Consultant
  • Former: Kathy Crum Former (2020) — Director
  • Former: Laura Poore Former (2020) — Advisory

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Dave Gunderson — President/CEO: $1.5MDave GundersonPresident/CEO$1.5MKatsu Durst — CFO: $621KKatsu DurstCFO$621KSuzanne Kisslan — COO: $596KSuzanne KisslanCOO$596KAlissa Guerrero — Cao: $477KAlissa GuerreroCao$477KMichael Gennawey — Producing Program Manager: $432KMichael GennaweyProducing Program Manager$432KRyan Gallo — Producing Program Manager: $416KRyan GalloProducing Program Manager$416KSusan Conjurski — VP Strategic Initiatives: $413KSusan ConjurskiVP Strategic Initiatives$413KPeter Putnam — SVP, Treasury: $396KPeter PutnamSVP, Treasury$396KMichelle Hunter — CCXO: $375KMichelle HunterCCXO$375KSevan Yakinian — CTO: $355KSevan YakinianCTO$355KPaul Jariabek — VP Engineering & Ciso: $336KPaul JariabekVP Engineering & Ciso$336KDaren Linhares — SVP, Lending: $295KDaren LinharesSVP, Lending$295KKatie Marie Smith — SVP, Human Resources: $282KKatie Marie SmithSVP, Human Resources$282KAaron Young — SVP, Branch Ops/Retail Banking: $278KAaron YoungSVP, Branch Ops/Retail Banking$278KPatricia Holcomb — VP Information Technology: $258KPatricia HolcombVP Information Technology$258KEric Day — SVP, Board Advocacy & Strategic Initiative: $175KEric DaySVP, Board Advocacy & Strategic…$175KChris Stone — Secretary: $3KChris StoneSecretary$3KDawnna Lawrence — Director: $2KDawnna LawrenceDirector$2KElizabeth Camp — Vice Chairperson: $1KElizabeth CampVice Chairperson$1KDave Yamashita — Supv CMTE Member: $743Dave YamashitaSupv CMTE Member$743Paul Moore — Director: $685Paul MooreDirector$685John Rosenberger — Treasurer: $652John RosenbergerTreasurer$652

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $1.5M, to Dave Gunderson (President/CEO). 22 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 8101 East Kaiser Blvd 300, Anaheim, CA 92808
Phone: (562) 698-8326
Website: https://cusocal.org

Frequently asked questions about Credit Union of Southern California

How much does Credit Union of Southern California give each year?

Credit Union of Southern California gave $427K across 21 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $293K across 18 grants.

What is Credit Union of Southern California's typical grant size?

Credit Union of Southern California's median grant in 2024 was $13,500, and its average grant was $20,354, across 21 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Credit Union of Southern California that year got $10K on average.

Where does Credit Union of Southern California give grants?

Credit Union of Southern California gives mostly in California: 95% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Whittier, CA (9 grants) and Fullerton, CA (2 grants).

Does Credit Union of Southern California give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 21 grants with a stated purpose on Credit Union of Southern California's 2024 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

Who are Credit Union of Southern California's largest grantees?

Credit Union of Southern California's largest 2024 grantees include Southern California Helping Hands ($149,304), Whittier Area Community Church ($28,000) and Soroptimist International of Whittier ($25,900), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. It also paid 3 grants to individuals ($36,800), which are not listed by name. Together they received 48% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Credit Union of Southern California?

Credit Union of Southern California reported $2.9B in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $204.9M.

What does Credit Union of Southern California fund?

The organization’s 2024 filing describes its mission as promoting members’ thrift and savings, creating a source of credit, and enabling members to use and control their money democratically to improve their economic and social conditions. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Credit Union of Southern California?

Requests are assessed monthly by the Community Relations Committee. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Credit Union of Southern California's EIN?

Credit Union of Southern California's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 95-1818041. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Credit Union of Southern California by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Credit Union of Southern California's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Liferay Foundation

Diamond Bar, CA

LIFERAY FOUNDATION supports Christian evangelism, world relief, education, social welfare, and other charitable purposes, with recent grants focused on Christian education, child development, and evangelism. In 2024, its three grants totaled $586,600, ranging from $600 to $550,000; most funding went to organizations in Kentucky, with some in California. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.9M

Grants

3

Total Given

$587K

BCM Foundation

Whittier, CA

BCM Foundation funds youth programs, food assistance, education, child advocacy, and related organizations, primarily in California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $9,000 to $946,950, with a median of $40,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests, but reviews 2–3-page concept papers.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$54.8M

Grants

40

Total Given

$3.2M

McKesson Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The McKesson Foundation funds cancer support and care, healthcare workforce pathways, and emergency response, with grants mainly supporting organizations in the United States and Canada. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts ranged from $10,000 to about $2.47 million. Its filing says it does not accept unsolicited requests, while its application page describes an online application process with stated submission windows.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

76

Total Given

$16.6M

The Rose Hills Foundation

Pasadena, CA

The Rose Hills Foundation funds qualified nonprofits working in education, arts and culture, support for at-risk youth and families, and human services, primarily benefiting Los Angeles County and Southern California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $1 million, with a median of $50,000. It accepts applications year-round from eligible organizations, but does not accept unsolicited requests from certain large medical and educational institutions.

Assets

$561.2M

Grants

297

Total Given

$27.9M

Edwards Lifesciences Foundation

Irvine, CA

Edwards Lifesciences Foundation funds access to care for underserved structural heart patients, along with health, education, and economic-opportunity programs in communities where Edwards employees live and work; some specific projects outside the U.S. may also be eligible. Its 2024 grants had a median of $7,500, though awards ranged widely; it describes an annual application cycle but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$81.4M

Grants

224

Total Given

$9.0M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

The Kroger CO Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Kroger Co. Foundation funds nonprofits addressing hunger and access to healthy food, education and economic opportunity, community needs, youth development, and disaster relief. It gives nationally, regionally, and locally; its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $500,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts grant requests through its grants-management process and awards grants only to 501(c)(3) organizations.

Assets

$111.4M

Grants

253

Total Given

$4.8M

Central National Gottesman Foundation

Purchase, NY

The foundation supports a varied mix of organizations, including educational institutions, museums, and hunger-relief groups, with New York receiving the largest share of its 2025 grants. Its 187 grants ranged from $569 to $428,500, with a median of $5,000. It says giving is not limited to preselected organizations, but the stated application process is specifically for eligible children of certain employees seeking scholarships.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$54.3M

Grants

187

Total Given

$3.2M

Banc of California Charitable Foundation

Santa Ana, CA

The foundation funds financial literacy, affordable housing, community service, and economic and community development, primarily in California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $400 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. The profile lists no deadlines but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$883K

Grants

339

Total Given

$3.2M

Mufg Union Bank Foundation Ag

Milwaukee, WI

The foundation’s 2022 grants supported work in economic opportunity, entrepreneurship, affordable housing, conservation, small-business procurement, and education, with examples in Georgia and California. It gave 441 grants totaling $8,518,500 in 2022, including awards from $45,000 to $200,000, but reported no grants in its 2023 final return. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.8M

Grants

441

Total Given

$8.5M

Orange County Community Foundation

Irvine, CA

The Orange County Community Foundation supports a wide range of causes, including human services, education, health, arts, the environment, and community development, primarily in Orange County and also beyond. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$743.6M

Grants

975

Total Given

$120.4M

More Funders in California

Credit Union of Southern California down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?