Community Foundation of Hancock logo

Community Foundation of Hancock

Public charity · Grantmaker Greenfield, IN EIN: 35-1837729 Website

The Community Foundation of Hancock County is a nonprofit public charity based in Greenfield, Indiana. Formed in 1991, it provides philanthropic leadership and supports charitable organizations, educational opportunities, and community initiatives.

Key facts about Community Foundation of Hancock

In short: Community Foundation of Hancock gave $1.5M across 81 grants in 2025 (avg $19K), mostly in Indiana. 21% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
35-1837729
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$1,535,948
Grants made (2025)
81
Average grant
$18,962
Median grant
$11,500
New grantees (estimate)
21% first-time grantees (17 of 81, 2025)
Total assets
$77,483,266
Primary geography
Indiana (86% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$77.5M

+18.0% YoY

Annual Giving

$1.5M

+44.4% YoY

Grant Count

81

+22.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$19K

+17.6% YoY

Is Community Foundation of Hancock open to new grantees?

21%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 17 of 81 grantees (21%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $20K; repeat grants $19K. How we count

Medians: $10K first-time, $13K repeat.

  • 64% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−1%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s mission is to provide philanthropic leadership by encouraging giving, learning, community pride, and civic engagement. Its website describes work to strengthen nonprofit organizations and programs, promote educational attainment from birth, and support communities through strategic grantmaking and collaboration.

Its 2025 filing says it distributes grants and scholarships for charitable purposes. Scholarships are paid directly to educational institutions, not to individuals. Its grant recipients include organizations serving youth, education, health, human services, and community development. For example, Boys and Girls Club of Hancock describes its mission as providing activities and education to help local youth become responsible, productive, and caring citizens. Greenfield Central School Foundation says it fosters partnerships to develop solutions and resources for quality education. Talitha Koum Women’s Recovery House describes offering women a safe, family-like recovery environment.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 81 grants totaling $1,535,948. Grant amounts ranged from $5,410 to $86,546, with a median of $11,500. The largest listed awards included $86,546 to The Landing Place for operating support, $84,113 to Hancock Health Foundation for operating support, and $82,082 to Boys and Girls Club of Hancock for operating support. Other notable awards were $50,000 to Hancock County Parks and Recreation for a trail extension and $49,766 to Unbound for operating support.

Review Cycle

for programming and capital needs of nonprofits and agencies serving Hancock County; it says the 2026 cycle is closed. Program information lists awards of $1,000–$10,000 for the annual cycle, including eligible program expenses and capital improvements, and excludes operating costs and general marketing expenses. The website also describes a Mini Grant Cycle for requests of $1,500 or less. Program information says mini grants are for one-time expenses, do not cover ongoing operating or programming costs, and are evaluated on a rolling, first-come, first-served basis while funds remain.

Open Grants

5 open opportunities from Community Foundation of Hancock

Show all 5 →
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Community Foundation of Hancock?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation’s grant opportunities include programs for organizations serving Hancock County, Indiana. Its 2025 grant dollars went primarily to Indiana recipients (86%); other listed recipient states were Kansas (3%), Tennessee (3%), New York (2%), and Pennsylvania (1%). The White Family Foundation cycle described on the website serves projects in Hancock and Henry counties.

Grant Distribution by State

11states

Share of all 81 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

GreenfieldIndianapolisNew PalestineFortvilleShirleyCharlottesvilleAshlandBloomingtonHoffman EstatesKansas CityPhiladelphiaPigeon ForgeWhitestownLindaleMaryknollSaint LouisBaltimoreCiceroCumberlandKnightstown

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M46 grants201953 grants202059 grants202158 grants202262 grants202366 grants202481 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $712K (2019) to $4.5M (2023). In 2025 it made 81 grants totaling $1.5M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

The Landing Place Inc: $87KThe Landing Place Inc$87KHancock Health Foundation: $84KHancock Health Foundation$84KBoys and Girls Club of Hancock: $82KBoys and Girls Club of Hancock$82KHancock County Parks and Recreation: $50KHancock County Parks andRecreation$50KUnbound: $50KUnbound$50KBlue River Foundation Inc: $45KBlue River Foundation Inc$45KThe Arc of Hancock CO: $40KThe Arc of Hancock CO$40KDollywood Foundation: $40KDollywood Foundation$40KNew Palestine United Methodist: $36KNew Palestine United Methodist$36KGreenfield Christian Church: $36KGreenfield Christian Church$36K

The largest 2025 recipient was The Landing Place Inc ($87K). Together the top 10 received $550K.

Grant Size Distribution

326 grants across all recorded years

305<$50K17$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K2$500K–1M1$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 305 grants of 326 (94%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Landing Place Inc Greenfield, INOperating Support$86,546
Hancock Health Foundation Greenfield, INOperating Support$84,113
Boys and Girls Club of Hancock Greenfield, INOperating Support$82,082
Hancock County Parks and Recreation Greenfield, INTrail Extension$50,000
Unbound Kansas City, KSOperating Support$49,766
Blue River Foundation Inc Shelbyville, INSupport Funds$45,048
The Arc of Hancock CO Greenfield, INOperating Support$40,479
Dollywood Foundation Pigeon Forge, TNBook Expense$39,812
New Palestine United Methodist New Palestine, INCapital Improvements$36,400
Greenfield Christian Church Greenfield, INOperating Support$35,935

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants Grant count
2025 $77,483,266 $6,091,967 $3,511,661 $1,535,948 81
2024 $65,663,104 $23,605,083 $3,129,043 $1,063,847 66
2023 $57,686,941 $4,023,355 $6,146,985 $4,469,100 62
Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$10M$20M$30M2019202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$77,483,266$65,663,104$57,686,941
Revenue$6,091,967$23,605,083$4,023,355
Expenses$3,511,661$3,129,043$6,146,985
Net Investment Income$2,547,391$20,536,773$2,053,488

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 11, 2024)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 10, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Lee Ann Oden as incoming president, Mary Gibble as outgoing president, William McKinney as chairperson, Katherine Locke as vice-chair, Rick Wittgren as treasurer, and Lindsay Swindell as secretary. It also lists Mark Anderson, Rex Brattain, Susan Broome, and Ethan Elsbury as directors. The filing states that the foundation had nine full-time staff in 2025.

Community Foundation of Hancock is led by Mary Gibble, Outgoing President since 2025 (on filings since 2019); 2 of 21 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Mary Gibble

    Outgoing President

    President → Outgoing President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $100K (2019) → $138K (2025)

  • Lee Ann Oden

    Incoming President

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $10K (2025)

  • William McKinney

    Chairperson

    Director → Vice Chairperson, 2022

    Vice Chairperson → Chairperson, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Harold Olin

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Anderson

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan Broome

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian McKinney

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Megan Ritter

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Spencer

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laura Haeberle

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tonya Galbraith

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katie Molinder

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Natalie Schilling

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rex Brattain

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ethan Elsbury

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tom Joyner

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Troy Griesmeyer

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • George Philhower

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rick Wittgren

    Treasurer

    Director → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Katherine Locke

    Vice Chairperson

    Director → Secretary, 2023

    Secretary → Vice Chairperson, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lindsay Swindell

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (17)
  • Former: Kellie Johnson (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Lori Wean (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Susan Bennett (2019–2024) — Secretary
  • Former: Jan Viehweg (2019–2023) — Chair Emeritus
  • Former: Kevin Harvey (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Miles Hercamp (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Ryan Hammons (2019–2023) — Chairperson
  • Former: Terry Tillett (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Becky Zapf (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Darvin Fenter (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Florence May (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Lacey Willard (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Sandy Miller (2019–2021) — Secretary
  • Former: Stephanie White-Longworth (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Josh Daugherty (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Robert Bogigian (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Bill Weldon (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Mary Gibble — Outgoing Pre: $138KMary GibbleOutgoing Pre$138KLee Ann Oden — Incoming Pre: $10KLee Ann OdenIncoming Pre$10K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $138K, to Mary Gibble (Outgoing Pre). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 971 W Us Hwy 40, Greenfield, IN 46140
Phone: (317) 462-8870
Website: https://celebratehancock.org

Frequently asked questions about Community Foundation of Hancock

How much does Community Foundation of Hancock give each year?

Community Foundation of Hancock gave $1.5M across 81 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.1M across 66 grants.

What is Community Foundation of Hancock's typical grant size?

Community Foundation of Hancock's median grant in 2025 was $11,500, and its average grant was $18,962, across 81 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Community Foundation of Hancock that year got $20K on average.

Where does Community Foundation of Hancock give grants?

Community Foundation of Hancock gives mostly in Indiana: 86% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Greenfield, IN (42 grants), Fortville, IN (6 grants), Indianapolis, IN (5 grants) and New Palestine, IN (4 grants).

Does Community Foundation of Hancock give general operating support?

Yes: 53% of Community Foundation of Hancock's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (43 of 81) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990. Recurring purposes include "Programming Support" (12 grants) and "Program Support" (6 grants).

Who are Community Foundation of Hancock's largest grantees?

Community Foundation of Hancock's largest 2025 grantees include The Landing Place Inc ($86,546), Hancock Health Foundation ($84,113) and Boys and Girls Club of Hancock ($82,082), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 16% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Community Foundation of Hancock?

Community Foundation of Hancock reported $77.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.1M.

What does Community Foundation of Hancock fund?

The foundation’s mission is to provide philanthropic leadership by encouraging giving, learning, community pride, and civic engagement. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Community Foundation of Hancock?

In filing year 2025, the foundation reported 81 grants totaling $1,535,948. Grant amounts ranged from $5,410 to $86,546, with a median of $11,500. The largest listed awards included $86,546 to The Landing Place for operating support, $84,113 to Hancock Health Foundation for operating support, and $82,082 to Boys and Girls Club of Hancock for operating support.

What is Community Foundation of Hancock's EIN?

Community Foundation of Hancock's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 35-1837729. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Community Foundation of Hancock by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Community Foundation of Hancock's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

United Way of Central Indiana Inc

Indianapolis, IN

United Way of Central Indiana funds basic needs, family opportunity, economic mobility, early learning, housing, and human-services-sector support, primarily in Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Marion, Morgan, and Putnam counties. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,238, while current Basic Needs and Family Opportunity awards range from $8,500 to $150,000; those funds accept applications from nonprofits outside its accredited partner network, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$255.2M

Grants

370

Total Given

$29.9M

Lilly Endowment Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Lilly Endowment funds community development, education and youth, and religion, with a national reach—especially in religion—and a particular commitment to Indianapolis and Indiana. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$105.9B

Grants

2,285

Total Given

$3.9B

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Central Indiana Community Foundation Inc

Indianapolis, IN

CICF supports a range of charitable work through its funds and partner entities, including youth programs, housing, social services, environmental equity, and services for older adults, primarily in Central Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. CICF does not award grants directly; most competitive opportunities use its grants portal, while the Hamilton County Multi-Year Partner Grant is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$583.5M

Grants

525

Total Given

$31.1M

Eugene & Marilyn Glick Foundation

Indianapolis, IN

The foundation supports affordable housing, democracy, Jewish cultural life, arts, education, basic needs, and economic mobility, primarily in central Indiana and communities where Glick-managed properties are located. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $17.51 million, with a median of $2,500; current grants are by invitation only, so it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$298.1M

Grants

210

Total Given

$21.3M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

National Collegiate Athletic Association

Indianapolis, IN

Provide a world-class athletics and academic experience for student-athletes that fosters lifelong well-being.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

591

Total Given

$627.8M

University of Notre Dame du Lac

Notre Dame, IN

The University of Notre Dame supports Catholic education, student life, academics, athletics, research, and nonprofit and institutional projects; its 2025 grants had a median of $30,480, though amounts varied widely. Giving is concentrated in Florida and Indiana, with support also going to organizations elsewhere in the U.S.; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited general requests.

Education

Assets

$29.6B

Grants

462

Total Given

$84.8M

Lumina Foundation for Education Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Lumina Foundation funds research, policy, technical assistance, and initiatives that expand equitable access to education and credentials beyond high school, with a national focus. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $2.51 million, with a median of $12,500. It says it does not accept unsolicited requests; funding is primarily proactive, with occasional open calls for proposals.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

357

Total Given

$30.0M

Round Room Gives Inc

Fishers, IN

Round Room Gives supports community organizations and local charitable activities, including education, family services, health, and animal welfare, with grants across about 40 states. In 2024, grants ranged from $250 to $140,000, with a median of $3,452. It accepts applications through an online form on an ongoing basis; applicants must be 501(c)(3) organizations with a TCC employee sponsor.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4M

Grants

357

Total Given

$1.8M

Indianapolis Center for Congregations Inc

Indianapolis, IN

The Center funds Indiana congregations’ focused projects, including resource needs such as consulting, planning, software, and education, as well as eligible equity-related work. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000 (ranging from $5,077 to $100,000); Resource Grants are matching grants of up to $25,000. Applicants are directed to contact a resource consultant, but whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$62.6M

Grants

336

Total Given

$7.6M

More Funders in Indiana

Community Foundation of Hancock down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?