Raynie Foundation
Raynie Foundation is a private foundation based in Champaign, Illinois. Its 2025 filing reports 58 grants totaling $192,750 to charitable organizations, including organizations working in humanitarian aid, health, food access, disaster response, and other charitable areas.
Raynie Foundation at a glance
In short: Raynie Foundation gave $193K across 58 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), top state Illinois. 16% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $192,750
- +7.7% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 58
- +3.6% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $3,323
- +4.0% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $3,000
- Total assets
- $2,127,953
- -1.7% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 16% first-time grantees (9 of 58, 2025)
- Primary geography
- Illinois (30% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Raynie Foundation
- How to Apply
-
The filing says the foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Contact the foundation; no special form is required. Awards are restricted to organizations created or organized in the United States or its possessions for religious, scientific, charitable, literary, or educational purposes.
- Contact
Application contact: Raynie Foundation
Mailing address: 1610 Crabapple Lane, Champaign, IL 61822
Phone: (217) 352-4705
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Raynie Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Action Aid USA ($5K). Together the top 10 received $50K.
Grant Size Distribution
261 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 261 grants of 261 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, 30% of grant dollars went to recipients in Illinois, 19% to recipients in the District of Columbia, 12% to recipients in New York, 8% to recipients in California, and 7% to recipients in Maryland.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 58 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Raynie Foundation open to new grantees?
16%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 9 of 58 grantees (16%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $3K; repeat grants $3K. How we count
Medians: $3K first-time, $3K repeat.
- 79% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 26% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 104% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $87K (2021) to $193K (2025). In 2025 it made 58 grants totaling $193K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Action Aid USA Washington, DC | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Alzheimer Association Chicago, IL | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| American Civil Liberties Union Foun New York, NY | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Americares Park Ridge, IL | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Amnesty International New York, NY | Aid in Charitable Purpos | $5,000 |
| Backstoppers Inc Saint Louis, MO | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Center for Disaster Philanthropy Washington, DC | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Compassion and Choices Etna, NH | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Direct Relief Goleta, CA | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
| Doctors Without Borders USA Hagerstown, MD | Aid in Charitable Purpose | $5,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Raynie Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $2,127,953 | $191,277 | $228,197 | $192,750 | 58 | $222,776 | $106,020 | $214,333 |
| 2024 | $2,164,395 | $173,104 | $204,013 | $179,000 | 56 | $202,414 | $98,651 | $206,692 |
| 2023 | $2,193,705 | $88,226 | $174,800 | $152,000 | 55 | $172,203 | $91,376 | $180,015 |
| 2022 | $2,285,361 | $185,173 | $175,462 | $152,700 | 54 | $170,434 | $60,501 | $155,676 |
| 2021 | $1,678,855 | $128,721 | $105,590 | $86,500 | 38 | $103,553 | $79,205 | $147,230 |
| 2020 | $1,656,943 | $69,893 | $109,831 | $93,250 | 41 | — | $50,234 | $119,677 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Raynie Foundation reported a distributable amount of $214K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
A mission statement for the foundation is not provided. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations with varied charitable activities. For example, Direct Relief describes its work as humanitarian aid for people affected by poverty or emergencies, while Feeding America says it works to ensure equitable access to nutritious food. Team Rubicon describes itself as a veteran-led humanitarian organization serving communities before, during, and after disasters and crises. These are the grantees’ descriptions of their own work, not stated missions of the foundation.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 58 grants totaling $192,750. Grants ranged from $500 to $5,000, with a median of $3,000. Among the grants reported were $5,000 each to Direct Relief, Doctors Without Borders USA, Equal Justice Initiative, Feeding America, Team Rubicon, World Central Kitchen, and the Center for Disaster Philanthropy; Courage Connection received $3,000.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Kristin Safanie and Susan Lowry as trustees.
Raynie Foundation's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Kristin Safanie
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Susan Lowry
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Raynie Foundation
How much does Raynie Foundation give each year?
Raynie Foundation gave $193K across 58 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $179K across 56 grants.
What is Raynie Foundation's typical grant size?
Raynie Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $3,000, and its average grant was $3,323, across 58 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Raynie Foundation that year got $3K on average.
Where does Raynie Foundation give grants?
Raynie Foundation's top state is Illinois, with 30% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were District of Columbia (19%) and New York (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Washington, DC (11 grants), Champaign, IL (8 grants), New York, NY (6 grants) and Chicago, IL (4 grants).
Who are Raynie Foundation's largest grantees?
Raynie Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Action Aid USA ($5,000), Alzheimer Association ($5,000) and American Civil Liberties Union Foun ($5,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 8% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Raynie Foundation?
Raynie Foundation reported $2.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $223K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $214K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Raynie Foundation fund?
A mission statement for the foundation is not provided. Its 2025 grants show support for organizations with varied charitable activities. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Raynie Foundation?
The filing says the foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Raynie Foundation's EIN?
Raynie Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-6086825. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS July 17, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 13, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Raynie Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Illinois
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
The Allstate Foundation
Northbrook, IL
The Allstate Foundation funds youth empowerment, efforts to prevent and address relationship abuse, nonprofit leadership, and related economic opportunity and equity work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $2 million, with a median of $1,000, and awards must support work in the United States. It accepts proposals from organizations beyond a preselected list; proposals are reviewed as received.
Assets
$89.3M
Grants
2,010
Total Given
$38.0M
Elks National Foundation Inc
Chicago, IL
The Elks National Foundation funds scholarships, youth programs, veterans’ services, and charitable projects through Elks Lodges and state associations across the United States. Its 2026 grants had a median size of $10,000, though awards varied widely; the profile describes application routes for specific Lodge and scholarship programs but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$954.1M
Grants
1,536
Total Given
$36.5M
John D and Catherine T Macarthur Foundation
Chicago, IL
The MacArthur Foundation funds work advancing a more just, verdant, and peaceful world, including climate solutions, criminal justice, journalism, technology, and Chicago. In 2024, its grants had a median of $160,000, though awards ranged widely; it generally does not accept unsolicited requests, with possible exceptions for specific open calls or proposals that meet program guidelines.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
1,086
Total Given
$356.1M
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial
Chicago, IL
Arie and Ida Crown Memorial supports education, the environment, health and human services, gun violence prevention, homelessness prevention, and Jewish community and Israel initiatives, with a strong focus on Chicago and giving across the U.S. and internationally. In 2024, its grants ranged from $500 to $3 million, with a median of $55,000. It uses an invitation-only process and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
897
Total Given
$115.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Illinois
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Raynie Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 12, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/raynie-foundation-morg_d1fae3c68c5c4854b7f683d944a0ce8a
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_136086825_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Raynie Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/raynie-foundation-morg_d1fae3c68c5c4854b7f683d944a0ce8a},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-12. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Raynie Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Raynie Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?