Economic Policy Institute logo

Economic Policy Institute

Public charity · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 52-1368964 Website

The Economic Policy Institute (EPI) is a Washington, DC–based nonprofit think tank that researches how economic trends and policies affect working people in the United States. Its work includes research, policy analysis, communications, and advocacy focused on bringing the interests of low- and middle-income workers into economic policy discussions.

Key facts about Economic Policy Institute

In short: Economic Policy Institute gave $4.1M across 38 grants in 2025 (avg $107K), top state Virginia. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

EIN
52-1368964
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$4,052,500
Grants made (2025)
38
Average grant
$106,645
Median grant
$100,000
Total assets
$21,281,763
Primary geography
Virginia (20% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$21.3M

+8.7% YoY

Annual Giving

$4.1M

+5.3% YoY

Grant Count

38

-24.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$107K

+38.6% YoY

How Economic Policy Institute gives

  • 74% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+17%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

EPI states that it uses economics to bring the interests of low- and middle-income workers into policy discussions. Its research and policy work aims to strengthen worker organizing, explain how power and policy shape economic outcomes, and help drive policy change.

Its stated program areas include the Economic Analysis and Research Network (EARN), which brings research and policy organizations together around state and local policy change; the Program on Race, Ethnicity, and the Economy (PREE), which examines how race, ethnicity, and class affect economic outcomes; research; and communications. EPI’s website also describes research on budget, taxes and public investment; child labor; economic growth; education; green economics; health; and immigration.

The 2025 grants include support for organizations with varied missions. For example, the New Mexico Black Leadership Council says it works to foster sustainable leadership and create inclusive opportunities for Black communities and all New Mexicans. Casa San Jose describes itself as a community resource center that advocates for and empowers Latinos. Keystone Research Center says it conducts research and policy development on economic and civic problems. These are the grantees’ own descriptions of their work.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, EPI reported 38 grants totaling $4,052,500. Grant amounts ranged from $10,000 to $700,000, with a median of $100,000. The listed grant purposes were educational research.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Economic Policy Institute?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

EPI’s 2025 grant dollars were distributed across recipient states, with the largest reported shares going to Virginia (20%), Pennsylvania (19%), Missouri (18%), New Mexico (18%), and Colorado (4%). The listed grants also include recipients in the District of Columbia, Wisconsin, Oregon, and Ohio.

Grant Distribution by State

34states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 38 itemized grants.

Cities

Saint LouisRichmondDenverLittle RockMadisonAlbuquerqueAtlantaBereaMontgomeryWashingtonAlexandriaAugustaBirminghamClevelandNew YorkOrlandoPortlandTulsaAustinDes Moines

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M13 grants2019 8 grants2020 39 grants2021 53 grants2022 37 grants2023 50 grants2024 38 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $260K (2019) to $4.1M (2025). In 2025 it made 38 grants totaling $4.1M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

New Mexico Black Leadership Council: $700KNew Mexico Black LeadershipCouncil$700KMissouri Jobs with Justice: $369KMissouri Jobs with Justice$369K1HOOD Media Academy: $188K1HOOD Media Academy$188KCASA San Jose: $188KCASA San Jose$188KKeystone Research Center: $188KKeystone Research Center$188KPittsburgh United: $188KPittsburgh United$188KColorado Fiscal Institute: $150KColorado Fiscal Institute$150KDC Fiscal Policy Institute Inc: $150KDC Fiscal Policy Institute Inc$150KKids Forward: $150KKids Forward$150KOregon Center for Public Policy: $150KOregon Center for PublicPolicy$150K

The largest 2025 recipient was New Mexico Black Leadership Council ($700K). Together the top 10 received $2.4M.

Grant Size Distribution

217 grants across all recorded years

104<$50K30$50–100K78$100–250K4$250–500K1$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 104 grants of 217 (48%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
New Mexico Black Leadership Council Albuquerque, NMEducational Research$700,000
Missouri Jobs with Justice Saint Louis, MOEducational Research$368,750
1HOOD Media Academy Pittsburgh, PAEducational Research$187,500
CASA San Jose Pittsburgh, PAEducational Research$187,500
Keystone Research Center Harrisburg, PAEducational Research$187,500
Pittsburgh United Pittsburgh, PAEducational Research$187,500
Colorado Fiscal Institute Denver, COEducational Research$150,000
DC Fiscal Policy Institute Inc Washington, DCEducational Research$150,000
Kids Forward Madison, WIEducational Research$150,000
Oregon Center for Public Policy Portland, OREducational Research$150,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants reported
2025 $21,281,763 $17,421,520 $14,224,558 $4,052,500
2024 $19,581,014 $11,927,401 $13,581,055 $3,848,333
2023 $21,912,270 $16,155,263 $12,114,104 $3,061,119

The filing type is public charity. EPI’s website reports that in 2024, foundations provided approximately 78% of its funding and labor unions 12%; it also reported support from individuals, corporations, and other organizations.

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$5M$10M$15M$20M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$21,281,763$19,581,014$21,912,270
Revenue$17,421,520$11,927,401$16,155,263
Expenses$14,224,558$13,581,055$12,114,104
Net Investment Income$525,599$335,512$63,834

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 28, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 25, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Heidi Shierholz as president; Liz Shuler as chair; Julianne Malveaux as vice chair; Gary Bass as treasurer; and Teresa Ghilarducci as secretary. It also lists Jennifer Epps as chair of the Nomination & Governance Committee, and Julie Su, April Verrett, Randi Weingarten, and Nina Banks as members.

Economic Policy Institute is led by Heidi Shierholz, President since 2022 (on filings since 2019); 7 of 33 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Heidi Shierholz

    President

    Director of Policy & Senior → Director Pol. & Then President, 2021

    Director Pol. & Then President → President, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    38.8 hrs/week

    $150K (2019) → $235K (2025)

  • Jennifer Epps

    Nomination, Gov. Com. & Chair

    Member → Nomination, Gov. Com. & Chair, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Liz Shuler

    Chair

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Celine McNicholas

    Director Govt Affairs & Labor Counsel

    Director Govt Affairs Labor Counsel → Director Policy & General Counsel, 2023

    Director Policy & General Counsel → Director Govt Affairs & Labor Counsel, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $151K (2019) → $204K (2025)

  • Lyle J. Bivens

    Chief Economist & Director of Research

    Chief Economist & Director Research → Chief Economist & Director Resea, 2024

    Chief Economist & Director Resea → Chief Economist & Director of Research, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $153K (2019) → $197K (2025)

  • Michelle Kannan

    Director of Development

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $221K (2025)

  • Naomi Walker

    Vice President

    Director of Earn → Vice President, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    39 hrs/week

    $151K (2019) → $218K (2025)

  • Barbara J. Western

    Chief Operating Officer

    On filings since 2024

    40 hrs/week

    $203K (2024) → $182K (2025)

  • Adam S. Hersh

    Inst. Economist & Researcher

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $209K (2025)

  • Ernesto J. Cortes Jr.

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Bass

    Treasurer

    Executive Committee Member → Treasurer, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hector R. Cordero-Guzman

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Faux

    Member

    Executive Committee Member → Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jose P. Garza

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julianne Malveaux

    Vice Chair

    Secretary-Treasurer → Secretary, 2021

    Secretary → Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lee Saunders

    Member

    Executive Committee Member → Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lisa Lynch

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lori Pelletier

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nina Banks

    Member

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Randi Weingarten

    Member

    Executive Committee Member → Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Kuttner

    Member

    Executive Committee Member → Member, 2021

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teresa Ghilarducci

    Secretary

    Executive Committee Member → Member, 2021

    Member → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2019

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Becky Pringle

    Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elise Gould

    Member

    On filings since 2021

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jocelyn Frye

    Member

    On filings since 2023

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • April Verrett

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Bryant

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Claude Cummings

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hannah Halbert

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pronita Gupta

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shawn Fain

    Member

    On filings since 2024

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Su

    Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Roxanne Brown

    Member

    New on the 2025 filing

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (31)
  • Former: Manuel Pastor (2019–2024) — Member
  • Former: Valerie R. Wilson (2020–2024) — Director of Pree
  • Former: Elizabeth H. Shuler (2021–2024) — Chair
  • Former: Eve E. Tahmincioglu (2023–2024) — Director Communications
  • Former: Dave McCall (2024) — Member
  • Former: Christopher M. Shelton (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Jacob Hacker (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Keith Ellison (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Mary Kay Henry (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Robert Johnson (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Robert Martinez Jr. (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Wilma Liebman (2019–2023) — Member
  • Former: Tom Conway (2020–2023) — Member
  • Former: Ray Curry (2022–2023) — Member
  • Former: Debra Ness (2019–2022) — Member
  • Former: John T. Schmitt (2019–2022) — Snr Economist & Senior Advisor
  • Former: Robert Eck Scott (2019–2022) — Director Trade & Man Policy Research
  • Former: Thomas Perez (2019–2022) — Member
  • Former: Jasper G. Cox (2021–2022) — Director of Finance & Administrator
  • Former: Arlene Williams (2019–2021) — Director of Development & Strategic Planning
  • Former: Susan Helper (2019–2021) — Member
  • Former: Thea M. Lee (2019–2021) — President
  • Former: Lawrence Mishel (2019–2020) — Distinguished Fellow
  • Former: Lily Eskelsen Garcia (2019–2020) — Member
  • Former: Richard Trumka (2019–2020) — Chairman
  • Former: Monique Morrisey (2020) — Economist
  • Former: Rory Gamble (2020) — Member
  • Former: Barry Bluestone (2019) — Member
  • Former: Gary Jones (2019) — Member
  • Former: Kathleen Townsend (2019) — Diretor of Retirement Security Project
  • Former: Leo Gerard (2019) — Executive Committee Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Heidi Shierholz — President: $235KHeidi ShierholzPresident$235KMichelle Kannan — Director of Development: $221KMichelle KannanDirector of Development$221KNaomi Walker — Vice President: $218KNaomi WalkerVice President$218KAdam S Hersh — Inst. Economist/Researcher: $209KAdam S HershInst. Economist/Researcher$209KCeline McNicholas — Dir. Govt Affairs/Labor Counsel: $204KCeline McNicholasDir. Govt Affairs/Labor Counsel$204KLyle J Bivens — Chief Economist/Dir. of Research: $197KLyle J BivensChief Economist/Dir. of Research$197KBarbara J Western — Chief Operating Officer: $182KBarbara J WesternChief Operating Officer$182K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $235K, to Heidi Shierholz (President). 7 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Contact

Mailing address: 1225 Eye Street Nw 600, Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (202) 775-8810
Website: https://epi.org

Frequently asked questions about Economic Policy Institute

How much does Economic Policy Institute give each year?

Economic Policy Institute gave $4.1M across 38 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $3.8M across 50 grants.

What is Economic Policy Institute's typical grant size?

Economic Policy Institute's median grant in 2025 was $100,000, and its average grant was $106,645, across 38 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Economic Policy Institute give grants?

Economic Policy Institute's top state is Virginia, with 20% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Pennsylvania (19%) and Missouri (18%). The most frequent recipient cities were Saint Louis, MO (5 grants), Richmond, VA (4 grants), Pittsburgh, PA (3 grants) and Albuquerque, NM (2 grants).

Does Economic Policy Institute give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 38 grants with a stated purpose on Economic Policy Institute's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Educational Research" (38 grants).

Who are Economic Policy Institute's largest grantees?

Economic Policy Institute's largest 2025 grantees include New Mexico Black Leadership Council ($700,000), Missouri Jobs with Justice ($368,750) and 1HOOD Media Academy ($187,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 31% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Economic Policy Institute?

Economic Policy Institute reported $21.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $17.4M.

What does Economic Policy Institute fund?

EPI states that it uses economics to bring the interests of low- and middle-income workers into policy discussions. Its research and policy work aims to strengthen worker organizing, explain how power and policy shape economic outcomes, and help drive policy change. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Economic Policy Institute?

Economic Policy Institute has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check epi.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is Economic Policy Institute's EIN?

Economic Policy Institute's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 52-1368964. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Economic Policy Institute by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Economic Policy Institute's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Washington, DC

CBPP funds policy organizations conducting research, analysis, and advocacy on budgets, taxes, poverty, low-income programs, and health policy. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $300,000, with a median of $50,000, and supported organizations across multiple states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Public, Societal Benefit

Assets

$172.0M

Grants

148

Total Given

$10.7M

The Ford Foundation

New York, NY

The Ford Foundation funds organizations, individuals, and ideas working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work in areas such as immigrant justice, criminal justice reform, gender equity, and arts and culture, through grants around the world. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000, with amounts ranging from $45 to $15 million; it does not accept unsolicited requests by mail, email, or phone.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5B

Grants

4,007

Total Given

$844.7M

Marguerite Casey Foundation

Seattle, WA

The Marguerite Casey Foundation funds community organizing, leadership development, and efforts advancing democracy, economic justice, and public resources, with a focus on shifting power toward excluded communities; it gives across multiple states and Washington, DC. In 2024, grants ranged from $200 to $1.5 million, with a median of $50,000. It is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$876.6M

Grants

208

Total Given

$33.0M

United States Energy Foundation

San Francisco, CA

United States Energy Foundation funds education and analysis advancing clean, equitable energy policy, including work on power, transportation, buildings, and industry, across the United States. In 2024, grants ranged from $10,000 to $21 million, with a median of $135,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; grantseekers must be invited to submit a proposal.

Assets

$215.7M

Grants

597

Total Given

$166.3M

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

Proteus Fund Inc

Waltham, MA

Proteus Fund supports social justice initiatives advancing racial, gender, queer, and disability justice and inclusive democracy, primarily through national grantmaking and collaborative funds. Its 2024 grants ranged from $25,000 to $2 million, with a median of $50,000. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests; its RISE Together Fund has a separate, time-limited open call.

Education

Assets

$67.1M

Grants

219

Total Given

$21.6M

NCRC Community Development Fund Inc

Washington, DC

NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$55.6M

Grants

2,666

Total Given

$149.3M

Greater Washington Community Foundation

Washington, DC

The Greater Washington Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives across areas including education, health, human services, arts, economic development, and workforce development, with a focus on equity and economic justice. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.1 million, with a median of $20,000; it centers its work on DC, Montgomery and Prince George’s counties, and Northern Virginia. It accepts applications through scheduled competitive grant rounds and some solicited, invite-only opportunities; donor-recommended grants are not open to applicants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$518.3M

Grants

1,417

Total Given

$116.9M

National Fish and Wildlife Foundation

Washington, DC

The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation funds competitive projects that conserve or restore fish, wildlife, plants, and habitats, including habitat restoration, species recovery, and coastal and watershed resilience; it does not fund advocacy or litigation. It works across all 50 states and U.S. territories, with a 2024 median grant of $81,584 and awards ranging from $5,169 to $29 million. Applications are made through specific grant programs and their requests for proposals; whether unsolicited requests are accepted is not stated.

Assets

$3.6B

Grants

1,286

Total Given

$464.4M

AARP

Washington, DC

AARP funds organizations working on aging-related issues, including technology access, caregiving, legal services, research, and community programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,020 to $7.4 million, with a median of $15,000; reported grant dollars were concentrated in New York, Washington, DC, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether AARP accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$13.1B

Grants

688

Total Given

$35.8M

Frontstream Global Fund

Washington, DC

FrontStream Global Fund distributes donations raised through workplace giving, corporate philanthropy, and other fundraising activities to donor-designated IRS-recognized 501(c)(3) charities across the United States. Its 2025 grants had a median of $13,714 and ranged from $5,003 to $358,589. It distributes funds according to donor recommendations; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.

Human Services

Assets

$421K

Grants

556

Total Given

$13.4M

More Funders in District of Columbia

Economic Policy Institute down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?