Delaware County Foundation
The Delaware County Foundation is a public charity based in Powell, Ohio. Established in 1995, it supports nonprofit organizations serving Delaware County residents and provides scholarships to students from the county pursuing higher education and other eligible study.
Delaware County Foundation at a glance
In short: Delaware County Foundation gave $1.8M across 93 grants in 2024 (avg $19K), mostly in Ohio. 28% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $1,801,206
- +4.8% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 93
- +10.7% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $19,368
- -5.3% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $12,000
- Total assets
- $33,627,404
- +37.7% vs 2023
- New grantees (estimate)
- 28% first-time grantees (26 of 93, 2024)
- Primary geography
- Ohio (89% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Delaware County Foundation
- How to Apply
-
Eligible organizations and government entities may apply for community grants. A written grant agreement signed by the recipient nonprofit’s executive director or president must confirm the intended use of funds. A written report on use of funds, including budget information and signatures from the nonprofit’s executive director and board president, is required within six months of the award. Scholarship awards require official transcripts.
- Next open deadline
- February 28, 2027 (Delaware County Foundation Scholarships)
- Contact
Mailing address: 110 Riverbend Avenue 101, Powell, OH 43065
Phone: (614) 764-2332
Website: https://delawarecf.org
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Open Grants
2 open opportunities from Delaware County Foundation
Delaware County Foundation Scholarships
Delaware County Foundation
Amount
$1,000 - $5,000+
Deadline
Expected ~February
Based on past cycles
Delaware County Foundation: Community Grants
Delaware County Foundation
Amount
US $2,500 - US $20,000
Deadline
Expected ~July
Based on past cycles
Who Delaware County Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Common Ground Free Store ($93K). Together the top 10 received $632K.
Grant Size Distribution
323 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 297 grants of 323 (92%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Community grant applicants must propose projects benefiting Delaware County, Ohio residents. The Foundation’s website also describes its charitable giving as serving Delaware County and beyond.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 93 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Delaware County Foundation open to new grantees?
28%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 26 of 93 grantees (28%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $14K; repeat grants $21K. How we count
Medians: $10K first-time, $15K repeat.
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $632K (2020) to $1.8M (2024). In 2024 it made 93 grants totaling $1.8M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Common Ground Free Store Delaware, OH | Grant Distribution | $92,706 |
| People in Need Inc of Delaware County Ohio Delaware, OH | General Support | $92,428 |
| Delaware City School District Delaware, OH | General Support | $78,310 |
| Delaware County Cultural Arts Centerarts Castle Delaware, OH | General Support | $74,750 |
| Alpha Group of Delaware Inc Delaware, OH | General Support | $58,000 |
| I-Fred Baltimore, MD | General Support | $50,000 |
| Strand Theatre & Cultural Arts Association Inc Delaware, OH | General Support | $50,000 |
| Grace Clinic of Delaware Ohio Delaware, OH | For Space Expansion | $49,448 |
| Village of Ostrander Ostrander, OH | General Support | $45,088 |
| Neighborhood Bridges Westerville, OH | General Support | $40,900 |
Ready to take the next step with Delaware County Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $33,627,404 | $11,037,786 | $3,660,274 | $1,801,206 | 93 | $1,411,876 |
| 2023 | $24,422,314 | $6,568,339 | $3,179,569 | $1,717,953 | 84 | $2,486,922 |
| 2022 | $20,255,345 | $3,259,062 | $2,312,914 | $1,196,381 | 59 | $668,223 |
| 2021 | $23,022,460 | $6,756,665 | $2,253,162 | $1,249,011 | 58 | $1,176,294 |
| 2020 | $17,128,158 | $2,572,881 | $1,585,862 | $631,998 | 29 | $712,204 |
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The Foundation’s mission is to strengthen communities by connecting people through charitable giving. Its stated programs include grants to nonprofit organizations serving Delaware County residents and scholarships for students from the county.
Community grant areas include animal welfare, arts and culture, basic needs, education, economic opportunity, and the environment. The Foundation also gives preference to programs addressing recovery, housing, mental health and healthcare, basic needs, ESL and community inclusion, community safety, and workforce development.
Examples of supported organizations illustrate the range of grantee work. Common Ground Free Store says its mission is to provide free clothing and household items to people in need. Alpha Group of Delaware says it offers programs and services to help people with disabilities achieve their goals. Del-Mor Dwellings says it provides rent-assisted, permanent supportive housing to eligible people with disabling mental health conditions.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2024, the Foundation reported 93 grants totaling $1,801,206. Grant amounts ranged from $5,500 to $92,706, with a median of $12,000. Most grant dollars went to recipients in Ohio (89%); recipients in Iowa and Maryland each received 3%, and Colorado and Georgia each received 1%.
Among the largest 2024 awards were $92,706 to Common Ground Free Store, $92,428 to People in Need Inc. of Delaware County, $78,310 to Delaware City School District, $74,750 to Delaware County Cultural Arts Center/Arts Castle, and $58,000 to Alpha Group of Delaware. Other notable awards included $50,000 each to I-FRED and Strand Theatre & Cultural Arts Association, and $49,448 to Grace Clinic of Delaware Ohio.
The Community Grants program lists awards of $2,500–$20,000. Eligible applicants include qualifying 501(c)(3) organizations, governmental or other publicly funded entities, and organizations with a qualified tax-exempt fiscal sponsor. Projects must benefit Delaware County residents; grants are not made to individuals. Exclusions include non-secular activities or those promoting religious doctrine, academic or medical research, annual fundraising campaigns or events, endowment contributions, debt or legal settlements, and political or partisan purposes.
The Foundation also offers more than 50 scholarship programs annually, with awards ranging from $1,000 to over $5,000 for eligible students pursuing undergraduate study, vocational training, or professional development. Most scholarship deadlines are February 28 annually.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
Officers and directors listed on the 2024 filing are Jim Waters, chair; Paula Tarpey, vice chair; Keith Copeland, secretary; Tracy MacDowell, treasurer; and directors Eric Bull, Scott Cubberly, Adam Hansberry, Pamela Hutchinson, Mattew Vandenberg, and Jerry Borin.
Delaware County Foundation is led by Chris Baker, President since 2023 (on filings since 2020); 1 of 13 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Chris Baker
President
President & CEO → President, 2023
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$105K (2020) → $137K (2024)
Jim Waters
Chair
Treasurer → Vice Chair, 2022
Vice Chair → Chair, 2023
On filings since 2020
6 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Eric Bull
Director
Assistant Treasurer → Secretary, 2023
Secretary → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Pamela Hutchinson
Director
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Scott Cubberly
Director
Director → Treasurer, 2022
Treasurer → Director, 2024
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Adam Hansberry
Director
On filings since 2023
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mattew Vandenberg
Director
On filings since 2023
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Anne Saxon
Director
New on the 2024 filing
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Cherie Smith
Director
New on the 2024 filing
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jerry Borin
Director
New on the 2024 filing
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Paula Tarpey
Vice Chair
Director → Vice Chair, 2023
On filings since 2020
6 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Keith Copeland
Secretary
Director → Assistant Secretary, 2023
Assistant Secretary → Secretary, 2024
On filings since 2021
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Tracy Macdowell
Treasurer
Director → Assistant Treasurer, 2023
Assistant Treasurer → Treasurer, 2024
On filings since 2021
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (11)
- Former: Allison Beckman (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Jasmine Green (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Frank Reinhard (2020–2022) — Secretary
- Former: Geoffrey Kunkler (2020–2022) — Chair
- Former: Rockwell Jones (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Wayne Jenkins (2020–2022) — Director
- Former: Gary Merrell (2022) — Director
- Former: Matthew Weller (2020–2021) — Chair
- Former: Skip Weiler (2020–2021) — Director
- Former: Jason Michaels (2020) — Director
- Former: Lance Rapp (2020) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $137K, to Chris Baker (President).
Frequently asked questions about Delaware County Foundation
How much does Delaware County Foundation give each year?
Delaware County Foundation gave $1.8M across 93 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. In 2023 it gave $1.7M across 84 grants.
What is Delaware County Foundation's typical grant size?
Delaware County Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $12,000, and its average grant was $19,368, across 93 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Organizations receiving their first grant from Delaware County Foundation that year got $14K on average.
Where does Delaware County Foundation give grants?
Delaware County Foundation gives mostly in Ohio: 89% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Delaware, OH (31 grants), Columbus, OH (22 grants), Powell, OH (4 grants) and New Albany, OH (3 grants).
Does Delaware County Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 82% of Delaware County Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (76 of 93) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990. Recurring purposes include "Semi-Annual Grant" (7 grants).
Who are Delaware County Foundation's largest grantees?
Delaware County Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Common Ground Free Store ($92,706), People in Need Inc of Delaware County Ohio ($92,428) and Delaware City School District ($78,310), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990. Together they received 15% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Delaware County Foundation?
Delaware County Foundation reported $33.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $11.0M.
What does Delaware County Foundation fund?
The Foundation’s mission is to strengthen communities by connecting people through charitable giving. Its stated programs include grants to nonprofit organizations serving Delaware County residents and scholarships for students from the county. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Delaware County Foundation?
Eligible organizations and government entities may apply for community grants. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Delaware County Foundation's EIN?
Delaware County Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-1450786. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 11, 2021)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 13, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 14, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 2, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Delaware County Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Ohio
Columbus Foundation
Columbus, OH
The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.
Assets
$2.8B
Grants
1,747
Total Given
$242.7M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,408
Total Given
$184.4M
The Cleveland Foundation
Cleveland, OH
The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
1,016
Total Given
$184.2M
The Scripps Howard Foundation
Cincinnati, OH
The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$69.4M
Grants
819
Total Given
$7.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Ohio
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Delaware County Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 10, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/delaware-county-foundation-morg_4df818a59bbc449ca50944aea53f2549
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_311450786_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Delaware County Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/delaware-county-foundation-morg_4df818a59bbc449ca50944aea53f2549},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-10. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Delaware County Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Delaware County Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?