R & M Clark Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Edina, MN EIN: 86-0778653

The R & M Clark Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Edina, Minnesota. It makes grants to charitable organizations, with 55 grants totaling $300,000 reported for 2025.

Key facts about R & M Clark Family Foundation

In short: R & M Clark Family Foundation gave $300K across 55 grants in 2025 (avg $5K), top state Oregon. 7% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
86-0778653
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$300,000
Grants made (2025)
55
Average grant
$5,455
Median grant
$5,000
New grantees (estimate)
7% first-time grantees (4 of 54, 2025)
Total assets
$6,451,001
Primary geography
Oregon (34% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$6.5M

+8.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$300K

+0.0% YoY

Grant Count

55

+0.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$5K

+0.0% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, R & M Clark Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $304K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is R & M Clark Family Foundation open to new grantees?

7%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 4 of 54 grantees (7%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $8K; repeat grants $5K. How we count

Medians: $2K first-time, $5K repeat.

  • 93% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−5%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 99% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No formal mission statement is provided. The 2025 grants show support for organizations working in varied areas. For example, DePauw University describes its mission as developing leaders through a commitment to the liberal arts, and Living Well Disability Services says it transforms the lives of people impacted by disabilities through exceptional services. Bridging Inc says it helps people thrive in their homes by providing furniture and household goods to people pursuing housing stability. Relief Nursery Inc describes its work as preventing child abuse and neglect through early intervention, while Eugene Mission Inc says it provides emergency services and long-term solutions for homeless neighbors.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation made 55 grants totaling $300,000. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $25,000, with a median of $5,000. In 2024 it made 55 grants totaling $300,000; in 2023 it made 57 grants totaling $342,000.

Among its 2025 grants, Baucom Elementary PTA received $25,000, Alzheimer’s Association and Big Brothers Big Sisters each received $20,000, and DePauw University and Eastern Local School District each received $10,000. Living Well Disability Services and Port Washington Medical Clinic also received $10,000 each. The listed grant purposes were “GENERAL FUND.”

How to Apply

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with R & M Clark Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, the largest shares of grant dollars went to organizations in Oregon (34%), Minnesota (27%), Ohio (12%), North Carolina (8%), and Florida (4%). Its grants also included recipients in Indiana and Missouri.

Grant Distribution by State

18states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 55 itemized grants.

Cities

EugeneMinneapolisEdinaSpringfieldSt. PaulSanta Rosa BeachBloomingtonGreencastleHeathMendota HeightsNewarkPhoenixReedsvilleDurhamHappy ValleyStaten IslandTopshamWaltonDenverHallowell

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K$400K53 grants2020 59 grants2021 59 grants2022 57 grants2023 55 grants2024 55 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $251K (2020) to $360K (2021). In 2025 it made 55 grants totaling $300K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Alzheimer's Association: $25K across 2 grantsAlzheimer's Association$25K · 2 grantsBaucom Elementary PTA: $25KBaucom Elementary PTA$25KBig Brothersbig Sisters: $20KBig Brothersbig Sisters$20KDepauw University: $10KDepauw University$10KEastern Local School District: $10KEastern Local School District$10KLiving Well Disability Services: $10KLiving Well DisabilityServices$10KPort Washington Medical Clinic: $10KPort Washington Medical Clinic$10KMeetinghouse Church: $8KMeetinghouse Church$8KMinneapolis Young Life: $8KMinneapolis Young Life$8KSouthdale YMCA: $8KSouthdale YMCA$8K

The largest 2025 recipient was Alzheimer's Association ($25K across 2 grants). Together the top 10 received $134K.

Grant Size Distribution

285 grants across all recorded years

285<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 285 grants of 285 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Baucom Elementary PTA Apex, NCGeneral Fund$25,000
Alzheimer's Association Minnetonka, MNGeneral Fund$20,000
Big Brothersbig Sisters Newark, OHGeneral Fund$20,000
Depauw University Greencastle, INGeneral Fund$10,000
Eastern Local School District Reedsville, OHGeneral Fund$10,000
Living Well Disability Services Mendota Heights, MNGeneral Fund$10,000
Port Washington Medical Clinic Santa Rosa Beach, FLGeneral Fund$10,000
Meetinghouse Church Edina, ORGeneral Fund$8,000
Minneapolis Young Life Minneapolis, MNGeneral Fund$8,000
Southdale YMCA Edina, MNGeneral Fund$8,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Grants Grant count
2025 $300,000 55
2024 $300,000 55
2023 $342,000 57
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$6,451,001$5,945,084$5,488,638
Revenue$853,793$787,323$444,892
Expenses$347,876$330,877$401,172
Qualifying Distributions$302,750$302,500$344,950
Net Investment Income$828,444$762,817$422,395
Distributable Amount$304,408$281,372$255,072

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 7, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 5, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 11, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 14, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Carole Lee Randall as President/Director, Thomas E Clark as Vice President/Director, and James W Clark as Secretary/Treasurer/Director.

R & M Clark Family Foundation is led by Carole Lee Randall, President & Director on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Carole Lee Randall

    President & Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • James W. Clark

    Secretary, Treasurer & Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Thomas E. Clark

    Vice President & Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 5565 W 70Th Street, Edina, MN 55439
Phone: (480) 483-1170

Frequently asked questions about R & M Clark Family Foundation

How much does R & M Clark Family Foundation give each year?

R & M Clark Family Foundation gave $300K across 55 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $300K across 55 grants.

What is R & M Clark Family Foundation's typical grant size?

R & M Clark Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $5,455, across 55 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from R & M Clark Family Foundation that year got $8K on average.

Where does R & M Clark Family Foundation give grants?

R & M Clark Family Foundation's top state is Oregon, with 34% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Minnesota (27%) and Ohio (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Eugene, OR (18 grants), Minneapolis, MN (6 grants), Edina, MN (2 grants) and St. Paul, MN (2 grants).

Does R & M Clark Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of R & M Clark Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (55 of 55) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are R & M Clark Family Foundation's largest grantees?

R & M Clark Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Alzheimer's Association ($25,000 across 2 grants), Baucom Elementary PTA ($25,000) and Big Brothersbig Sisters ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 23% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is R & M Clark Family Foundation?

R & M Clark Family Foundation reported $6.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $303K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $304K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does R & M Clark Family Foundation fund?

No formal mission statement is provided. The 2025 grants show support for organizations working in varied areas. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from R & M Clark Family Foundation?

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is R & M Clark Family Foundation's EIN?

R & M Clark Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 86-0778653. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does R & M Clark Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching R & M Clark Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in R & M Clark Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Minnesota

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Chambers Family Foundation

Eugene, OR

The Chambers Family Foundation funds arts, education, medical, health, and community initiatives, with priority for projects serving Lane and Benton counties, Oregon. In 2025, grants ranged from $500 to $301,000, with a median of $5,000. It accepts unsolicited requests; applications may be submitted year-round and are generally reviewed in June and December.

Assets

$17.6M

Grants

125

Total Given

$1.2M

The Minneapolis Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Minneapolis Foundation funds civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education, health, the environment, arts, and human services, with most grant dollars going to Minnesota. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. It says no funding opportunities are currently open; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

1,565

Total Given

$121.7M

Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation

St. Paul, MN

The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic opportunity, health and human services, youth and education, housing, and organizational capacity. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000; listed programs offer up to $50,000 for eligible East Metro work and up to $15,000 for qualifying Minnesota organizations. It accepts applications through specific programs, including rolling application opportunities; the Community Solutions Grant Program serves Dakota, Ramsey, and Washington counties.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

1,473

Total Given

$107.2M

The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$218.3M

Grants

1,431

Total Given

$47.9M

Wells Fargo Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

Wells Fargo Foundation funds financial opportunity, affordable housing, small business growth, and some other local community needs across national and eligible local communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations may submit a grant interest form to be considered for an invitation.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8.6M

Grants

1,376

Total Given

$157.4M

C K Blandin Foundation

Grand Rapids, MN

The C K Blandin Foundation funds rural Minnesota projects that build community wealth, improve rural places, strengthen small communities, and support capacity-building, with a primary focus on the Grand Rapids area. Rural grants are typically $25,000–$150,000; it does not accept unsolicited requests, offering opportunities through invitations or competitive RFPs.

Assets

$506.3M

Grants

931

Total Given

$15.8M

The McKnight Foundation

Minneapolis, MN

The McKnight Foundation funds arts and culture, resilient food systems, Midwest climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, with Minnesota a primary focus for several programs and work also extending beyond the state. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000; prospective applicants should first discuss fit with program staff, who provide proposal instructions if the work can be considered.

Assets

$2.7B

Grants

790

Total Given

$145.9M

Neighborhood Development Center Inc

Saint Paul, MN

Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.

Human Services

Assets

$55.3M

Grants

571

Total Given

$10.2M

Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund

Duluth, MN

The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to students from northern Minnesota pursuing approved mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, with eligibility depending on the scholarship pathway. Its typical award is $2,500 (2025 grants ranged from $2,500 to $3,000), and the high-school pathway is limited to students from ten Minnesota counties. It uses applications available through its website; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$18.4M

Grants

566

Total Given

$1.5M

More Funders in Minnesota

R & M Clark Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?