Onan Family Foundation
The Onan Family Foundation is a private foundation in Minnesota. Its 2025 filing lists Duluth as its location, while the foundation’s website describes it as a private philanthropy located in Minneapolis. It makes grants to tax-exempt organizations in education, social welfare, cultural and civic affairs, and religion, with a stated strong interest in programs centered in Minneapolis and St. Paul.
Onan Family Foundation at a glance
In short: Onan Family Foundation gave $298K across 30 grants in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Minnesota. 7% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $297,500
- +8.6% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 30
- -6.3% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $9,917
- +15.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $10,000
- Total assets
- $4,393,754
- -4.0% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 7% first-time grantees (2 of 29, 2025)
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (82% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Onan Family Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests. It makes grants only to pre-selected organizations; organizations asked to submit a proposal and ongoing recipients are invited to make annual requests using the Minnesota Common Grant Application Form. Requests should be submitted as a PDF, ideally as one file under 20 MB, and should include the application and the organization’s IRS determination letter.
- Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 50667, Minneapolis, MN 55405
Phone: (612) 226-1198
Website: https://onanfamily.org
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Onan Family Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Dunwoody College ($20K). Together the top 10 received $153K.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($27,000), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
147 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 147 grants of 147 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The foundation states a strong interest in programs centered in Minneapolis and St. Paul. In 2025, 82% of grant dollars went to recipients in Minnesota, 13% to Wisconsin, and 5% to Arizona.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 30 itemized grants.
Cities
Is Onan Family Foundation open to new grantees?
7%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 2 of 29 grantees (7%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $18K; repeat grants $9K. How we count
Medians: $18K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 93% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+7%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 99% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $233K (2021) to $298K (2025). In 2025 it made 30 grants totaling $298K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 1 individual scholarship Recipients not named | — | $27,000 |
| Dunwoody College Minneapolis, MN | Scholarships | $20,000 |
| Northwood Technical College Shell Lake, WI | Scholarships | $20,000 |
| Christ Community Lutheran School Watertown, MN | General Support | $20,000 |
| People Responding Social Ministry Golden Valley, MN | General Support | $15,000 |
| Can Do Canines New Hope, MN | General support | $15,000 |
| Cactus Foothills Little League Cave Creek, AZ | General Support | $15,000 |
| Hennepin County Technical College Eden Prairie, MN | General Support | $13,500 |
| Hope Kids Eden Prairie, MN | General support | $12,000 |
| Urban Boatbuilders St. Paul, MN | General support | $12,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Onan Family Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $4,393,754 | $189,445 | $372,402 | $297,500 | 30 | $348,172 | $165,215 | $352,481 |
| 2024 | $4,576,711 | $326,851 | $338,228 | $274,000 | 32 | $313,958 | $305,714 | $333,766 |
| 2023 | $4,588,088 | $-161,863 | $326,015 | $263,000 | 28 | $306,313 | $75,161 | $309,431 |
| 2022 | $5,075,966 | $401,954 | $347,832 | $279,000 | 33 | $328,901 | $378,385 | $312,810 |
| 2021 | $5,021,849 | $619,373 | $306,392 | $232,500 | 24 | $284,847 | $597,828 | $333,494 |
| 2020 | $4,709,043 | $747,418 | $301,390 | $233,000 | 27 | — | $728,553 | $288,061 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Onan Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $352K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation does not state a mission in the available information. Its grant guidelines identify education, social welfare, cultural and civic affairs, and religion as funding areas.
Its 2025 grants included support for colleges, youth programs, social services, arts and cultural organizations, and community organizations. Grantee missions illustrate this range: Northwood Technical College Foundation says it supports quality education and student success; Can Do Canines says it creates partnerships between people and specially trained dogs; and Urban Boatbuilders says it empowers youth through woodworking and experiential learning.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 30 grants totaling $297,500. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $27,000, with a median of $10,000. Among its largest grants were $27,000 to an individual recipient Community College for scholarships; $20,000 each to Dunwoody College for scholarships, Northwood Technical College for scholarships, and Christ Community Lutheran School for general support; and $15,000 each to People Responding Social Ministry, Can Do Canines, and Cactus Foothills Little League for general support.
The foundation says it prefers not to fund endowments, capital funds, or trips or tours. It does not fund individuals or organizations that attempt to influence legislation, carry on propaganda, or participate or intervene in political campaigns.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Sarah Boswell Healey as president, Laura Girard as secretary, David Onan as treasurer, and Charles Onan and Karen Onan as trustees.
Onan Family Foundation is led by Sarah Boswell Healey, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Sarah Boswell Healey
President
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Charles Onan
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Karen Onan
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Onan
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Laura Girard
Secretary
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Onan Family Foundation
How much does Onan Family Foundation give each year?
Onan Family Foundation gave $298K across 30 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $274K across 32 grants.
What is Onan Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Onan Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $9,917, across 30 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Onan Family Foundation that year got $18K on average.
Where does Onan Family Foundation give grants?
Onan Family Foundation gives mostly in Minnesota: 82% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Wisconsin (13%) and Arizona (5%). The most frequent recipient cities were Minneapolis, MN (6 grants), St. Paul, MN (4 grants), Eden Prairie, MN (2 grants) and Iron River, WI (2 grants).
Does Onan Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 90% of Onan Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (27 of 30) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Scholarships" (3 grants).
Who are Onan Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Onan Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Dunwoody College ($20,000), Northwood Technical College ($20,000) and Christ Community Lutheran School ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($27,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 20% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Onan Family Foundation?
Onan Family Foundation reported $4.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $348K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $352K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Onan Family Foundation fund?
The foundation does not state a mission in the available information. Its grant guidelines identify education, social welfare, cultural and civic affairs, and religion as funding areas. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Onan Family Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Onan Family Foundation's EIN?
Onan Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 41-6033631. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Onan Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 31, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS April 27, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 1, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 12, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 10, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Other open foundation grants in Minnesota
Minnesota Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Onan Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Longview Foundation
Milwaukee, WI
Longview Foundation primarily supports global education, including teacher preparation, K–12 initiatives, and programs that bring international perspectives into U.S. education. Its teacher-preparation grants are typically $10,000–$22,000, with up to $30,000 for multi-institution initiatives; its 2024 filing says all grant dollars went to Wisconsin recipients. It does not accept unsolicited requests; full proposals are by invitation only.
Assets
$17.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$3.2M
Otto Bremer Trust
St. Paul, MN
The Otto Bremer Trust funds organizations and projects addressing community needs and opportunities, including health care and social services, in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin. In 2025, grants ranged from $3,500 to $4.2 million, with a median of $150,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests or direct grant applications; Community Responsive Fund grants are offered through selected intermediaries.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
180
Total Given
$57.2M
Tradition Family Foundation
Lakeville, MN
Tradition Family Foundation supports youth hockey programs and families with disabilities, with its 2025 grants going to Minnesota recipients. Recent awards ranged from $500 to $2,000, though its annual grantmaking has varied substantially. It accepts applications using its grant cover sheet or the Minnesota Common Grant Application, with a narrative; no deadline is stated.
Assets
$33K
Grants
4
Total Given
$4K
Rodney and Barbara Burwell Family
Minnetonka, MN
The foundation supports education, arts, and human services organizations, with most 2025 grant dollars going to recipients in Colorado and Minnesota. It made 30 grants in 2025, ranging from $100 to $375,000, with a median grant of $2,500. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$9.6M
Grants
30
Total Given
$514K
Engelsma Family Foundation
Sioux Falls, SD
The Engelsma Family Foundation supports organizations working in youth services, health care, education, and family support, with most of its giving in Minnesota. Its 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $50,250, with a median award of $4,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.
Assets
$5.8M
Grants
47
Total Given
$431K
Mithun Family Foundation
Wayzata, MN
The Mithun Family Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, including those focused on disability services, conservation, education, and the arts, with grants across several states, especially California and Minnesota. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,000 to $374,000, with a median of $20,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$55.6M
Grants
83
Total Given
$3.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Minnesota
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Onan Family Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 26, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/onan-family-foundation-morg_ea65844a09b34191a80f2d09074f90c9
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_416033631_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Onan Family Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/onan-family-foundation-morg_ea65844a09b34191a80f2d09074f90c9},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-26. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Onan Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Onan Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?