Max Kagan Family Foundation
The Max Kagan Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Auburn, Maine. Its 2024 filing lists 85 grants totaling $313,565, with grant purposes reported as operational support. Its 2025 filing, the latest on this page, reports 75 grants totaling $196,900.
Max Kagan Family Foundation at a glance
In short: Max Kagan Family Foundation gave $197K across 75 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), top state Massachusetts. 57% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $196,900
- -37.2% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 75
- -11.8% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $2,625
- -28.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $1,800
- Total assets
- $3,963,001
- +0.3% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 57% first-time grantees (43 of 75, 2025)
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (24% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated November 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Max Kagan Family Foundation
- How to Apply
-
The foundation states that it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. The filing names Dr. Candace K. Platz as the contact. Application form and materials, restrictions on awards, and deadlines are listed as N/A.
- Contact
Application contact: Dr Candace K Platz
Mailing address: PO Box 1240, Auburn, ME 04211
Phone: (207) 576-1170
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Max Kagan Family Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Pals Skyhope ($15K). Together the top 10 received $77K.
Grant Size Distribution
409 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 409 grants of 409 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, the largest shares of grant dollars went to recipients in New York (29%), Massachusetts (15%), Florida (15%), Maine (11%), and California (10%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 75 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Max Kagan Family Foundation open to new grantees?
57%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 43 of 75 grantees (57%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $3K; repeat grants $2K. How we count
Medians: $2K first-time, $2K repeat.
- 36% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving fell 23% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 71% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $197K (2025) to $314K (2024). In 2025 it made 75 grants totaling $197K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Pals Skyhope Farmingdale, NY | Operational Support | $15,000 |
| Angels for Angels Seattle, WA | Operational Support | $11,600 |
| Maine Jewish Museum Portland, ME | Operational Support | $10,000 |
| Tucson Jewish Museum Tucson, AZ | Operational Support | $7,500 |
| Maine Holocaust & Human Rights Augusta, ME | Operational Support | $7,000 |
| Cure Alzheimers Fund Wellesley Hills, MA | Operational Support | $5,500 |
| Temple Shalom Synagogue Auburn, ME | Operational Support | $5,000 |
| Riding to the Top Windham, ME | Operational Support | $5,000 |
| ETZ Chaim Portland, ME | Operational Support | $5,000 |
| Jewish Fed of Collier County Naples, FL | Operational Support | $5,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Max Kagan Family Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $3,963,001 | $317,636 | $247,955 | $196,900 | 75 | $203,972 | $228,853 | $289,297 |
| 2024 | $3,952,869 | $577,273 | $384,887 | $313,565 | 85 | $321,042 | $470,993 | $264,134 |
| 2023 | $3,760,483 | $290,617 | $268,346 | $212,400 | 72 | $217,803 | $200,446 | $240,191 |
| 2022 | $3,738,212 | $335,774 | $336,004 | $255,220 | 92 | $261,282 | $234,542 | $241,169 |
| 2021 | $3,738,442 | $660,491 | $324,280 | $245,615 | 85 | $254,509 | $555,079 | $266,552 |
| 2020 | $3,402,231 | $464,264 | $352,388 | $299,420 | 78 | — | $346,172 | $228,480 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Max Kagan Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $289K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants include support for organizations whose work spans several areas. For example, Brooke USA says it supports sustainable equine welfare programs across multiple regions, while Friends of Yad Sarah describes providing services to ill and injured people in Israel. American Friends of Magen David Adom says it supports the life-saving efforts of Magen David Adom in Israel. Other 2024 recipients include organizations that describe their work as combating antisemitism and hate, supporting people with Huntington’s disease and their families, and providing social, vocational, and educational connections for people with disabilities.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation made 85 grants totaling $313,565. Awards ranged from $100 to $20,000, with a median grant of $2,500. Among the largest grants were $20,000 to Friends of Israel Defense Force, $13,750 to Brooke USA, $12,500 to Friends of Yad Sarah, and $11,250 to Palsskyhope. The listed purpose for these grants was operational support. Its 2025 filing, the latest on this page, reports 75 grants totaling $196,900.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Richard Grossman, Dr. Candace K. Platz, Daniel Kagan, and Nikki Kagan Harishonm as trustees.
Max Kagan Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Candace K. Platz
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Richard Grossman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Daniel Kagan
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Nikki Kagan Harishonm
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (2)
- Former: Leahgrace Brienna Kayler (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Ronald Striar (2020–2023) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Max Kagan Family Foundation
How much does Max Kagan Family Foundation give each year?
Max Kagan Family Foundation gave $197K across 75 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $314K across 85 grants.
What is Max Kagan Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Max Kagan Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,800, and its average grant was $2,625, across 75 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Max Kagan Family Foundation that year got $3K on average.
Where does Max Kagan Family Foundation give grants?
Max Kagan Family Foundation's top state is Massachusetts, with 24% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Florida (24%) and Maine (22%). The most frequent recipient cities were Naples, FL (10 grants), Gloucester, MA (7 grants), New York, NY (6 grants) and Chicago, IL (4 grants).
Does Max Kagan Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Max Kagan Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (75 of 75) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Max Kagan Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Max Kagan Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Pals Skyhope ($15,000), Angels for Angels ($11,600) and Maine Jewish Museum ($10,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 19% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Max Kagan Family Foundation?
Max Kagan Family Foundation reported $4.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $204K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $289K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Max Kagan Family Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants include support for organizations whose work spans several areas. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Max Kagan Family Foundation?
The foundation states that it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Max Kagan Family Foundation's EIN?
Max Kagan Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 01-6019033. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated November 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS September 2, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Other open foundation grants in Maine
Maine Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Max Kagan Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Maine Community Foundation Inc
Ellsworth, ME
Maine Community Foundation supports nonprofits and communities in Maine through grants for areas such as community building, arts, land and water, housing, and equity, as well as scholarships. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of $17,500, though awards varied widely. The profile describes online applications for competitive grants but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$807.6M
Grants
1,161
Total Given
$57.6M
Jewish Community Foundation of San Diego
San Diego, CA
The Jewish Community Foundation of San Diego supports charitable, educational, and religious organizations, with grants spanning Jewish community life, research, civil rights, health care, arts, and community services. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, though amounts varied widely; two-thirds of its grants since founding have gone to San Diego organizations, with others mainly elsewhere in the U.S. and Israel. Some listed opportunities accept applications from eligible nonprofits, but the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests generally.
Assets
$862.3M
Grants
774
Total Given
$148.1M
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives focused on equity and opportunity, including child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer amounts such as $50,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Mountain View, CA
Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.
Assets
$12.3B
Grants
3,576
Total Given
$3.2B
More similar funders
More Funders in Maine
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Max Kagan Family Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved November 3, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/max-kagan-family-foundation-morg_a2ba0eab892e45aab0b64473b4a1d10c
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_016019033_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Max Kagan Family Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/max-kagan-family-foundation-morg_a2ba0eab892e45aab0b64473b4a1d10c},
note = {Accessed 2026-11-03. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Max Kagan Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Max Kagan Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?