Living Lands Trust
Living Lands Trust's mission is to protect land and constructed spaces from the speculative marketplace. Living Lands Trust's stewardship redefines ownership, use, and community within the framework of association and cultural practice. We recognize entrepreneurial destiny paths. Living Lands Trust makes it possible for biodynamic and regenerative farmers, ranchers, and other social entrepreneurs to access productive de-commodified places. Living Lands Trust's sustaining purpose is to foster the development of place-based regional economies that reflect the richness of a just and human culture.
Living Lands Trust at a glance
In short: Living Lands Trust gave $22K across 1 grant in 2024 (avg $22K), mostly in California. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $22,000
- Grants made (2024)
- 1
- Average grant
- $22,000
- Median grant
- $22,000
- Total assets
- $25,388,979
- +14.0% vs 2023
- Primary geography
- California (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.
Who Living Lands Trust funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Landwell Housing Cooperative ($22K).
Grant Size Distribution
1 grant across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of the 2024 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $22K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Landwell Housing Cooperative Sebastopol, CA | Property Acquisition | $22,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Living Lands Trust?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $25,388,979 | $3,714,847 | $856,060 | $22,000 | 1 | $180,979 |
| 2023 | $22,280,741 | $2,670,791 | $1,040,320 | — | — | $441,534 |
| 2022 | $20,788,588 | $9,709,308 | $680,039 | — | — | $24,557 |
| 2021 | $11,931,878 | $632,925 | $303,212 | — | — | $200,909 |
| 2020 | $11,657,547 | $581,293 | $422,582 | — | — | $13,975 |
| 2019 | $11,442,503 | $235,066 | $246,420 | — | — | $67,021 |
About Living Lands Trust
Based on IRS filings
Living Lands Trust is a public charity focused on Food, Agriculture & Nutrition, based in Phoenixville, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $25.4M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 1 grant totaling $22K. Net investment income was $181K.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Living Lands Trust is led by David Outman, Executive Director on every filing since 2020; 1 of 9 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
David Outman
Executive Director
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$25K (2020) → $82K (2024)
Carol Andrews
President
On filings since 2019
10 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Daphne Amory
Trustee
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mark A. Finser
Trustee
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sonja Gorsch
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jean Paul Courtens
Trustee
New on the 2024 filing
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Dorothy Hinkle-Uhlig
Secretary
Vice President & Secretary → Secretary, 2021
On filings since 2019
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
John Bloom
Vice President
Trustee → Vice President, 2021
On filings since 2019
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jess Brooks
Treasurer
Trustee → Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2022
3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (3)
- Former: Jean-Paul Stewart Courtens (2021–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Bob Bower (2019–2022) — Treasurer
- Former: Jean-Paul Stewart-Courtens (2019–2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $82K, to David Outman (Executive Director).
Frequently asked questions about Living Lands Trust
How much does Living Lands Trust give each year?
Living Lands Trust gave $22K across 1 grant in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990.
How large is Living Lands Trust?
Living Lands Trust reported $25.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $3.7M.
What is Living Lands Trust?
Living Lands Trust is a public charity focused on Food, Agriculture & Nutrition, based in Phoenixville, PA. It holds $25.4M in total assets as of 2024.
Where does Living Lands Trust operate?
Living Lands Trust has awarded grants in California.
What is Living Lands Trust's EIN?
Living Lands Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 94-3372213. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 9, 2020)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 12, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Living Lands Trust's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Pennsylvania
The Pittsburgh Foundation
Pittsburgh, PA
The Pittsburgh Foundation funds nonprofits working in basic needs, equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, with most opportunities for organizations in Allegheny County or primarily serving its residents. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of about $18,600, though awards varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
1,132
Total Given
$64.0M
The William Penn Foundation
Philadelphia, PA
The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic participation, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training, primarily in the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 median grant was $50,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts unsolicited requests through limited open applications and invites letters of inquiry from public charities.
Assets
$3.4B
Grants
1,027
Total Given
$148.8M
Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation
Coraopolis, PA
DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports participation in under-resourced communities, including equipment, registration costs and facilities, and also supports outdoor access and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and Sports Matter funding has reached all 50 states. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only; the foundation says 501(c)(3) grant requests should be submitted in writing.
Assets
$34.5M
Grants
964
Total Given
$18.0M
Hillman Family Foundations
Pittsburgh, PA
The 18 independently operated foundations support projects in areas such as arts and culture, health, education, economic development, and community improvement, with a preference for Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania; each foundation has its own geographic focus. In 2024, grants ranged from $75 to $5 million, with a median of $20,000. The 2024 filing says unsolicited requests are accepted, beginning with a brief letter of intent through the online portal.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
814
Total Given
$88.8M
Pidc Financing Corporation
Philadelphia, PA
PIDC Financing Corporation administers Pennsylvania business loans for real estate, leasehold improvements, and equipment, as well as partner-funded grants for Philadelphia economic, cultural, civic, historical, storefront, and stormwater projects. Its 2024 filing reports no grants, so no typical giving level is stated; grant partners select recipients, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$6.7M
Grants
774
Total Given
$16.4M
Pennsylvania CDFI Network
Philadelphia, PA
The Pennsylvania CDFI Network funds Pennsylvania CDFIs and community-development organizations, and supports small businesses through counseling, technical assistance, loan capital, and some microgrants. Its 2025 grants had a median of $10,000, with awards ranging from $6,000 to $7,124,547; its business assistance programs serve all 67 Pennsylvania counties. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$4.5M
Grants
180
Total Given
$15.5M
More similar funders
More Funders in Pennsylvania
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Living Lands Trust's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Living Lands Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?