L O Benton Banking Foundation
The L O Benton Banking Foundation is a private foundation based in Eatonton, Georgia. It reports making charitable and educational contributions to worthwhile causes and awarded grants to organizations in Georgia and other states in 2024.
Key facts about L O Benton Banking Foundation
In short: L O Benton Banking Foundation gave $335K across 23 grants in 2024 (avg $15K), mostly in Georgia. 30% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 58-2568248
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $335,450
- Grants made (2024)
- 23
- Average grant
- $14,585
- Median grant
- $2,250
- New grantees (estimate)
- 30% first-time grantees (7 of 23, 2024)
- Total assets
- $6,369,207
- Primary geography
- Georgia (69% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$6.4M
-4.2% YoY
Annual Giving
$335K
-1.5% YoY
Grant Count
23
-4.2% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$15K
+2.8% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, L O Benton Banking Foundation reported a distributable amount of $458K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is L O Benton Banking Foundation open to new grantees?
30%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 7 of 23 grantees (30%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $5K; repeat grants $19K. How we count
Medians: $2K first-time, $4K repeat.
- 39% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving fell 67% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 73% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation describes its direct charitable activity as “charitable and educational contributions to worthwhile causes.” Its 2024 grants included support for a hospital, arts organizations, a church, a chamber of commerce, a school, and other organizations.
Some grantees describe their missions as follows: the Eatonton Putnam Chamber of Commerce says it promotes the community and the economic welfare and growth of member businesses; Habitat for Humanity says it seeks to eliminate poverty housing and make decent shelter a matter of conscience and action; and Piedmont Academy says it develops students’ minds, bodies, and spirits in a safe, moral environment. Pilot International describes its mission as influencing positive change through friendship and service, with a focus on brain safety and health and support for caregivers. The National Fire Safety Council says it provides fire and life-safety education to help prevent accidents and save lives.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 23 grants totaling $335,450. Grants ranged from $250 to $100,250, with a median of $2,250. Among its largest grants were $100,250 to the City of Albany TX, $100,000 to Jasper Memorial Hospital, $30,000 to Plaza Arts Center, $25,000 to Monticello FUMC, and $20,000 each to Artisans Village and Marshall Memorial Church.
Ready to take the next step with L O Benton Banking Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, 69% of grant dollars went to recipients in Georgia, 30% to recipients in Texas, and 1% to recipients in New Jersey. The filing also lists recipient shares of 0% for Tennessee and Michigan.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 23 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $335K (2024) to $1.0M (2021). In 2024 it made 23 grants totaling $335K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was City of Albany TX ($100K). Together the top 10 received $319K.
Grant Size Distribution
130 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 104 grants of 130 (80%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| City of Albany TX Albany, TX | Donation | $100,250 |
| Jasper Memorial Hospital Monticello, GA | Donation | $100,000 |
| Plaza Arts Center Eatonton, GA | Donation | $30,000 |
| Monticello Fumc Monticello, GA | Donation | $25,000 |
| Artisans Village Eatonton, GA | Donation | $20,000 |
| Marshall Memorial Church Eatonton, GA | Donation | $20,000 |
| Ga Writers Museum Eatonton, GA | Donation | $10,000 |
| Eatonton Putnam Chamber of Commerce Eatonton, GA | Donatioin | $5,500 |
| Putnam General Hospital Eatonton, GA | Donation | $5,000 |
| Old Jail Arts Center Eatonton, GA | Donation | $3,600 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $6,369,207 | $48,903 | $336,984 | $335,450 |
| 2023 | $6,646,406 | $72,521 | $467,437 | $340,641 |
| 2022 | $7,041,322 | -$3,449,594 | $985,406 | $748,087 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $6,369,207 | $6,646,406 | $7,041,322 |
| Revenue | $48,903 | $72,521 | $-3,449,594 |
| Expenses | $336,984 | $467,437 | $985,406 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $335,450 | $340,641 | $748,087 |
| Net Investment Income | $48,903 | $72,521 | $6,655 |
| Distributable Amount | $457,679 | $317,932 | $454,971 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Lurner O Benton IV and Nancy T Benton as directors.
L O Benton Banking Foundation's 2024 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Lurner O. Benton IV
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Nancy T. Benton
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: P O Box 4450, Eatonton, GA 31024
Phone: (706) 485-9941
Frequently asked questions about L O Benton Banking Foundation
How much does L O Benton Banking Foundation give each year?
L O Benton Banking Foundation gave $335K across 23 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $341K across 24 grants.
What is L O Benton Banking Foundation's typical grant size?
L O Benton Banking Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $2,250, and its average grant was $14,585, across 23 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from L O Benton Banking Foundation that year got $5K on average.
Where does L O Benton Banking Foundation give grants?
L O Benton Banking Foundation gives mostly in Georgia: 69% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Texas (30%). The most frequent recipient cities were Eatonton, GA (13 grants), Monticello, GA (3 grants) and Greensboro, GA (2 grants).
Does L O Benton Banking Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2024: none of the 23 grants with a stated purpose on L O Benton Banking Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Donation" (22 grants).
Who are L O Benton Banking Foundation's largest grantees?
L O Benton Banking Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include City of Albany TX ($100,250), Jasper Memorial Hospital ($100,000) and Plaza Arts Center ($30,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 69% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is L O Benton Banking Foundation?
L O Benton Banking Foundation reported $6.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $335K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $458K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does L O Benton Banking Foundation fund?
The foundation describes its direct charitable activity as “charitable and educational contributions to worthwhile causes.” Its 2024 grants included support for a hospital, arts organizations, a church, a chamber of commerce, a school, and other organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from L O Benton Banking Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is L O Benton Banking Foundation's EIN?
L O Benton Banking Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 58-2568248. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does L O Benton Banking Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching L O Benton Banking Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in L O Benton Banking Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Georgia
Lilly Endowment Inc
Indianapolis, IN
Lilly Endowment funds community development, education and youth, and religion, with a national reach—especially in religion—and a particular commitment to Indianapolis and Indiana. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$105.9B
Grants
2,285
Total Given
$3.9B
Dillon Foundation
Sterling, IL
The Dillon Foundation supports community improvement and development, arts and culture, human services, and education, primarily in Illinois. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $867,500, with a median of $6,000. It accepts requests by letter describing the grant’s purpose and including the applicant’s exemption letter; no deadline is listed.
Assets
$79.3M
Grants
134
Total Given
$3.6M
The Wm M & a Cafaro Family Foundation
Niles, OH
Assets
$23.3M
Grants
377
Total Given
$1.7M
The Cole Family Charitable Foundation
Carrollton, GA
The Cole Family Charitable Foundation supports charitable organizations, including those in health care and education; its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $7,900, with a median of $1,000. It is based in Georgia, where recipients received 64% of grant dollars in 2024, and it funds organizations in other states as well. The foundation gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.0M
Grants
54
Total Given
$99K
The Fugitt Foundation
McAlester, OK
The Fugitt Foundation supports charitable, religious, and educational work, including community initiatives, youth development, education, and ministries, with priority for work in the McAlester, Oklahoma area. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,500 to $500,000, with a median of $32,500. It states that it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$31.9M
Grants
14
Total Given
$1.5M
The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta Inc
Atlanta, GA
The Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta funds equity and shared-prosperity work across areas including education, housing, income and wealth, arts and culture, health, and neighborhood development, primarily in the Atlanta region. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,000, though amounts varied widely; specific arts programs offer $5,000–$7,500. The profile describes application opportunities through its Grants Portal but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
1,414
Total Given
$152.3M
Boys & Girls Clubs of America
Atlanta, GA
Boys & Girls Clubs of America funds local Clubs and youth-development work, including general support, staff training, mentoring, and programs focused on academics, health, leadership, and readiness for life and work. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,047 to $2.7 million, with a median of about $81,000, supporting Clubs across the United States, Native lands, and military communities. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$95.2M
Grants
797
Total Given
$120.5M
Habitat for Humanity International Inc
Americus, GA
Habitat for Humanity International funds affordable housing through grants to Habitat for Humanity organizations, including local affiliates, across the United States and internationally. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,027 to $6,365,641, with a median of $48,658. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$760.0M
Grants
719
Total Given
$101.6M
The Arthur M Blank Family Foundation
Atlanta, GA
The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation funds work in Atlanta’s Westside, democracy, the environment, mental health and well-being, youth development, and founder initiatives, with a focus on Georgia and Montana and some national impact. In 2024, grants ranged from $500 to $20 million, with a median of $50,000. It makes grants by invitation and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$466.3M
Grants
586
Total Given
$212.1M
Georgia Power Foundation Inc
Atlanta, GA
The foundation supports health, education and workforce development, the environment, arts and culture, and community initiatives, prioritizing Georgia, where 86% of its 2024 grant dollars went. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $1 million, with a median of $10,000. The Georgia Power Grant is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$217.0M
Grants
517
Total Given
$18.6M
American Cancer Society Inc
Atlanta, GA
The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, patient support, advocacy, and related programs, with research support available to institutions across the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,648 to $9.6 million, with a median of $15,000. It accepts applications for research grants through specific programs and ProposalCentral; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other funding.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
509
Total Given
$23.1M
Jewish Federation of Greater Atlanta Inc
Atlanta, GA
The Federation funds Jewish education and engagement, community-building, care for people in need, safety, and work connected to Israel and Jewish communities worldwide, with a focus on Greater Atlanta. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,000 to $4.68 million, with a median of $18,489; some programs accept applications, while core, domestic, and global partner allocations are by invitation only.
Assets
$431.3M
Grants
435
Total Given
$50.7M
More Funders in Georgia
L O Benton Banking Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?