Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn
The Helen and Ritter Shumway Foundation is a private foundation based in Dallas, Texas. It supports conservation and historic preservation in Rochester, New York, and nearby areas, as well as charities and causes valued by Helen S. Mayer and her brother, Ritter Shumway.
Key facts about Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn
In short: Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn gave $570K across 26 grants in 2025 (avg $22K), mostly in New York. 15% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 16-6538147
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $570,250
- Grants made (2025)
- 26
- Average grant
- $21,933
- Median grant
- $20,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 15% first-time grantees (4 of 26, 2025)
- Total assets
- $6,866,079
- Primary geography
- New York (66% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds; its filing says contributions are made only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$6.9M
+1.7% YoY
Annual Giving
$570K
+7.1% YoY
Grant Count
26
-3.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$22K
+11.2% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn reported a distributable amount of $658K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn open to new grantees?
15%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 4 of 26 grantees (15%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $14K; repeat grants $23K. How we count
Medians: $14K first-time, $20K repeat.
- 81% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+3%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 97% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s stated focus includes conservation and historic preservation in Rochester and surrounding areas, and support for charities and causes Helen S. Mayer and Ritter Shumway valued. Its grant program says it seeks to positively impact traditionally underserved people in its communities and considers requests for general operating and program support. Endowment campaigns and capital projects are typically not accepted.
Its 2025 grantees illustrate a range of supported work. Ducks Unlimited describes its mission as conserving, restoring, and managing wetlands and associated habitats for waterfowl, wildlife, and people. Save the River says it works to protect the ecological integrity of the St. Lawrence River through advocacy, education, and research. Shelburne Museum describes its mission as providing an educational museum experience, while Historic Deerfield focuses on experiences with the stories, cultures, and material worlds of people who have made New England home. The Adirondack Mountain Club describes its work as conservation, preservation, and responsible recreational use of New York State forest preserves, parks, wild lands, and waters. Other 2025 grantees included Hillside Children’s Center, which provides services to children and families, and Abilis, which supports and advocates for people with developmental disabilities and their families.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation made 26 grants totaling $570,250. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $50,000, with a median grant of $20,000. The largest listed awards included $50,000 to Antique Boat Museum; $40,000 each to Shelburne Museum, Save the River, and Ducks Unlimited; and $37,500 to Historic Deerfield. These grants were designated for unrestricted general support. Other listed awards included $35,000 to the Humane Society of Rochester & Monroe, $30,000 to the Adirondack Mountain Club, and $25,000 each to the Great Lakes Historical Society and Winterthur Museum.
Review Cycle
are stated.
Open Grants
1 open opportunity from Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn
Ready to take the next step with Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The foundation states that it supports conservation and historic preservation in Rochester, New York, and nearby areas. Its 2025 grants went to organizations in several states; the largest share of grant dollars went to New York recipients (66%), followed by Vermont, Tennessee, and Massachusetts (7% each), and Ohio (4%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 26 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $406K (2020) to $570K (2025). In 2025 it made 26 grants totaling $570K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Antique Boat Museum ($50K). Together the top 10 received $343K.
Grant Size Distribution
140 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 138 grants of 140 (99%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Antique Boat Museum Clayton, NY | Unrestricted General | $50,000 |
| Shelburne Museum Shelburne, VT | Unrestricted General | $40,000 |
| Save the River Clayton, NY | Unrestricted General | $40,000 |
| Ducks Unlimited Inc Memphis, TN | Unrestricted General | $40,000 |
| Historic Deerfield Inc Deerfield, MA | Unrestricted General | $37,500 |
| Humane Society of Rochester & Monroe Fairport, NY | Unrestricted General | $35,000 |
| Adirondack Mountain Club Inc Queensbury, NY | Unrestricted General | $30,000 |
| Great Lakes Historical Society Vermilion, OH | Unrestricted General | $25,000 |
| Winterthur Museum Winterthur, NY | Unrestricted General | $25,000 |
| Coral Restoration Key Largo, FL | Unrestricted General | $20,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $6,866,079 | $746,200 | $682,841 | $570,250 across 26 grants |
| 2024 | $6,753,329 | $545,416 | $622,966 | $532,500 across 27 grants |
| 2023 | $6,798,518 | $745,496 | $529,047 | $513,500 across 26 grants |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $6,866,079 | $6,753,329 | $6,798,518 |
| Revenue | $746,200 | $545,416 | $745,496 |
| Expenses | $682,841 | $622,966 | $529,047 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $636,088 | $573,919 | $516,591 |
| Net Investment Income | $704,764 | $510,772 | $636,386 |
| Distributable Amount | $658,211 | $612,365 | $540,924 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Bank of America as trustee, Frank R. Shumway III as co-trustee, and Paul C. Lambert, Esq., as co-trustee.
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; 2 of 3 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Frank R. Shumway III
Co-Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$15K (2020) → $0 (2025)
Paul C. Lambert Esq.
Co-Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$15K (2020) → $13K (2025)
Bank Of America
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
$60K (2022) → $74K (2025)
Former officers (1)
- Former: Bank Of America N A (2020–2021) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $74K, to Bank of America (Trustee). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: PO Box 653067, Dallas, TX 75265-3067
Phone: (888) 866-3275
Frequently asked questions about Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn
How much does Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn give each year?
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn gave $570K across 26 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $533K across 27 grants.
What is Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's typical grant size?
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's median grant in 2025 was $20,000, and its average grant was $21,933, across 26 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn that year got $14K on average.
Where does Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn give grants?
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn gives mostly in New York: 66% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Vermont (7%) and Tennessee (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Rochester, NY (8 grants), Clayton, NY (2 grants), Rocester, NY (2 grants) and New York, NY (2 grants).
Does Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (26 of 26) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's largest grantees?
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's largest 2025 grantees include Antique Boat Museum ($50,000), Shelburne Museum ($40,000) and Save the River ($40,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 23% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn?
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn reported $6.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $636K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $658K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn fund?
The foundation’s stated focus includes conservation and historic preservation in Rochester and surrounding areas, and support for charities and causes Helen S. Mayer and Ritter Shumway valued. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds; its filing says contributions are made only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's EIN?
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 16-6538147. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
IBM International Foundation
Armonk, NY
The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$357.7M
Grants
16
Total Given
$11.7M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Communities Foundation of Texas Inc
Dallas, TX
Communities Foundation of Texas funds charitable work in health, wealth, living, and learning, with much of its grantmaking supporting North Texas nonprofits; its 2025 grants had a median of $18,779, though award sizes varied widely. Nearly all opportunities are by invitation, and its Nonprofit Gateway profile is not a grant application.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
2,209
Total Given
$209.2M
Greater Houston Community Foundation
Houston, TX
The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,724
Total Given
$232.3M
The Houston Food Bank
Houston, TX
The Houston Food Bank supports food distribution and related hunger-relief programs, including school, children’s, and senior food initiatives, through community organizations in 18 Southeast Texas counties. Its 2025 grants had a median of $33,402, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$164.4M
Grants
1,128
Total Given
$210.7M
BNSF Railway Foundation
Fort Worth, TX
The BNSF Railway Foundation supports civic, cultural, educational, health and human services, environmental, and youth programs, as well as general operating costs, in communities served by BNSF across its 28-state network. Its 2025 median grant was $2,500; its current grants program lists awards of $1,000–$10,000.
Assets
$23.0M
Grants
993
Total Given
$7.0M
Baker Hughes Foundation
Houston, TX
Assets
$2.2M
Grants
990
Total Given
$3.2M
Community Foundation of North Texas (Tax
Fort Worth, TX
The Community Foundation of North Texas supports nonprofits through grants for areas including animal welfare, conservation, community development, nonprofit capacity, and opportunity, primarily in North Texas, including seven listed counties. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of $14,250, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.5 million. It offers competitive grants through application cycles; nonprofits cannot apply for donor-advised grants.
Assets
$544.9M
Grants
872
Total Given
$41.3M
Michael & Susan Dell Foundation
Austin, TX
The Michael & Susan Dell Foundation funds education, health, family economic stability, and nonprofit capacity, with a strong focus on children and families and its deepest investment in Texas, especially Greater Austin; it also supports work elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Its 2024 grants ranged from $75 to $50 million, with a median of $19,324. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application.
Assets
—
Grants
835
Total Given
$164.6M
American Heart Association Inc
Dallas, TX
The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational, population, and other research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular, and brain health, mainly through research awards to eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,000 to $9.9 million, with a median award of $20,000. Applications are submitted through designated programs; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
833
Total Given
$198.2M
More Funders in Texas
Helen and Ritter Shumway Fdn down — hundreds of funders to go?