Harold KL Castle Foundation logo

Harold KL Castle Foundation

Foundation · Grantmaker Kailua, HI EIN: 99-6005445 Website

The Harold K.L. Castle Foundation is a private foundation based in Kailua, Hawaii. Founded in 1962, it works to build resources for Hawaii’s future through grantmaking, convening, and sharing new ideas and approaches.

Key facts about Harold KL Castle Foundation

In short: Harold KL Castle Foundation gave $6.9M across 106 grants in 2024 (avg $65K), mostly in Hawaii. 36% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
99-6005445
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$6,886,001
Grants made (2024)
106
Average grant
$64,962
Median grant
$25,000
New grantees (estimate)
36% first-time grantees (30 of 83, 2024)
Total assets
$171,295,453
Primary geography
Hawaii (83% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
How to apply
Applicants can submit an online inquiry at any time; first-time applicants are asked to discuss their application with Elizabeth Murph first. Full details ↓
Deadline
Online inquiries and applications are reviewed on a rolling basis.

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$171.3M

-1.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$6.9M

-8.0% YoY

Grant Count

106

-4.5% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$65K

-3.7% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Harold KL Castle Foundation reported a distributable amount of $9.5M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Harold KL Castle Foundation open to new grantees?

36%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 30 of 83 grantees (36%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $40K; repeat grants $107K. How we count

Medians: $25K first-time, $40K repeat.

  • 48% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−6%). Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 92% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s stated mission includes closing achievement gaps in public education, restoring Hawaii’s nearshore ocean areas, building on the strengths of Ko’olau Oahu communities, and strengthening communities’ ability to adapt to climate change. It also supports a limited number of other compelling opportunities to make a significant difference in Hawaii’s future.

Eligible applicants include Hawaii-serving nonprofits recognized as 501(c)(3) organizations and 509(a) public charities, as well as public schools. The foundation primarily funds specific projects rather than ongoing general expenses. Its website identifies public education redesign and enhancement (pre-K–12), nearshore marine resource conservation around the main Hawaiian Islands, climate resiliency, and strengthening Windward Oahu communities as its strategic priorities.

Among its 2024 grantees, Social Finance Inc. describes its mission as building partnerships and investments to measurably improve lives. The University of Hawaii Foundation says it raises philanthropic support and manages investments to benefit the university, Hawaii’s people, and future generations. These are grantees’ stated missions, not the foundation’s.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2024, the foundation reported 106 grants totaling $6,886,001. Grant amounts ranged from $500 to $550,000, with a median of $25,000.

Review Cycle

** Online inquiries and applications are reviewed on a rolling basis.

Open Grants

5 open opportunities from Harold KL Castle Foundation

Show all 5 →
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Harold KL Castle Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation says it funds organizations serving the people of Hawaii. Its 2024 filing shows 83% of grant dollars going to recipients in Hawaii, 14% to California, and 4% to Washington, D.C. (percentages as reported). Its grantseeker guidance says it does not consider organizations based outside Hawaii or projects outside Hawaii that do not benefit Hawaii. The Ko’olau Pilina Fund supports projects tailored to Ko’olau communities on Oahu, from Kahuku to Makapu’u.

Grant Distribution by State

9states

Share of all 106 itemized 2024 grant dollars.

Cities

HonoluluKaneoheKailuaWaimanaloWashingtonSacramentoHauulaWaipahuNovatoSanta CruzAieaHiloKahuluiKapoleiKaunakakaiWaianaeArlingtonKailua KonaKapaauLihue

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2.5M$5M$7.5M$10M106 grants2020100 grants202177 grants2022111 grants2023106 grants2024

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

University of Hawaii Foundation: $1.1M across 11 grantsUniversity of HawaiiFoundation$1.1M · 11 grantsHawaii Community Foundation (HCF): $960K across 4 grantsHawaii Community Foundation(HCF)$960K · 4 grantsSocial Finance Inc: $550KSocial Finance Inc$550KKuaaina Ulu Auamo (Kua): $500KKuaaina Ulu Auamo (Kua)$500KThe Nature Conservancy of Hawaii: $330K across 2 grantsThe Nature Conservancy ofHawaii$330K · 2 grantsCollege Summit Inc DBA Peerforward: $173K across 2 grantsCollege Summit Inc DBAPeerforward$173K · 2 grantsHawaii Hospital Education and Research Foundation (Hherf): $150KHawaii Hospital Education andResearch Foundation (Hherf)$150KWindward School District: $150KWindward School District$150KPurple Maia: $145KPurple Maia$145KHawaii Conservation Alliance Foundation: $133KHawaii Conservation AllianceFoundation$133K

Grant Size Distribution

500 grants across all recorded years

263<$50K118$50–100K87$100–250K22$250–500K10$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
SOCIAL FINANCE INC Boston, CAPROPOSAL TO SERVE AS HAWAII RENEWABLE LEARNING FUND MANAGER [6086; PC]$550,000
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII FOUNDATION Honolulu, HISOAR HIGHER - SUPPORT FOR WINDWARD OAHU SCHOOLS TO PARTICIPATE AS A GEAR UP 6-16 MODEL [5173; PC]$529,240
HAWAII COMMUNITY FOUNDATION (HCF) Honolulu, HISUPPORT FOR A SECOND ROUND OF CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE HOLOMUA POOLED FUND WHOSE GOAL IS TO IMPROVE MARINE RESOURCES MANAGEMENT IN HAWAII THROUGH A SUITE OF EFFORTS BUILT ON FOUR PILLARS: PLACE-BASED PLANNING, PONO PRACTICES, MONITORING, AND PROTECTION & RESTORATION [5905; PC]$500,000
KUAAINA ULU AUAMO (KUA) Kaneohe, HITO SUPPORT AND STRENGTHEN THIS CRITICALLY IMPORTANT BACKBONE ORGANIZATION AND ITS THREE COMMUNITY-DRIVEN NETWORKS FOR OCEAN MANAGEMENT IN HAWAII. [5598; PC]$500,000
HAWAII COMMUNITY FOUNDATION (HCF) Honolulu, HIPILINA FUND 2.0 [5618; PC]$400,000
THE NATURE CONSERVANCY OF HAWAII Honolulu, HIADVANCING COMMUNITY-BASED MARINE MANAGEMENT TO REACH 30X30 GOALS [5660; PC]$280,000
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII FOUNDATION Honolulu, HITO EXTEND WINDWARD COMMUNITY COLLEGE'S GROUNDBREAKING HOOLEI SCHOLARSHIP THAT ENSURES ALL PUBLIC SCHOOL GRADUATES IN THE KOOLAU REGION CAN AFFORD TO ATTEND COMMUNITY COLLEGE [6140; PC]$214,286
HAWAII HOSPITAL EDUCATION AND RESEARCH FOUNDATION (HHERF) Honolulu, HITO RETROFIT DOE CLASSROOMS FOR HEALTHCARE PATHWAYS IN PARTNERSHIP WITH HAWAII 3R'S, G70 AND HAWAII PACIFIC HEALTH [6363; PC]$150,000
UNIVERSITY OF HAWAII FOUNDATION Honolulu, HIHAWAII P-20 CORE SUPPORT 2022-2025 [5465; PC]$150,000
WINDWARD SCHOOL DISTRICT Kaneohe, HITO INTERNALLY DRIVE WINDWARD DOE SCHOOLS TOWARDS AINA ALOHA MINDSET ACHIEVEMENT THROUGH TEACHER PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT (PD) DAYS AND CLOSER ENGAGEMENT BETWEEN SCHOOLS AND AINA-BASED EDUCATION ORGANIZATIONS. [6371; GOV]$150,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants reported
2024 $171,295,453 $8,283,293 $10,627,064 $6,886,001
2023 $173,491,448 $11,327,617 $10,879,744 $7,485,951
2022 $173,044,264 $8,125,647 $11,246,442 $8,009,541
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$10M$20M$30M20202021202220232024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$171,295,453$173,491,448$173,044,264
Revenue$8,283,293$11,327,617$8,125,647
Expenses$10,627,064$10,879,744$11,246,442
Qualifying Distributions$8,758,237$9,503,881$9,746,584
Net Investment Income$7,046,551$10,105,204$6,568,148
Distributable Amount$9,515,391$8,920,185$9,315,597

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The foundation’s 2024 filing lists Henry M. D’Olier as director and chairman; Dr. Claire L. Asam, Dr. Kittredge A. Baldwin, Corbett A.K. Kalama, Dee Jay A. Mailer, James H. McIntosh, Jennifer G. Sabas, T. Aulani Wilhelm, and Eric K. Yeaman as directors; and Carlton K.C. Au as vice president of finance.

Harold KL Castle Foundation is led by Terrence R. George, President & CEO on every filing since 2020; 6 of 15 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Terrence R. George

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $372K (2020) → $415K (2024)

  • Henry M. D'olier

    Director & Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Claire L. Asam

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Corbett Ak Kalama

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dee Jay A. Mailer

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Eric K. Yeaman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James H. McIntosh

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kittredge A. Baldwin

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer G. Sabas

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • T. Aulani Wilhelm

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alexander Harris

    Vice President of Programs

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $228K (2020) → $222K (2024)

  • Carlton Kc Au

    Vice President of Finance

    Vice President, Treasurer & CFO → Vice President of Finance, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    8 hrs/week

    $104K (2020) → $55K (2024)

  • Susan L. Sumida

    Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    5 hrs/week

    $21K (2020) → $28K (2024)

  • Dennis Eric Co

    Vice President of Resiliency

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $203K (2022) → $223K (2024)

  • Ann S. Matsukado

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $98K (2023) → $189K (2024)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Terrence R George — President/CEO: $415KTerrence R GeorgePresident/CEO$415KDennis Eric CO — Vice President of Resiliency: $223KDennis Eric COVice President of Resiliency$223KAlexander Harris — Vice President of Programs: $222KAlexander HarrisVice President of Programs$222KAnn S Matsukado — Treasurer: $189KAnn S MatsukadoTreasurer$189KCarlton KC Au — Vice President of Finance: $55KCarlton KC AuVice President of Finance$55KSusan L Sumida — Secretary: $28KSusan L SumidaSecretary$28K

Contact

Application contact: Elizabeth Murph
Mailing address: 1197 Auloa Road, Kailua, HI 96734
Phone: (808) 263-7073
Website: https://castlefoundation.org

Frequently asked questions about Harold KL Castle Foundation

How much does Harold KL Castle Foundation give each year?

Harold KL Castle Foundation gave $6.9M across 106 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $7.5M across 111 grants.

What is Harold KL Castle Foundation's typical grant size?

Harold KL Castle Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $25,000, and its average grant was $64,962, across 106 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Harold KL Castle Foundation that year got $40K on average.

Where does Harold KL Castle Foundation give grants?

Harold KL Castle Foundation gives mostly in Hawaii: 83% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was California (14%). The most frequent recipient cities were Honolulu, HI (54 grants), Kaneohe, HI (11 grants), Kailua, HI (9 grants) and Washington, DC (4 grants).

Does Harold KL Castle Foundation give general operating support?

Occasionally: 2% of Harold KL Castle Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (2 of 106) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Harold KL Castle Foundation's largest grantees?

Harold KL Castle Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include University of Hawaii Foundation ($1,115,551 across 11 grants), Hawaii Community Foundation (HCF) ($960,000 across 4 grants) and Social Finance Inc ($550,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 38% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Harold KL Castle Foundation?

Harold KL Castle Foundation reported $171.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $8.8M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $9.5M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Harold KL Castle Foundation fund?

The foundation’s stated mission includes closing achievement gaps in public education, restoring Hawaii’s nearshore ocean areas, building on the strengths of Ko’olau Oahu communities, and strengthening communities’ ability to adapt to climate change. It also supports a limited number of other compelling opportunities to make a significant difference in Hawaii’s future. Eligible applicants include Hawaii-serving nonprofits recognized as 501(c)(3) organizations and 509(a) public charities, as wel…

How do I apply for a grant from Harold KL Castle Foundation?

Applicants can submit an online inquiry at any time; first-time applicants are asked to discuss their application with Elizabeth Murph first. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Harold KL Castle Foundation's EIN?

Harold KL Castle Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 99-6005445. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Harold KL Castle Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Harold KL Castle Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Atherton Family Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Atherton Family Foundation funds Hawai‘i-serving nonprofits in arts and culture, community development, education, environment, health, human services, spiritual development, and youth development, with an emphasis on collaborative systems change. Its stated average awards for 2026 are about $13,500 for program grants and $41,500 for capital grants. It accepts applications through its online process at scheduled deadlines.

Assets

$82.9M

Grants

1

Total Given

$5.6M

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg

Owings Mills, MD

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Foundation funds direct services, programs, general operations, and capital projects in housing, health, jobs, education, and aging for low-income and vulnerable people. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000; its Small Grants Program offers up to $50,000 over two years, with funding focused on Baltimore, Hawaiʻi, Israel, and Northeastern Pennsylvania. It awards grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

872

Total Given

$127.8M

Aloha United Way Inc

Honolulu, HI

Aloha United Way funds Hawaiʻi community organizations working on health, education, financial stability, housing, basic needs, family support, and related services, with most funding focused on Oʻahu. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,852 to $1,858,647, with a median of $24,421; it offers specific application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$23.5M

Grants

175

Total Given

$14.0M

Bank of Hawaii Charitable Fdn

Honolulu, HI

The foundation supports community development, education, human services, and arts integration, with an emphasis on strengthening low- and moderate-income communities. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $297,500, with a median of $25,000; 95% of funding went to organizations in Hawaii. Grant requests may be submitted at any time.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.7M

Grants

40

Total Given

$1.4M

Trustees of the Estate of Bernice Pauahi

Honolulu, HI

The trustees fund educational opportunities that support the well-being and capability of people of Hawaiian ancestry, including education, Hawaiian culture, language, and community learning. In 2025, grants ranged from $12,500 to $1,847,100, with a median of $150,000; 99% of grant dollars went to Hawaiʻi. The Ea Aʻe opportunity requires collaborative proposals from multiple organizations, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Education

Assets

$13.0B

Grants

109

Total Given

$33.4M

J Watumull Fund

Honolulu, HI

J Watumull Fund supports public charities and schools across areas including arts, education, health, community services, and child welfare; most of its 2024 grant dollars went to Hawaii. Its grants ranged from $500 to $50,000, with a median of $2,000. It accepts applications anytime.

Assets

$12.1M

Grants

275

Total Given

$684K

Tradewind Group Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Tradewind Group Foundation supports education, workforce development, housing, health, arts, youth, culture, and other community needs in Hawai‘i. Its 2025 grants ranged from $86 to $100,510, with a median of $5,000. It accepts requests by letter stating the request and the organization’s purpose; the filing says giving is not limited to preselected organizations.

Assets

$45.1M

Grants

146

Total Given

$1.5M

Kosasa Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Kosasa Foundation funds Hawaiʻi nonprofits working in environmental stewardship, culture and arts, youth development, and early childhood education and care. Its 2024 grants ranged from $3,000 to $500,000, with a median of $45,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; organizations may complete a prospective grantee questionnaire, and those that appear aligned may be invited to apply.

Assets

$159.4M

Grants

84

Total Given

$5.2M

Central Pacific Bank Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Central Pacific Bank Foundation funds Hawaii nonprofits working in education, health and human services, cultural preservation, and other community areas, including small businesses, youth sports, agriculture, and the environment. Its 2024 grants ranged from $300 to $69,453, with a median of $5,000; applicants must be 501(c)(3) organizations with a physical presence in Hawaii. It accepts online applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$9.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$816K

First Insurance Company

Honolulu, HI

FIRST INSURANCE COMPANY supports education, health, community services, environmental education, and public media, primarily in Hawai‘i, where 97% of its 2025 grant dollars went. Grants ranged from $100 to $47,450, with a median of $5,000. It accepts unsolicited requests; applicants should contact Todd Takayama with a letter describing the proposed activity.

Assets

$10.7M

Grants

88

Total Given

$541K

Hawaii Realtors Charitable Foundation

Honolulu, HI

The Hawai‘i REALTORS® Charitable Foundation supports community efforts addressing food insecurity and providing housing for people in need, including disaster relief and food assistance, primarily in Hawai‘i. Its 2024 grants ranged from $200 to $3,000, with a median of $2,500. It offered applications for Maui wildfire housing assistance, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$102K

Grants

568

Total Given

$1.3M

Chamber of Commerce of Hawaii

Honolulu, HI

The Chamber’s Public Health Fund supports Oahu nonprofit projects addressing health-care issues, including public-health education, research, programs, and services. It reports awarding more than $100,000 annually; its 2024 filing shows an average grant of about $19,700, though individual award amounts aren’t listed. It accepts proposals through its application process, with the current deadline listed as December 18, 2026.

Assets

$2.1M

Grants

218

Total Given

$4.3M

More Funders in Hawaii

Harold KL Castle Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?