Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation
The Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Eden Prairie, Minnesota. In its 2024 filing, it reported 29 grants totaling $302,000 to organizations in Minnesota and other states.
Key facts about Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation
In short: Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation gave $302K across 29 grants in 2024 (avg $10K), mostly in Minnesota. 21% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 36-3292137
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $302,000
- Grants made (2024)
- 29
- Average grant
- $10,414
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 21% first-time grantees (6 of 29, 2024)
- Total assets
- $8,340,358
- Primary geography
- Minnesota (57% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The filing lists Dennis A. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$8.3M
+8.3% YoY
Annual Giving
$302K
+49.3% YoY
Grant Count
29
+11.5% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$10K
+33.8% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $519K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation open to new grantees?
21%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 6 of 29 grantees (21%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $21K; repeat grants $8K. How we count
Medians: $6K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 62% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 38% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 59% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission or specific funding focus areas are stated in the available information. Its grantees describe a range of activities: Minnesota Flyers Gymnastics says it promotes amateur youth gymnastics and fitness; Patriot Assistance Dogs says it trains service dogs for veterans in need; and Project 412 says it works to elevate the cultural and economic vibrancy of Detroit Lakes and the surrounding area.
Other 2024 grantees describe work including animal services (Marshmallow Animal Shelter), financial assistance and support for people affected by cancer (Angel Foundation), hunger relief (Second Harvest Heartland), and housing and support for young adults experiencing homelessness or housing instability (Onward Eden Prairie). These are the organizations’ descriptions of their own missions.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 29 grants totaling $302,000. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $100,000, with a median of $5,000. Among the largest awards were $100,000 to Hope Surrogacy Foundation, $50,000 to Resolve National Fertility Association, and $25,000 to Old Mission Santa Barbara. Other listed awards included $10,000 each to Alpha Kidz Foundation, Coordinate CC4C, Junior Diabetes Research Foundation, Minnesota Flyers Gymnastics, Ronald McDonald House, Santa Clarita Veteran Services, and Patriot Assistance Dogs.
Ready to take the next step with Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2024 grant dollars were reported as going to recipients in Minnesota (57%), California (19%), Virginia (17%), Texas (5%), and New York (3%). These shares are rounded as reported.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 29 itemized grants.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $202K (2023) to $1.2M (2020). In 2024 it made 29 grants totaling $302K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Hope Surrogacy Foundation ($100K). Together the top 10 received $245K.
Grant Size Distribution
140 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 135 grants of 140 (96%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Hope Surrogacy Foundation Deephaven, MN | General | $100,000 |
| Resolve National Fertility Association MC Lean, VA | General | $50,000 |
| Old Mission Santa Barbara Santa Barbara, CA | General | $25,000 |
| Alpha Kidz Foundation Canyon Country, CA | General | $10,000 |
| Coordinate CC4C Austin, TX | General | $10,000 |
| Junior Diabetes Research Foundation New York, NY | General | $10,000 |
| Minnesota Flyers Gymnastics Detroit Lakes, MN | General | $10,000 |
| Ronald McDonald House Los Angeles, CA | General | $10,000 |
| Santa Clarita Veteran Services Santa Clarita, CA | General | $10,000 |
| Patriot Assistance Dogs Detroit Lakes, MN | General | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $8,340,358 | $1,024,734 | $388,987 | $302,000 |
| 2023 | $7,704,611 | $411,601 | $279,467 | $202,333 |
| 2022 | $7,572,477 | $353,237 | $328,792 | $234,083 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $8,340,358 | $7,704,611 | $7,572,477 |
| Revenue | $1,024,734 | $411,601 | $353,237 |
| Expenses | $388,987 | $279,467 | $328,792 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $304,123 | $205,161 | $239,371 |
| Net Investment Income | $1,070,392 | $338,100 | $283,852 |
| Distributable Amount | $519,466 | $456,315 | $446,681 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Dennis A. Lind as director, president, and treasurer; Jeanne Lind as director, vice president, and secretary; and Ethel A. Richard, David Richard, Karen S. Brazas, and Joseph Brazas as directors.
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation is led by Dennis A. Lind, Director, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; none of the 6 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Dennis A. Lind
Director, President & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Richard
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ethel A. Richard
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Jeanne Lind
Director, Vice President & Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Joseph Brazas
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Karen S. Brazas
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Application contact: Dennis A Lind
Mailing address: 18371 Bearpath Trail, Eden Prairie, MN 55437
Phone: (952) 934-6944
Frequently asked questions about Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation
How much does Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation give each year?
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation gave $302K across 29 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $202K across 26 grants.
What is Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $10,414, across 29 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation that year got $21K on average.
Where does Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation give grants?
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation gives mostly in Minnesota: 57% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were California (19%) and Virginia (17%). The most frequent recipient cities were Detroit Lakes, MN (5 grants), Austin, TX (2 grants), Los Angeles, CA (2 grants) and Minneapolis, MN (2 grants).
Does Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (29 of 29) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Hope Surrogacy Foundation ($100,000), Resolve National Fertility Association ($50,000) and Old Mission Santa Barbara ($25,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 58% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation?
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation reported $8.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $304K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $519K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation fund?
No foundation mission or specific funding focus areas are stated in the available information. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation?
The filing lists Dennis A. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's EIN?
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-3292137. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Richard M Schulze Family Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Richard M. Schulze Family Foundation funds education, health care, and human services, including college scholarships, with most support benefiting working- and middle-class families in specified Minnesota and Florida counties; it also makes some national grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $50 to $10 million. It plans to move to invitation-only grantmaking in 2027; whether it currently accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$218.3M
Grants
1,431
Total Given
$47.9M
United Way Worldwide
Alexandria, VA
United Way Worldwide supports community-focused work in health, youth opportunity, financial security, resilience, disaster recovery, education, and human services, including local United Way organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $736,333, with a median of $22,675, and went to recipients across multiple U.S. states; it describes its broader reach as global. No application process for unsolicited grant requests is specified.
Assets
$68.0M
Grants
209
Total Given
$11.4M
The Minneapolis Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Minneapolis Foundation supports civic, social, and economic needs, including economic mobility, education equity, community safety, health, and the environment. In 2025, its grants had a median of $25,000, though awards varied widely; 77% of grant dollars went to Minnesota recipients. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; current opportunities are closed, and some programs are invitation-based.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,565
Total Given
$121.7M
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing
Appleton, WI
Thrivent Charitable Impact & Investing distributes donor-directed and program donations to a broad range of causes and organizations in local, national, and global communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $11,520 and ranged from $5,006 to $5 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$939.7M
Grants
2,565
Total Given
$84.6M
Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation
St. Paul, MN
The Saint Paul & Minnesota Foundation funds community-led work in areas including economic development, health and human services, youth and education, arts and culture, democracy, and nonprofit capacity, serving the East Metro and communities statewide. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,000, while the Management Improvement Fund offers up to $15,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through open application programs, though some opportunities are invite-only.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,473
Total Given
$107.2M
The Barry Foundation
Fargo, ND
The Barry Foundation funds education, spirituality, environmental, health, and arts-related work, with most 2024 grant dollars going to North Dakota and Minnesota. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $335,000, with a median of $1,325. It contributes only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$54.9M
Grants
322
Total Given
$1.8M
Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN
The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.
Assets
$751.7M
Grants
504
Total Given
$43.9M
Wells Fargo Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Wells Fargo Foundation funds nonprofits working on financial opportunity, affordable housing, and small-business growth, with giving at national and local levels. Its 2025 grants ranged from $3,000 to $8 million, with a median of $35,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests; eligible organizations are invited to apply.
Assets
$8.6M
Grants
1,376
Total Given
$157.4M
C K Blandin Foundation
Grand Rapids, MN
The C K Blandin Foundation funds community wealth-building, rural placemaking and small-community efforts, including work on housing, civic engagement, community spaces and food systems. It primarily supports rural Minnesota, especially Itasca County and nearby communities, and its 2024 median grant was $2,900, though awards ranged from $50 to $335,000.
Assets
$506.3M
Grants
931
Total Given
$15.8M
The McKnight Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The McKnight Foundation funds nonprofit organizations, research, and community initiatives in arts and culture, food systems, climate and energy, neuroscience, and equitable communities, primarily in Minnesota and the Midwest, with some work in Africa and South America and beyond. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,150 to $10 million, with a median of $100,000; prospective applicants are asked to contact program staff first, who provide proposal instructions if they determine funding may be considered.
Assets
$2.7B
Grants
790
Total Given
$145.9M
Neighborhood Development Center Inc
Saint Paul, MN
Neighborhood Development Center supports entrepreneurs and neighborhood revitalization through business financing, training, services, and affordable commercial space, primarily in Saint Paul and Minneapolis, with grants going to Minnesota recipients. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,100 to $207,211, with a median of $13,500. It does not state a general policy on unsolicited requests; a specific small-business grant RFP described was a past cycle.
Assets
$55.3M
Grants
571
Total Given
$10.2M
Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund
Duluth, MN
The Marshall H and Nellie Alworth Memorial Fund awards scholarships to eligible students pursuing mathematics, science, engineering, or medical fields, primarily serving students from northern Minnesota. Recent awards were typically $2,500, with grants ranging from $2,500 to $3,000. It accepts applications through its scholarship programs; high-school applications are due January 15, and the college-transfer pathway also has an application process.
Assets
$18.4M
Grants
566
Total Given
$1.5M
More Funders in Minnesota
Carl and Aune Lind Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?