Boston Sand & Gravel Company

Private foundation · Grantmaker Boston, MA EIN: 04-3174009

Boston Sand & Gravel Company is a private foundation based in Boston, Massachusetts. It makes donations to preselected charitable organizations and states that its charitable activity consists of donations to various preselected local charities.

Key facts about Boston Sand & Gravel Company

In short: Boston Sand & Gravel Company gave $111K across 41 grants in 2024 (avg $3K), mostly in Massachusetts. 46% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
04-3174009
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$111,283
Grants made (2024)
41
Average grant
$2,714
Median grant
$1,000
New grantees (estimate)
46% first-time grantees (19 of 41, 2024)
Total assets
$73,869
Primary geography
Massachusetts (90% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$74K

-10.3% YoY

Annual Giving

$111K

+19.0% YoY

Grant Count

41

+7.9% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3K

+10.3% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Boston Sand & Gravel Company reported a distributable amount of $5K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Boston Sand & Gravel Company open to new grantees?

46%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 19 of 41 grantees (46%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $4K. How we count

Medians: $1K first-time, $2K repeat.

  • 46% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 34% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation describes its charitable activity as donations to preselected local charities. Its 2024 grants went to organizations with varied missions. For example, Inly School says its Montessori practices inspire an inclusive community of learners, while Ron Burton Training Village says it works to help youth achieve their purpose through education, leadership, physical wellness, social advancement, and spiritual growth. Golf Fights Cancer says it raises funds for cancer-related organizations and families living with the disease.

Other 2024 recipients include Boston Harbor Now, whose stated mission concerns an equitable, accessible, and resilient Greater Boston waterfront, harbor, and islands; The McCourt Foundation, which says it strives to help cure neurological diseases and empower healthier communities; and Christmas in the City, which says it provides holiday gifts and support to homeless children and families.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation made 41 grants totaling $111,283. Grant amounts ranged from $100 to $25,000, with a median grant of $1,000. The largest grants included $25,000 to Inly School, $10,000 to America’s Hometown Thanksgiving Celebration, $7,000 to Frias Family Foundation, and $6,833 to Peter Frates Family Foundation. New England Baptist Hospital, Ron Burton Training Village, The Friends of StPatrick, and The Nativity School of Worcester each received $5,000.

Other 2024 recipients included Boston Police Activities League ($4,000), Marshfield Boys and Girls Club ($3,500), The Thomas E Smith Foundation ($3,500), Golf Fights Cancer ($3,000), Boston Harbor Now ($2,500), The McCourt Foundation ($1,500), Teamsters Local 25 Autism Fund ($1,000), Christmas in the City ($1,000), and Matt Brown Foundation ($1,000).

How to Apply

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Boston Sand & Gravel Company?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, 90% of grant dollars went to recipients in Massachusetts, 6% to California, 2% to New Hampshire, and 1% each to New Jersey and Maryland.

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 41 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonSouth BostonBraintreeCharlestownScituateEatonNeedhamWoburnAndoverBeverlyHullMemphisNapaPlymouthSilver SpringWestboroughBnBrightonBrooklineCambridge

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K22 grants2020 36 grants2021 33 grants2022 38 grants2023 41 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $36K (2020) to $111K (2024). In 2024 it made 41 grants totaling $111K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Inly School: $25KInly School$25KAmerica's Hometown Thanksgiving Celebration: $10KAmerica's HometownThanksgiving Celebration$10KFrias Family Foundation: $7KFrias Family Foundation$7KPeter Frates Family Foundation: $7KPeter Frates Family Foundation$7KNew England Baptist Hospital: $5KNew England Baptist Hospital$5KRon Burton Training Village: $5KRon Burton Training Village$5KThe Friends of Stpatrick: $5KThe Friends of Stpatrick$5KThe Nativity School of Worcester: $5KThe Nativity School ofWorcester$5KBoston Police Activities League: $4KBoston Police ActivitiesLeague$4KMarshfield Boys and Girls Club: $4KMarshfield Boys and Girls Club$4K

The largest 2024 recipient was Inly School ($25K). Together the top 10 received $76K.

Grant Size Distribution

170 grants across all recorded years

170<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 170 grants of 170 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Inly School Scituate, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$25,000
America's Hometown Thanksgiving Celebration Plymouth, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$10,000
Frias Family Foundation Napa, CACharitable Donation to Public Charity$7,000
Peter Frates Family Foundation Scituate, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$6,833
New England Baptist Hospital Boston, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$5,000
Ron Burton Training Village Hubbardston, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$5,000
The Friends of Stpatrick Walpole, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$5,000
The Nativity School of Worcester Worcester, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$5,000
Boston Police Activities League Boston, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$4,000
Marshfield Boys and Girls Club Marshfield, MACharitable Donation to Public Charity$3,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $73,869 $105,093 $113,572 $111,283 (41 grants)
2023 $82,348 $104,660 $95,379 $93,550 (38 grants)
2022 $73,067 $51,016 $88,790 $86,926 (33 grants)
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$73,869$82,348$73,067
Revenue$105,093$104,660$51,016
Expenses$113,572$95,379$88,790
Qualifying Distributions$111,283$93,550$86,926
Net Investment Income$5,093$4,660$1,016
Distributable Amount$4,930$4,980$4,298

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Jeanne-Marie Boylan as president, treasurer, and director; Dean M Boylan Jr as director; and Julie L O’Brien as clerk.

Boston Sand & Gravel Company is led by Jeanne-Marie Boylan, President, Treasurer & Director on every filing since 2020; none of the 3 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Jeanne-Marie Boylan

    President, Treasurer & Director

    On filings since 2020

    2.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dean M. Boylan Jr.

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie L. O'Brien

    Clerk

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Michelle Goyette (2020–2023) — Clerk

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 100 North Washington Street 2Nd Fl, Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 227-9000

Frequently asked questions about Boston Sand & Gravel Company

How much does Boston Sand & Gravel Company give each year?

Boston Sand & Gravel Company gave $111K across 41 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $94K across 38 grants.

What is Boston Sand & Gravel Company's typical grant size?

Boston Sand & Gravel Company's median grant in 2024 was $1,000, and its average grant was $2,714, across 41 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Boston Sand & Gravel Company that year got $2K on average.

Where does Boston Sand & Gravel Company give grants?

Boston Sand & Gravel Company gives mostly in Massachusetts: 90% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was California (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (8 grants), Scituate, MA (3 grants), Charlestown, MA (3 grants) and Marshfield, MA (2 grants).

Does Boston Sand & Gravel Company give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 41 grants with a stated purpose on Boston Sand & Gravel Company's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable Donation to Public Charity" (41 grants).

Who are Boston Sand & Gravel Company's largest grantees?

Boston Sand & Gravel Company's largest 2024 grantees include Inly School ($25,000), America's Hometown Thanksgiving Celebration ($10,000) and Frias Family Foundation ($7,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 38% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Boston Sand & Gravel Company?

Boston Sand & Gravel Company reported $74K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $111K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $5K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Boston Sand & Gravel Company fund?

The foundation describes its charitable activity as donations to preselected local charities. Its 2024 grants went to organizations with varied missions. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Boston Sand & Gravel Company?

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Boston Sand & Gravel Company's EIN?

Boston Sand & Gravel Company's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-3174009. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does Boston Sand & Gravel Company accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Boston Sand & Gravel Company by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Boston Sand & Gravel Company's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Massachusetts

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Arbella Insurance Foundation

Boston, MA

The Arbella Insurance Foundation supports social justice, housing and homelessness, immigration, health and human services, education, and the arts, primarily in New England, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Massachusetts. Its 201 grants in 2024 totaled about $2.23 million; awards ranged from $28 to $152,319, with a median of $2,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$22.2M

Grants

201

Total Given

$2.2M

Barr Foundation

Boston, MA

The Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and New England’s social sector, primarily through long-term support for organizations in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. Its filing says it accepts only requests from preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though its website describes program-page inquiries and occasional open calls.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

903

Total Given

$123.2M

Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$46.1M

Grants

706

Total Given

$50.6M

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)

Woburn, MA

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc. funds nonprofits working in human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and the environment, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal during its application cycle, which was not open at the time described.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$258.2M

Grants

658

Total Given

$38.2M

American Tower Corporation Foundation

Boston, MA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$15.4M

Grants

632

Total Given

$1.7M

Good Sports Inc

Braintree, MA

Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.

Assets

$13.8M

Grants

619

Total Given

$11.2M

The Stephen Phillips Memorial Scholarship Fund Inc

Boston, MA

The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Education

Assets

$41.6M

Grants

520

Total Given

$5.1M

Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc

Pittsfield, MA

Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.

Assets

$17.1M

Grants

478

Total Given

$2.0M

Givinga Foundation Inc

Wellesley, MA

GIVINGA Foundation supports donor-directed giving through donor-advised funds, charitable campaigns, and approved fiscal-sponsorship projects, with past recipients spanning causes such as children’s health, global development, racial equity, animal welfare, and food access. Reported 2020 awards ranged from about $37,000 to $179,000, but filings list no grants for 2022–2024; it has no stated geographic focus. The profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.9M

Grants

424

Total Given

$8.5M

More Funders in Massachusetts

Boston Sand & Gravel Company down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?