Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation
The Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Boston, Massachusetts. In 2024, it reported 26 grants totaling $937,250; its filing states that it favors programs benefiting children.
Key facts about Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation
In short: Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation gave $937K across 26 grants in 2024 (avg $36K), mostly in Massachusetts. 19% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 01-6220476
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $937,250
- Grants made (2024)
- 26
- Average grant
- $36,048
- Median grant
- $5,500
- New grantees (estimate)
- 19% first-time grantees (5 of 26, 2024)
- Total assets
- $2,321,769
- Primary geography
- Massachusetts (96% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- How to apply
- The filing names Paul R. Full details ↓
- Deadline
- None.
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$2.3M
+11.6% YoY
Annual Giving
$937K
-52.4% YoY
Grant Count
26
-18.8% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$36K
-41.4% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $97K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation open to new grantees?
19%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 5 of 26 grantees (19%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $15K; repeat grants $41K. How we count
Medians: $5K first-time, $6K repeat.
- 54% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (−1%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out 969% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s filing does not state a mission. Its 2024 grants went to organizations working in areas including disability support, youth writing, education, and social impact. For example, Exceptional Lives describes its mission as supporting families caring for children or adults with disabilities and helping them access needed resources and services. Write the World describes itself as an online writing community that helps teenagers build writing, critical-thinking, and civic-engagement skills.
Other 2024 grantees describe their work as providing lifelong services for people with developmental and social disabilities (Chapel Haven Schleifer Center), connecting Boston philanthropists with public-school improvement efforts (EdVestors), and building capacity for community-led nonprofits (Social Innovation Forum).
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation made 26 grants totaling $937,250. Awards ranged from $250 to $630,000, with a median grant of $5,500. The largest grants included $630,000 to Exceptional Lives, $60,000 to Write the World, $57,500 to The Children’s Trust, $35,000 to Harvard University, and $25,000 to Boston Children’s Hospital. Each was listed as being for “to further charitable purpose.”
Review Cycle
None.
Ready to take the next step with Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The foundation’s 2024 grant dollars went primarily to Massachusetts recipients (96%), with 3% going to Connecticut. The filing also lists New York and Louisiana at 0%.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 26 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $653K (2020) to $2.0M (2023). In 2024 it made 26 grants totaling $937K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Exceptional Lives ($630K). Together the top 10 received $882K.
Grant Size Distribution
163 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 147 grants of 163 (90%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Exceptional Lives Brookline, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $630,000 |
| Write the World Cambridge, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $60,000 |
| The Children's Trust Inc Boston, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $57,500 |
| Harvard University Boston, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $35,000 |
| Boston Children's Hospital Boston, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $25,000 |
| JCC of Greater New Haven Woodbridge, CT | To Further Charitable Purpose | $20,000 |
| The Park School Brookline, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $20,000 |
| Mspca-Angell Boston, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $12,000 |
| New Profit Boston, MA | To Further Charitable Purpose | $12,000 |
| Chapel Haven Schleifer Center New Haven, CT | To Further Charitable Purpose | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $2,321,769 | $1,192,997 | $951,340 | $937,250 |
| 2023 | $2,080,112 | $2,350,200 | $1,977,330 | $1,967,500 |
| 2022 | $1,701,280 | $506,322 | $1,286,050 | $1,253,914 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $2,321,769 | $2,080,112 | $1,701,280 |
| Revenue | $1,192,997 | $2,350,200 | $506,322 |
| Expenses | $951,340 | $1,977,330 | $1,286,050 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $937,250 | $1,967,500 | $1,275,142 |
| Net Investment Income | $653,337 | $332,567 | $491,228 |
| Distributable Amount | $96,680 | $57,617 | $101,024 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Anne P. Marcus, Paul R. Marcus, and Richard R. Rudman as trustees.
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's 2024 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Anne P. Marcus
Trustee
On filings since 2020
8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Paul R. Marcus
Trustee
On filings since 2020
2 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Richard R. Rudman
Trustee
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Application contact: Paul R Marcus
Mailing address: One Boston Place 201 Washington St, Ste 2100, Boston, MA 02108
Phone: (617) 556-5200
Frequently asked questions about Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation
How much does Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation give each year?
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation gave $937K across 26 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $2.0M across 32 grants.
What is Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's typical grant size?
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $5,500, and its average grant was $36,048, across 26 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation that year got $15K on average.
Where does Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation give grants?
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation gives mostly in Massachusetts: 96% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (10 grants), Brookline, MA (2 grants), Cambridge, MA (2 grants) and New York, NY (2 grants).
Who are Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's largest grantees?
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Exceptional Lives ($630,000), Write the World ($60,000) and The Children's Trust Inc ($57,500), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 80% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation?
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation reported $2.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $937K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $97K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation fund?
The foundation’s filing does not state a mission. Its 2024 grants went to organizations working in areas including disability support, youth writing, education, and social impact. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation?
The filing names Paul R. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's EIN?
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 01-6220476. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Boston Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
The Boston Foundation funds equity-focused work in child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer awards from up to $15,000 to $50,000; it accepts applications through some competitive initiatives, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally is not stated.
Assets
$2.1B
Grants
2,375
Total Given
$228.4M
Eastern Bank Foundation
Wakefield, MA
Eastern Bank Foundation funds systemic efforts to advance economic inclusion and mobility, including small-business equity, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its programs range from $1,000–$10,000 for Community Donations, up to $15,000 for CITC Grants, and $50,000–$150,000 for Impact Grants; it supports organizations primarily in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The foundation accepts online applications, with no specific submission deadlines stated.
Assets
$266.7M
Grants
1,786
Total Given
$19.0M
Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)
Woburn, MA
The foundation supports nonprofits focused on human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and environmental causes, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts, with limited support for Rwanda’s recovery. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal for its local grant program.
Assets
$258.2M
Grants
658
Total Given
$38.2M
Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc
Boston, MA
Liberty Mutual Foundation funds nonprofits working on basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, primarily in the Boston area, with grants also made in other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000 and ranged from $2,500 to $11 million; it accepts online applications on a rolling basis, with no stated deadlines.
Assets
$46.1M
Grants
706
Total Given
$50.6M
Barr Foundation
Boston, MA
Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and related initiatives, primarily supporting organizations and leaders in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. It welcomes inquiries through program pages and occasionally issues open requests for proposals; most grants go to returning partners.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
903
Total Given
$123.2M
American Tower Corporation Foundation
Boston, MA
Assets
$15.4M
Grants
632
Total Given
$1.7M
Good Sports Inc
Braintree, MA
Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.
Assets
$13.8M
Grants
619
Total Given
$11.2M
The Stephen Phillips Memorial
Boston, MA
The Stephen Phillips Memorial funds need- and merit-based scholarships for bachelor’s students, generally awarding $3,000–$17,000 (with typical annual awards of $6,000–$10,000). Applicants must be permanent residents of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont, but may attend college anywhere in the United States. Students apply through the online portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$41.6M
Grants
520
Total Given
$5.1M
Berkshire Bank Foundation Inc
Pittsfield, MA
Berkshire Bank Foundation supports nonprofits working on small-business growth, financial inclusion, affordable housing, and additional needs including health, food access, youth, and the arts. Recent grants ranged from $50 to $33,333, with a median of $2,500; it serves communities in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, though all 2024 grant dollars went to Massachusetts. It accepts written applications from eligible 501(c)(3) public charities, with quarterly deadlines on December 15, March 15, June 15, and September 15.
Assets
$17.1M
Grants
478
Total Given
$2.0M
Givinga Foundation Inc
Wellesley, MA
GIVINGA Foundation supports donor-directed giving through donor-advised funds, charitable campaigns, and approved fiscal-sponsorship projects, with past recipients spanning causes such as children’s health, global development, racial equity, animal welfare, and food access. Reported 2020 awards ranged from about $37,000 to $179,000, but filings list no grants for 2022–2024; it has no stated geographic focus. The profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$2.9M
Grants
424
Total Given
$8.5M
More Funders in Massachusetts
Anne and Paul Marcus Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?